We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend beside the seaside”
Review of The Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brighton Hotel
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weekend beside the seaside”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

LIft very small 2 people with bags and it is full

Very strange set up with the floors seem to be walking up and down stairs and opening and closing door and you are only walking along the corridor

Staff are very friendly and helpful

Breakfast is very basic

Room was fine

Close to all areas only a walk away ...we were attendind a wedding at the Bandstand which is opposite the hotel

Would stay again if we return to Brighton

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wargab209a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I was pleased to read you review and that you would stay again. The corridors are a result of a convered building and the doors are required as they are fire doors there for guests safety. I look forward to you returning to the hotel.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    418
    298
    183
    117
See reviews for
165
558
121
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

From start to finish The Best Western Brighton Hotel made planning our wedding an enjoyable experience. Their dedication to ensuring we had the day we wanted was exceptional and Louise the sales manager was excellent. We cannot thank The Brighton Hotel enough for all their help and advice leading up to the big day and for their support and enthusiasm on the day itself. The food was impeccable as was the service. The location away from the hustle and bustle of Brighton pier meant we could have a lovely outside drinks reception with views of the sea in relative peace and the bandstand is a perfect back drop to photos. We will remember that day and the perfect location by the sea forever! Chloe and Jessica Patient!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjpatient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Chloe and Jessica, I was pleased to read your review after your Civil Partnership and your comments regarding Louise and the team. Hopefully we will see you for future events you may organise.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We took a day trip to Brighton and looked around for a cheap hotel room on Sea front for one night.
We have used Best Western before around the world so we understood it would be basic.
Basic is what it was!
Good location, a bit dated but the hotel did what we paid for.
I have difficulty sometimes walking and the lift wasn't working but were down below anyway.
It was also lucky that the neighbouring room. Didn't wake up too early as their shower cubicle was the other side of the stud wall in our bedroom, so we heard Everything!
Apart from that all ok!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yanton10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks for your review and I apologise that during your stay the lift was not working. It has been repaired. I was pleased to read you felt you got value for money and hope you will use the hotel again in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2013

we had a great couple of days here in the best western, lovely hotel room ( a bit dated) over looking the bandstand on sea front.. staff very helpful and breakfast a bargain for a fiver if booked day before

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19GAZZIE68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks for your review and I was please toread you enjoyed your stay and thought it was value for money. Yes the location is great over looking the bandstand and sea.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Paid £120 for two nights in October 2013 (booked in advance through lastminute.com). In this respect the hotel was good value for a trip to Brighton with easy access to the seafront and is about a 10 minute walk from The Lanes. We found the hotel and room clean, the room was a decent size with TV, tea/coffee making facilities, and other things I would expect. All in all, a reasonably comfortable stay providing as base for a pleasant couple days by the seaside.

The hotel does have some negatives. It is an old building and is not very friendly for those with disabilities or have problems with walking/stairs. This is because the hotel is a Grade II listed building. Parking is a problem - the hotel, like many other Brighton hotels, is on the seafront and only has limited parking spaces for about 10 cars. We were fortuntate to get a space, but the hotel does charge extra for parking (£15 per night), but this compares favourably with other public car parks in Brighton (a city where it is not cheap to park a car)! If you can get to Brighton by public transport, that is probably best. The other negative is that windows are not double-glazed and this does mean the road outside can be heard and I personally found the traffic noisy - this was the main negative for me.

We did not pay extra for breakfast - there are plenty good places in Brighton to get a full English e.g. in a seafront cafe or in The Lanes.

So, all in all, not The Ritz (I wouldn't expect such luxury for the price paid), but no complaints (road noise aside) from a contented two night stay. The place is okay for a couple of nights and I think people who leave negative reviews here need to manage their expectations better.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view on the front has the down side of being next to the noisy seafront road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found the location good for your trip. Thank you for a balanced review and I hope we will see you again in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

As mentioned in countless other reviews, the bathrooms are very small and dated. However, our bathroom and room were very clean. We were given a sea view, and the room itself was a good size.

The hotel staff are some of the most friendly and helpful we've come across anywhere and the breakfast (£5 if booked in advance) is absolutely fantastic.

The hotel has a very central location.

Our room was very warm, so we had to keep the windows open. This did allow in some road noise, but not enough to keep us awake.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms suffer from road noise all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your review and I hope we will see you again. We are starting an upgrade of the bathroom over the next few months.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is the location but that doesn't make up for the dingy, dirty hotel. I got to my room and refused to stay. The bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned and carpet was stained, the room has a musty smell. A place to miss.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I was disappointed to read your review and having tried to identify you on our comments register I do not have a comment of anyone walking out of the hotel. I apologise we did not meet your expectations.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
1,576 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,572 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
802 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton Hotel

Property: The Brighton Hotel
Address: 143-145 Kings Road | East Sussex, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brighton Hotel The Grade II listed Brighton Hotel is one of the most charming hotels in Brighton where you are guaranteed a warm and personal welcome. It is located on the seafront directly opposite the famous Brighton Bandstand and very close to the West Pier and to the site of the proposed i360 attraction. We are just a short walk to Brighton's main shopping areas, the famous Lanes with its cobbled passage ways and its myriad of little shops and boutiques, many of which are unique to Brighton. The Brighton Conference Centre is a five minute stroll away and we are literally a stone's throw from the beach. The Brighton Hotel is a privately owned independent hotel that is large enough to have all the faculties you would expect but small enough to make you feel important to us and special. The hotels elegant lounge, bar and restaurant have enviable sea views, a great place to relax and watch the world go by. The hotel has 55 well-appointed rooms, and while the hotel is right on the famous Brighton seafront it is just far enough out of the main centre's noisy bars and clubs to be significantly quieter than many other seafront Brighton hotels. High speed wireless internet access is available free of charge in all our rooms and public areas. As a 3 Star accredited hotel we offer Dinner in The Salisbury Restaurant available 7 days a week from 6.30pm till 9.30pm and our Lite Bite Bar Menu is available 7 days a week 24hrs a day. Arrival and Departure Time: Our check in time starts from 3 pm and our check out time is at 11 am. For an early check in or late check-out we charge £10 an hour. For peace of mind, our reception is manned 24 hrs. Cocktail Menu: Available Wednesday to Sunday from 5pm till 10pm. Room Service: Room Service is now available for Breakfast continental & Full English and we also offer a breakfast to go from 4am. We have limited parking in front of the hotel based on a first come, first serve policy. The guests can only book these spaces on arrival at reception. These spaces are sold for £18 per night. Therefore, if we run out of spaces, our guests can park in Regency Square Car Park which is just 3 minutes walking distance from us. Day rate for conference delegates is £9.00 And must be vacated by 17:00. Please note that Vans are not allowed to park in our car park due to size restrictions. Luxury Car Service For a little taste of luxury we can organise a private hire executive car to bring you to the hotel from your port of entry. The driver will meet you in arrivals of the appropriate terminal and deliver you straight to the hotel entrance. Prices start from around £140 from Heathrow Airport, £80 from Gatwick Airport and around £170 from St Pancras. To enquire about this service please contact the hotel directly with your arrival details (airport and terminal, arrival time and flight number or for Eurostar arrival time and your departure city along with your train number). Please note that transfers are not guaranteed until we confirm back to you and payment will be made direct to your driver and not to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing