We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
Review of Charles Street Bar

Charles Street Bar
Ranked #558 of 1,124 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Had a lovely dinner and few drinks here yesterday. Couldn't have liked it more. Staff were very helpful, food was delicious. Well worth a visit :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liam2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    26
    12
    10
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food, cheap drinks and nice interior”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had dinner here both days of our 2 trip to Brighton - lovely food with deals on the menu. 1/3 off drinks 5-9pm Mon-Fri (5-8pm thurs) which was very nice too! One bar girl overcharged me though (£4.50 for a Rekorderlig which I had previously been buying for £3 - 1/3 off...) and wouldn't refund me or even admit to it. Not impressed with that... but let it slide given the overwhelming positives overall. Really cool, funky interior - lovely seating - very relaxing and has an outside area. Drag queen present was funny and cake served at midnight on Thursdays as part of its Mad Cow night...???? Recommended!!!

NOTE THIS IS A GAY BAR!!!! I swear I was actually the only straight person in there... with my gay best friend!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TeamHam88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A place for a quite drink for the daytime with nice food.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Staff very helpful and explained all the good deals and what happens during the evenings. I returned a couple of times during the week. Even would return during the day for a meeting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwiboysi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice terrace - food a bit hit n miss”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a great location on a hot sunny day. The terrace outside is a sun trap and it can get busy, with great views out to sea and towards the pier and prom.

Food wise, it is pretty basic and you can never be sure if the kitchen is open many times we have been there and kitchen is closed or closes early.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Unprofessional and incompetent”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I came to Charles Street with some mates and ordered 4 double gin and tonics. After tasting the drinks my friends and I realised that there was no gin in our drinks. We told our bartender about this who seemed uninterested and simply annoyed that it had happened (even though he was the one who had made them) which I thought was quite rude. Later on we saw one of the managers come on to the bar a sack a bartender infront of us, which was very unprofessional.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charles Street Bar also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Charles Street Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing