We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Adequate Stay”
Review of The Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Brighton Hotel
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
642 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
“An Adequate Stay”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stayed here for one night, my room was large and comfortable, overlooking gardens and with a good view of the sea, the shower room small but functional.
Check was smooth, friendly and efficient, there is a ground floor bar and I took the lift to the Second Floor.
Having arrived at One o clock I was able to take advantage of the first come first serve parking at £15 per night.
The hotel is in urgent need of a facelift although I suspect that such is the demand for rooms in Brighton they are probably making money.
The hotel is situated bang on the sea front almost opposite the old ruined pier, about a ten minute walk to the town centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PutneySW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thanks for your response and I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The hotel does upgrade areas each year however is a listed building with limitations on what changes can be made without changing the character.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    423
    298
    187
    118
See reviews for
166
565
122
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ENGLAND
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed 4 nights last week and I have to say, slept like a log all week in my ‘double room’.
Took a bit of getting used to-I kept knocking things off shelves until I was acclimatised to the limited space.
One of my colleagues had a room with a sea view which in retrospect was a mistake, as he was kept awake by idiots playing with a Frisbee outside till the early hours.
The breakfasts were varied –the boiled eggs with dippy soldiers were excellent, given it must be 30 years since I had them last.
Shower could do with some maintenance as the hose kept falling on me as the connection was partly broken. I was also attacked by a flying dial, unhinged by the vibrating shower, which I had to stick back on.
Free wi fi was handy.
Bar was ok but needs more chairs and a choice of at least one beer-only lager and Guinness available.
Staff were lovely and attentive.
Wouldn’t go back due to the small rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your review and I am sorry your found the bedroom too small. The hotel is listed and has various sizes of rooms. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your dippy soldiers and our free WIFI. Unfortunately we have tried selling draught beer however the demand was just not there. We sell a selection of bottled beers as an alternative.

Perhaps you will consider returning and booking a larger room.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

What a great seafront location however things go downhill from here. Shabby room with a small corner high up window which constituted my sea view...disappointing!! I mostly could see a peeling corner of the building rather than the sea! While the bathroom was modernised the shower sounded like a jet plane taing off.
Comfortable bed but little facilites ot storage in the room, very basic.Sleeping wasn't a problem once you had no neighbours or in my case drilling and hoovering next door up until 10.30pm, was this really necessary? No fridge, air con or even a pen and paper. The window only opened out a small bit, with chains attached, which wasn't a problem until the rain came and it wouldn't close so the window ledge was full of water.
Overall it was functional and clean and did feel safe but lacked in so many ways. A shame.

Room Tip: Top floor better for a quiet sleep but if you are paying for a sea view make sure you are not stuck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreedomFighterDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your review and I apologise we did not meet your expectations. The hotel is a three star metro hotel which indicates limited service. At three star level you would not normally find a fridge or air conditioning (unless purpose build today). The windows are restricted for health and safety reasons. Each room should have a pen and paper which I will discuss with the housekeeper. As you say the hotel is clean and functional which is what we aim to provide as we are not in the luxury market.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This Best Western has a great location and comfortable beds. The service was ok and if I could get a reasonable rate would use again. I paid less than £70 for the room but would not have been happy had I paid more. The bathroom was tiny and although a 'deluxe room' the bathroom needed some love. Was basic but adequate taking into account the room charge.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms do have a great outlook but I get the impression from other reviews that the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your review and I was pleased to read you would stay again depending on the price. Our pricing structure similar to the airline model and is based on supply and demand.

I hope you will take advantage of one of offers in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We booked up this hotel as a family for what I thought was an eye watering £175 (no breakfast inc) so was expecting something special. Imagine being given a room that you went down to the hotel depths to find, and opening the door found what can only be described as a dingy depressing and I think unsafe room! Dirty windows that had dirty nets compounded by prison style metal bars (Heaven help you if there was a fire, no escape!) 2 mins in there was enough before we complained and I must say most helpfully given a much better room with sea view and sofa bed for our child. Top marks for helpfulness but my advice is don't book the family room.

Room Tip: Avoid the family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thanks for your review and comments. I can assure you there is fire exits from the lower ground floor rooms and all has been agreed with the fire authorities. I was pleased that on this occasion we were able to give you a complimentary upgrade. Due to being a listed building the room vary in size and location within the building and are priced accordingly subject to supply and demand in the city similar to the airline pricing model.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We arrived and before going to our room I asked to see it first.
Good job I did. It was a pokey back side room with the most disgusting shower I've ever seen in a hotel.
They showed me to a front sea view room which had been refinished then asked me for 40.00 more to stay there.
I refused because AS A FREQUENT STAYER I SHOULD BE AUTOMATICALLY UPGRADED TO THEIR BEST AVAILABLE ROOM FREE OF CHARGE !!!!
We had a room on 4 th floor front of hotel. Bathroom nice and new room ok and clean BUT this hotel needs sound proofing, kept awake by people shouting and rowing next door, traffic noise terrible. Heat in the room unbearable .
You can hear rooms below you and beside you showering , flushing loo and just normal level speech.
The carpets on the corridors and stairs are thread bear and totally worn out.
The breakfast room is sparse and basic , not a table cloth or runner really tacky and nasty.
These hotels buy into the best western name but sadly let them down big time.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benson605089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 43 in Brighton
1,591 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,191 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 43 in Brighton
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton Hotel

Property: The Brighton Hotel
Address: 143-145 Kings Road | East Sussex, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brighton Hotel The Grade II listed Brighton Hotel is one of the most charming hotels in Brighton where you are guaranteed a warm and personal welcome. It is located on the seafront directly opposite the famous Brighton Bandstand and very close to the West Pier and to the site of the proposed i360 attraction. We are just a short walk to Brighton's main shopping areas, the famous Lanes with its cobbled passage ways and its myriad of little shops and boutiques, many of which are unique to Brighton. The Brighton Conference Centre is a five minute stroll away and we are literally a stone's throw from the beach. The Brighton Hotel is a privately owned independent hotel that is large enough to have all the faculties you would expect but small enough to make you feel important to us and special. The hotels elegant lounge, bar and restaurant have enviable sea views, a great place to relax and watch the world go by. The hotel has 55 well-appointed rooms, and while the hotel is right on the famous Brighton seafront it is just far enough out of the main centre's noisy bars and clubs to be significantly quieter than many other seafront Brighton hotels. High speed wireless internet access is available free of charge in all our rooms and public areas. As a 3 Star accredited hotel we offer Dinner in The Salisbury Restaurant available 7 days a week from 6.30pm till 9.30pm and our Lite Bite Bar Menu is available 7 days a week 24hrs a day. Arrival and Departure Time: Our check in time starts from 3 pm and our check out time is at 11 am. For an early check in or late check-out we charge £10 an hour. For peace of mind, our reception is manned 24 hrs. Cocktail Menu: Available Wednesday to Sunday from 5pm till 10pm. Room Service: Room Service is now available for Breakfast continental & Full English and we also offer a breakfast to go from 4am. We have limited parking in front of the hotel based on a first come, first serve policy. The guests can only book these spaces on arrival at reception. These spaces are sold for £18 per night. Therefore, if we run out of spaces, our guests can park in Regency Square Car Park which is just 3 minutes walking distance from us. Day rate for conference delegates is £9.00 And must be vacated by 17:00. Please note that Vans are not allowed to park in our car park due to size restrictions. Luxury Car Service For a little taste of luxury we can organise a private hire executive car to bring you to the hotel from your port of entry. The driver will meet you in arrivals of the appropriate terminal and deliver you straight to the hotel entrance. Prices start from around £140 from Heathrow Airport, £80 from Gatwick Airport and around £170 from St Pancras. To enquire about this service please contact the hotel directly with your arrival details (airport and terminal, arrival time and flight number or for Eurostar arrival time and your departure city along with your train number). Please note that transfers are not guaranteed until we confirm back to you and payment will be made direct to your driver and not to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing