We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great VFM”

Cote Brasserie - Brighton
Ranked #42 of 1,133 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our inspiration for the food and design of Cote is a modern interpretation of the many famous bistros of Paris. Inspired by new trends, we are dedicated to serving authentic classic brasserie dishes with a modern twist, using high quality produce at great prices. On the menu, guests will always find brasserie favourites on our a la carte menu such as steak frites, moules marinieres, corn-fed chicken from rural Brittany and tuna Nicoise, for dessert, Cote's creme caramel and creme brulee are much-loved house specialities. Seasonality and Cote's commitment to sourcing high-quality ingredients results in a monthly changing specials menu, ensuring there is always something new to delight regular guests and gastronomes alike, as well as the excellent value set menu. Open early every day for breakfast, through to lunch and dinner; Cote's atmosphere is informal and friendly.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, great VFM”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great central location, excellent atmosphere. Good food, excellent value for money, delivered by friendly enthusiastic staff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Racingmacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    765
    450
    120
    50
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
628 reviews
361 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations.”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Situated in a very impressive high ceilinged building opposite the Dome Theatre, Cote is a busy atmospheric restaurant, efficiently managed and run.
It was early evening on a Friday, we were welcomed at the door our booking immediately confirmed and we were shown to a pleasant table by the window.
Our order was taken briskly by Eduardo, our charming and informative waiter, from a comprehensive and interesting menu. We went through three delicious courses and thoroughly enjoyed both the food and the ambience, we never once felt hurried.
The bill including several drinks amounted to £94.16, overall a terrific experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PutneySW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Overdue review”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The service is very good; the food is very good also and arrives quickly after ordering. There is a warm almost relaxed atmosphere. Worth a visit especially for the minute steak with frites.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank marple5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Better food than service”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We decide to have dinner at Cote for first time. Perhaps for all the good reviews and the comments of some of our friends.
Once we arrived we had a sit very quickly and while we were thinking what to order ( we wanted to share ) , they come to take the order several times and we were'nt ready.
They took 15-20 min to bring our drinks ( I think the waitress didn't book it in their sistem ).
After a waiter took over her everything went "better".
The food was good and we enjoyed it but they can do it better because is not cheap.

Helpful?
Thank Aioned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Exceptional Value, Quality and Service”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Cote Brasserie Brighton, located immediate opposite entrance to The Dome, is in a wonderful building which used to be the Old Library. It has very high ceilings, is basically black and white with lots of mirrors and windows and has quite a lot of tables and banquettes. There is a plain open decking area at the rear for those who want to eat al fresco and smoke. There are a number of small tables outside in the front, more suited for a drink, whilst inside the two very large front windows at the front slide back to let the breezy Brighton air in on very hot days.

It is advisable to book in advance as this restaurant is popular what with its close proximity to The Dome and Theatre Royal and so is very busy even out of season. People with mobility issues need to be aware that there are a number of steps up into the restaurant at the front, but I think the entrance to the rear with the decking, down the right hand-side passage, should be ok for them.

All staff are very welcoming, friendly, prompt, cheerful and attentive. They are not intrusive, but regularly check that everything is ok, whether you need more (free in cute French stone bottles) water or to refill your wine glasses.

We usually go for the fixed price menu at about £10 for 2 courses and £12 for 3 courses (plus a 12.50% service charge added on to your bill which, in theory, is optional) which is available most weekdays before 7pm. The fixed price gives you usually 3 or 4 options for each course and includes a vegetarian option.You pay an extra £2 for a quite large, tender and juicy minute steak.

There is a one course express luncheon menu of roast chicken and chips or similar. Additionally,there is a good typically French choice on the a la carte menu as well as specials of the day. They also serve a breakfast menu but we have not tried it. There is a good choice of reasonably priced French wines. We can actually recommend the cheapest red at the top of the current wine list that is only £14.95 a bottle, a soft, fruity number.

The toilets downstairs (nice staircase down to them) are, modern, always clean and well maintained.

I wish my recent visit to the Kensington Cote in London could have been as good, but somehow the Brighton Cote always get it right and has set the bar high for others in the chain to match

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marinablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cote Brasserie - Brighton also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Cote Brasserie - Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing