We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food”

Cafe Coho - Ship Street
Ranked #4 of 78 Coffee & Tea in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $32
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Cafe Coho is an award winning Independent Espresso Bar & Cafe w/ three stores in Brighton 53 Ship Street 83a Queens Road Churchill Square Piazza
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The selection of breakfast items is excellent. Personally I went with pancakes, bacon and maple syrup which was delicious. Great atmosphere, friendly staff, delicious food and coffee.. I highly recommend you try it for yourself!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmilyRamone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Owner at Cafe Coho - Ship Street, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for recently visiting Cafe Coho and for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it!

Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    96
    26
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“cafe coho”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Yesterday we went to café Coho, which is a place that offers breakfast, lunch, dinner, deserts and coffees.
The staff are not so helpful, not too bad, but the service is really fast.
The food has good quality, it is fresh, tasty, but there’s not much variety of sweet food; they have a lot of types of wine, tea and coffee.
The atmosphere is relaxed, quiet and clean. They have 3 spaces: 2 inside, downstairs and upstairs, and one outside on the pavement.
The decoration is simple with wooden tables and comfortable chairs, some flowers and mirrors on the wall.
We advise this place to old people, families and young people who want to study or spend time with themselves.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Owner at Cafe Coho - Ship Street, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Carolina

Thank you for visiting Cafe Coho and for all the positive comments. Not sure what time you visited but we have menus on all the tables offering a wide selection of dishes including sweet items. Generally, this is available from 11am.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice coffee house”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Had a nice cup of coffee here and enjoyed the environment, Very fallibly friendly and felt comfortable having my baby girl here with me. My brother and I split a piece of carrot cake which was exceptional and would definitely recommend this place to others

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jade25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Owner at Cafe Coho - Ship Street, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review of Cafe Coho and for recommending it to others, its very much appreciated.

Im glad you enjoyed our carrot cake!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“cosy excellent terrace coffee”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

An award winning independent espresso bar and café is located across the street in the heart of the lanes. There were outdoor seats as well as indoor tables in assorted nooks and crannies. Thanks to the terrace, it is more favourable to visit on a sunny day and its location is very near the beach. Moreover, the staff are all friendly and happy to help their customers. We ordered a café latte, chocolate brownies and so on, and the food and drinks were satisfying and fresh. Furthermore, the price was reasonable so we were very happy with it(Café latte: about £2, a piece of cake: around £2.50). What is more, it took only a few minutes to order and wait for them to arrive. The atmosphere was cosy and comfortable to stay and the cakes on the shelves were good to look at. Therefore, we can recommend this café and bar to visit when you go to the city of Brighton. We are sure that it is better than boring chain coffee shops like Starbucks, Costa and Nero café.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 72_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Owner at Cafe Coho - Ship Street, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and positive comments re Cafe Coho.

Its great to hear that people are actively opting for an independent aposed to a chain.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best coffee in town !”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Our regular Saturday treat is to breakfast at Cafe Coho. Everything we have eaten is delicous - the scotch eggs are worth a special mention and even the toast comes up crunchy and I wish I could make it like that at home. Coffee is the best we've found in the city and we are super fussy. Atmosphere is buzzy and cosy and staff are great.My teeniest complaint is that the door doesn't shut properly and in the winter unsuspecting customers leave it ajar and it gets draughty - I see that the owner is good at taking these things in and my guess is it will be toasty warm again come next winter !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peggy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Owner at Cafe Coho - Ship Street, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for kind comments re Cafe Coho.

You will be pleased to know that the door was fixed a while ago although customers do still leave it open!!!

The building is grade II listed and 20 + years ago the premises belonged to local jeweler who is now a regular customer. Everytime he comes in he jokes that 20 years ago the door occasionaly sticks and still does now! The property certinly has character.

Hope you see you again soon

Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Coho - Ship Street also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Cafe Coho - Ship Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing