We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Excellent Value"”
Review of The Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Brighton Hotel
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stayed there in the hotel with my wife, kids and in-laws, the size of the rooms were very small but the rooms were very clean and specially the breakfast was very good with friendly staff with very good location. And I will be happy to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for your recent review and it was great o read you enjoyed your stay and would use the hotel again in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

817 - 823 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

it's a reall joke, the carpet is dirty the lift goes up then you have to drag your case down stairs. But he best bit is the room the floorboards are all wonky the room is on a slant so don't roll over in bed unless you are going uphill! You can't open the shower door more than a third of the way as the sink stops this, and once in you can't actually raise your hands unless you are careful you can't actually sit on the toilet as the sink is in the way, haha honest its crazy. Breakfast is another treat try and get a cup of tea or coffee lol. But Brighton is fab, some great places to eat and visit, So if they give you this key make sure they have re-furbed!!!

Room Tip: go for some other hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonneF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

I was disappointed to read you review. The hotel is convered from a series of town houses and is listed which stops the corridors being long straight lines and perfect floor boards. We are currently refurbishing bathrooms within the hotel however the size cannot be altered and we wil still have some samll bathrooms. Hopefully by rearranging the bathroom furniture we will overcome most of the issues.

Iain lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is an older style hotel on the sea-front of Brighton, close to the town centre. This was booked at a low price for a short overnight stay in January. We received a warm and friendly welcome from Steve, who quickly explained breakfast arrangements, advised local eating places (late evening), car parking arrangements and showed us to our room. The double bedroom was very clean and spacious enough although located in the lower ground floor, with a window below ground level, looking up to a side street. The bed was comfortable but the bathroom was tiny, with a shower, small hand basin, soap dispensers and WC. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided in the bedroom. Breakfast choice and quality was excellent. I would use this hotel again but would want to be in an upper-floor bedroom, with a more spacious bathroom.

Room Tip: Request an upper-floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for your review and I was pleased to read you enjoyed your time at the hotel. The staff are an asset to the hotel and aways make guests welsome. The next time you are looking for accommodation in Brighton please call the hotel on 01273 820555 to make your reservation and request a room on an upper floor. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Booked on late rooms for £30 per night, parking is £15 extra per night though! And carpark only holds about 8 cars, rooms are very pleasant and spotlessly clean. It's right on the seafront so not far to walk for the usual attractions of Brighton, the staff are very friendly and helpful. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. A ****

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for your review and I was pleased to read you managed to take the benefit on one of our special winter offers. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had a decent sized seaview room on the 4th floor with a comfortable bed but which was rather spoiled by badly fitting windows which rattled all night in the strong wind, and a bathroom door which wouldn't shut properly. Property is old and in need of quality refurbishment rather than just painting over the bathroom tiles! Well located opposite the old West Pier about 15 minutes walk into town. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davethewasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for your review and I was pleased to read you enjoyed yuour stay. Unfortunately the car park only has 11 spaces and we cannot exoand due to our location. The hotel has capital investment each year and currently we are refurbishing bathrroms. The bed would have been a King Size if in a sea view room.
I do hope you will return to the hotel in the future,.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Nice hotel and friendly staff. Stayed in room 211 which is supposed to be kingsize bed but I'm sure it was only a double. Rooms are good size with bed, sofa, tv, coffee table, wardrobe and dressing table. Sofa starting to show its age. Ceiling must have been thin or room above was noisy. Lovely view of the sea and bandstand in the morning. Hotel parking a bit tight. Not bad but room for improvement.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Peewee1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Great location on the sea front, superb staff - friendly and helpful - topped off by a lovely breakfast (freshly cooked full English). Highly recommended as a great package including excellent prices compared to other Brighton sea front hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

It was great to read you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and at a good price for Brighton. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,637 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,276 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
1.0 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
838 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton Hotel

Address: 143 - 145 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $76 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brighton Hotel - The Grade II listed Brighton Hotel is one of the most charming hotels in Brighton where you are guaranteed a warm and personal welcome. It is located on the seafront directly opposite the famous Brighton Bandstand and very close to the West Pier and to the site of the proposed i360 attraction. We are just a short walk to Brighton's main shopping areas, the famous Lanes with its cobbled passage ways and its myriad of little shops and boutiques, many of which are unique to Brighton. The Brighton Conference Centre is a five minute stroll away and we are literally a stone's throw from the beach. The Brighton Hotel is a privately owned independent hotel that is large enough to have all the faculties you would expect but small enough to make you feel important to us and special. The hotel's elegant lounge, bar and restaurant have enviable sea views, a great place to relax and watch the world go by. The hotel has 55 well-appointed rooms, and while the hotel is right on the famous Brighton seafront it is just far enough out of the main centre's noisy bars and clubs to be significantly quieter than many other seafront Brighton hotels. High speed wireless internet access is available free of charge in all our rooms and public areas. As a 3 Star accredited hotel we offer dinner in The Salisbury Restaurant available 7 days a week from 6.30pm till 9.30pm and our Lite Bite Bar Menu is available 7 days a week 24 hrs a day. Arrival and Departure Time: Our check in time starts from 3 pm and our check out time is at 11 am. For an early check in or late check-out we charge £10 an hour. For peace of mind, our reception is manned 24 hrs. Cocktail Menu: Available Wednesday to Sunday from 5pm till 10pm. Room Service: Room Service is now available for Breakfast continental & Full English and we also offer a breakfast to go from 4am. We have limited parking in front of the hotel based on a first come, first serve policy. The guests can only book these spaces on arrival at reception. These spaces are sold for £18 per night. Therefore, if we run out of spaces, our guests can park in Regency Square Car Park which is just 3 minutes walking distance from us. Day rate for conference delegates is £9.00 And must be vacated by 17:00. Please note that Vans are not allowed to park in our car park due to size restrictions. Luxury Car Service For a little taste of luxury we can organise a private hire executive car to bring you to the hotel from your port of entry. The driver will meet you in arrivals of the appropriate terminal and deliver you straight to the hotel entrance. Prices start from around £140 from Heathrow Airport, £80 from Gatwick Airport and around £170 from St Pancras. To enquire about this service please contact the hotel directly with your arrival details (airport and terminal, arrival time and flight number or for Eurostar arrival time and your departure city along with your train number). Please note that transfers are not guaranteed until we confirm back to you and payment will be made direct to your driver and not to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing