We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,588)
Filter reviews
1,588 results
Traveler rating
313
491
365
236
183
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
313
491
365
236
183
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea front bay window one night stay tea and coffee bandstand seafront ensuite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,588 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having read the reviews we were actually slightly scared about staying in this hotel, so we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived and found our family room to be basically pretty clean and serviceable, and the staff perfectly friendly. The location can't be faulted and the kids had pancakes for breakfast, which they really enjoyed. We managed to nab the last parking space by chance, and were able to pay £5 an hour for late checkout the next day, which kept the parking space free for us too – considering we were right on the beach, that was a convenient bonus.

But there's no doubt this hotel is a massive rip-off. We paid £249 for the four of us to stay in a poky 2-bed room for one night. Our 5yr old found a random pill on the floor and our 2yr old almost managed to pull over the wardrobe. All the furniture looked like it had been picked up in a junk shop. The common areas are shabby and depressing. It's just not a luxury experience in any way, shape or form. If we'd turned up without reading any reviews, we would have expected so much more for the price. But I guess they can keep charging that amount because people like us will keep coming.

Overall I would choose almost anywhere else in Brighton to stay over this place, especially if I was on an actual holiday. But if, like us, you find that everywhere's booked up and you just need somewhere last minute, it's a perfectly reasonable place to kip for a night.

Room tip: Family room was decently clean
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaaayeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sightsee49042338727, Revenue Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you felt the Brighton hotel was a rip-off, but I do appreciate that you took the time to mention the positive aspects of you stay.

Although we accept that the hotel does need refurbishment (and this is currently being addressed), we feel it still offers value for money when compared to hotels in a similar location and condition. It sounds like you were booking last minute on a very busy day in Brighton and on such days the last minute rates are considerably higher than quieter periods.

Whilst I appreciate from your comments that you are unlikely to stay with us again, should you change your mind, please contact the hotel directly so we can offer you a discounted rate and ensure you have a more positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our recent stay at the Brighton hotel we're charged for 'no show' for one room two days after we checked out the hotel. We only booked for one room. On check in we were asked for the full payment for the one room only and we were not informed there were two rooms booked.

If there were two rooms booked (we have evidence we only booked one room) why we were not given two rooms on check in?

Room tip: Dirty and very old style
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2019BadExperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sightsee49042338727, Revenue Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Unfortunately, we do occasionally make mistakes, but I would like to assure you that if you provide evidence that only one room was booked, and we made a mistake in charging you for a second room as a no-show we will apologise and refund the charge for the second room immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019 via mobile

Perfect location. Amazing staff. Just a shame the hotel owners have such poor standards in relation to their rooms considering the location and how hard working and pleasant the staff are!!
The bed was like sleeping on a sack of potatoes. The carpet dirty. The bathroom cramped, dirty, run down and the room on a slope. Very disappointing.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank kerrya752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sightsee49042338727, Revenue Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Brighton Hotel. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff. However, it is clear that the rest of your experience was very disappointing. I was sorry to read that you felt the bed was uncomfortable. The vast majority of our mattresses have been replaced reasonably recently and those that were not were in good condition.I have asked our housekeepers to check the mattresses and we will be replacing any that are no longer acceptable.We do accept that the hotel is in need of refurbishment and the essential work is already underway. This will be followed with a thorough refurbishment of the interior and should be completed in 12 to 18 months.

I hope that should you return to Brighton you will consider giving the Brighton Hotel a second chance. If you do so, please contact the hotel directly so we can give you a discounted rate and ensure you are allocated a room that meets your expectacions

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019

The Brighton Hotel is refusing to provide a refund on an unauthorised payment.
We have tried resolving this incident with the Brighton Hotel (who charged the declined card) and Booking.com several times since 23 July 2019, and to date no resolution as at 8 September 2019.
We booked one room and The Brighton Hotel declined my card. We provided a different credit card and the booking accepted. On check in, we asked why my declined card was charged on 19 July 2019 and was told it was a pending payment and would not be charged. We were asked to pay in full on arrival on 23 July 2019 using the credit card that secured the booking. We were given the assurance that the hotel would sort out the pending payment. We requested to check the Brighton Hotel database twice to see if there was another booking and was confirmed “no”. My declined card was charged and we were told there were two different bookings.
We should not have to pay for two bookings, and it is not the best business practice of the Brighton Hotel not to be accountable for their own mistake.

Room tip: Will not recommend anyone to stay at this hotel
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaxOzTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sightsee49042338727, Revenue Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

I have investigated the matter of the double charge. Two separate bookings had been made through booking.com however this only came to light after you had checked out. As the second room had not been cancelled, it was charged for one night in line with our cancellation/no show policy that is clearly stated on booking.com. I can assure you that had we been made aware of your duplicate booking prior to you arrival we would not have charged for the second room. However, as we were not given the opportunity to resell the room, and the error was not on our part, I feel the no show charge for the first night was reasonable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019

This hotel has great sea views and offered luxury accommodation at great rates with breakfast included which is was amazing we stayed as a family of four and did not feel on top of each other one bit would highly recommend

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank sarahuk444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sightsee49042338727, Revenue Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your excellent review. I hope that you will stay with us again in future and contact the hotel directly to make your booking and take advantage of our returning guest discount

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews