We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look No further”
Review of Oriental Village

Oriental Village
Ranked #418 of 1,124 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Look No further”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

if you're looking for Chinese food in Hove or Brighton.
Oriental Village has smart modern decor, an eat-as-much-as-you like of oriental "tapas", charming and attentive staff all for an extremely reasonable price. They occasionally run deals with the voucher companies, but in all honesty their product is well worth paying full price for. We have been twice and we will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    16
    9
    13
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not that bad”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We have been here before and would say the food is about the same. It is basically an all you can eat restaurant but served at your table. The place is quite modern and the service was good if a little impersonal. The portions are smaller but you can ask for more and it is a good way of trying a bit of everything. This is not top end Asian cuisine more like your local take away type food but it is tasty. Some dishes are better than others; we think the starters are better. I think some of the negative comments that have been posted about the food are a bit unjust. If you are a big eater its probable good value, but by the time 10% service is added and drinks, the bill can add up.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awful place”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Had a groupon for this place. The food was very average. Service was absolutely terrible and made you feel unwelcome. Dont visit this place. Waste of money and a bad night out. I recommend a similar restaursnt nearby called Dannys where we went a couple of weeks back. Food is surperb and service was great. Bubbly, friendly atmosohere there.
Oritenal village - what a dive!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“It's okay, but that's about it.”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This establishment needs to up the ante in terms of its offering to keep up with the times. The food being served was akin to a 1970s Chinese restaurant. The waiting staff could offer more advice in terms of quantities to order. This is a set price 'eat all you want' menu, but the portions are so tiny that when our party ordered for six one each of five dishes, there was insufficient to go around. A bit of common sense please.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JonathanCook44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Waste of money”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This will be 3rd review I have placed about this restaurant.
We have been eating here for a few years and it was lovely. Last couple of years it's been terrible. We gave it one last shot 2 weeks ago and we won't be going back for a very long time. Nothing was the same as before. Food greasy or over cooked. Asked for a variation of the mixed starters and it all came out wrong. The butterfly chicken in breadcrumbs were so over cooked you could use them to repair your shoes! It's such a shame as we always loved t come here about once every 5 weeks. Spoke to someone as they were leaving and they asked what I thought of the meal and we both had the same opinion, rubbish!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank louria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Village also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Oriental Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing