We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay here again ”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brighton Hotel
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Ruardean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I would stay here again ”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

The room 119, with a sea view, was clean comfortable though the en-suite was very small. In fact we had to sit sideways on the toilet!!! The breakfast was very good and the staff friendly, courteous and helpful. Parking a niggle, but 2 minutes down the road is a secure parking area cost £20 for 24hr, which is comparable with other towns. I would come here again, but try to get here earlier to get one if the 10 onsite parking spaces.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SeeJayKay_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for your review and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and would stay at the hotel again. I hope you arrive early enough on your next visit to be able to have one of the parking spaces. i look forward to you returning.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    412
    284
    174
    109
See reviews for
158
541
118
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

I had a small room almost entirely occupied by a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was somewhat run-down with a very noisy power shower. I was unable to get BBC 1 on TV. Other channels worked fine. General state of hotel requires considerable investment to justify the room rate of more than £150 excluding breakfast. This was cheaper if booked in advance of the morning at £6 vs £9. Rough figures. Wifi worked well. I was in room 420.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed via groupon, sadly the room was very small but after speaking with reception we moved to a lovely room straight away. A lot of people have moaned about slopping rooms, but we found this added to the quirky ness and quaintness to this big old building apparently dating back to 1800's.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and breakfast was nice with a great view of the sea. The hotel is in a great position and will be fab once the whole refurb is complete.

Was a bit unsure why Christmas songs were being played in reception, on a lively sunny April afternoon.

Would definately stay again

Room Tip: If your unhappy with your room ask for a different one, the reception are very accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thanks for your review and I was pleased that you enjoyed the quirky ness and quaintness of the building. I am sorry I cannot answer why we had Christmas music playing in April but will be discussing with the team. Thanks for your comments about the staff. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel several times over the years. First time was due to the location, but the friendliness of the staff and service provided on this occasion mean this has been my first choice hotel when staying in Brighton.

On the sea-front, and not too far from the town centre, with a street full of restaurants that cater for all tastes.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thanks for making us your first choice of hotel when staying in Brighton. The comments on the team are appreciated and will be passed on to them. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Iain lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The hotel is right on the seafront and I had views of the sea from by room at the side of the hotel. The furniture was a bit tatty and the bathroom was about as small as you'll find anywhere but everything was clean. Breakfast was good and all the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed the great seaviews. I was disappointed that the room did not meet your expectations. The bathroom sizes vary throughout the hotel however the building is listed and it is difficult to make changes to the room and bathroom sizes. We are refurbishing the bathrooms to provide modern fittings inthe space available. i do hope you will return to the hotel in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I ran the Brighton Marathon last Sunday and despite booking late (February) I managed to find a room at Best Western Brighton. I was alarmed at the cost of the room (all the hotels in Brighton charged a premium that weekend as the Marathon was taking place, the Best Western was not alone). The front of house staff were welcoming and very friendly. The room was clean, beds were comfortable. But the sound proofing was appalling and the noise of another guest walking across the room above disturbed my friend and I during the night. The shower room was very small indeed. I stayed a second night in a single room and was told that I could not have a room with a bath, despite requesting one. The head of the bed was positioned by the door to the room and the door moved in and out all night. The shower head was fixed and provided a lukeish warm trickle. However, my main irritation though is that the staff managed to get Sunday morning breakfast completely wrong. There is a lot of anxiety about taking part in a running event and particularly in running a marathon. Runners have trained for weeks to be in the right frame of mind physically and mentally to run the marathon well and without injury. Nutrition is key particularly in the last week or so and even more so on the morning of the marathon. Breakfast started too late, was staffed by inexperienced members of staff, fruit (and in particular bananas) seriously thin on the ground, but the worst sin of all - runners were told by a couple of waiting staff that there was no porridge! I took my own and asked for them to make it up for me using water - they used milk! I was then presented with a bowl of what looked like wall paper paste. The waitress explained what had happened and that she had had to make up some more using the hotel porridge. I said that I understood that the hotel did not have porridge, but she told me that they did have porridge but this information was too late for many of the runners who had had to find another suitable cereal (weetabix, cornflakes or rice crispies) to eat. I understand that this is the fourth year that Brighton has hosted a marathon. The hotel needs to do its homework to provide the best environment (ie getting breakfast right) for the runners - it doesnt take much to make a difference but the impact of getting it wrong may have ruined some runners' day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your comments and the information on breakfast for runners. The breakfast has been the same menu as last year and no one brought to our attention the lack of bananas or porridge. I have flagged this to the kitchen to ensure we do not repeat this issue next year. The hotel has very few rooms with bath. We do try to accommodate all guests requests however this is not always possible.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
6,859 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
1,501 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton Hotel

Property: The Brighton Hotel
Address: 143-145 Kings Road | East Sussex, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brighton Hotel The Grade II listed Brighton Hotel is one of the most charming hotels in Brighton where you are guaranteed a warm and personal welcome. It is located on the seafront directly opposite the famous Brighton Bandstand and very close to the West Pier and to the site of the proposed i360 attraction. We are just a short walk to Brighton's main shopping areas, the famous Lanes with its cobbled passage ways and its myriad of little shops and boutiques, many of which are unique to Brighton. The Brighton Conference Centre is a five minute stroll away and we are literally a stone's throw from the beach. The Brighton Hotel is a privately owned independent hotel that is large enough to have all the faculties you would expect but small enough to make you feel important to us and special. The hotels elegant lounge, bar and restaurant have enviable sea views, a great place to relax and watch the world go by. The hotel has 55 well-appointed rooms, and while the hotel is right on the famous Brighton seafront it is just far enough out of the main centre's noisy bars and clubs to be significantly quieter than many other seafront Brighton hotels. High speed wireless internet access is available free of charge in all our rooms and public areas. As a 3 Star accredited hotel we offer Dinner in The Salisbury Restaurant available 7 days a week from 6.30pm till 9.30pm and our Lite Bite Bar Menu is available 7 days a week 24hrs a day. Arrival and Departure Time: Our check in time starts from 3 pm and our check out time is at 11 am. For an early check in or late check-out we charge £10 an hour. For peace of mind, our reception is manned 24 hrs. Cocktail Menu: Available Wednesday to Sunday from 5pm till 10pm. Room Service: Room Service is now available for Breakfast continental & Full English and we also offer a breakfast to go from 4am. We have limited parking in front of the hotel based on a first come, first serve policy. The guests can only book these spaces on arrival at reception. These spaces are sold for £18 per night. Therefore, if we run out of spaces, our guests can park in Regency Square Car Park which is just 3 minutes walking distance from us. Day rate for conference delegates is £9.00 And must be vacated by 17:00. Please note that Vans are not allowed to park in our car park due to size restrictions. Luxury Car Service For a little taste of luxury we can organise a private hire executive car to bring you to the hotel from your port of entry. The driver will meet you in arrivals of the appropriate terminal and deliver you straight to the hotel entrance. Prices start from around £140 from Heathrow Airport, £80 from Gatwick Airport and around £170 from St Pancras. To enquire about this service please contact the hotel directly with your arrival details (airport and terminal, arrival time and flight number or for Eurostar arrival time and your departure city along with your train number). Please note that transfers are not guaranteed until we confirm back to you and payment will be made direct to your driver and not to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing