We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Brighton Hotel
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Having parked our car in the public carpark at a cost of £22 and then having walked a fair distance with luggage to the hotel, we were more than a little put out to find that the whole of the reception area and bar was crowded with a wedding party! Our room was tiny, overlooked the fire escape and was obviously near to the dustbin areas as we were woken at 6am by the dust lorry! I have to say, it was the most uncomfortable night we've ever spent in a hotel, the bed was a very small double with an extremely lumpy mattress! The bathroom was extremely cramped, no toiletries and one set of towels between two! There is no air con ( we had to ask for a fan) and no bottled water in the room. My husband cut his foot on a nail protruding from the metal carpet trim between the bedroom and the bathroom! Would we stay here again? Emphatically NO!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevwestview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. Car parking is an issue in Brighton as being a Regency and Victorian seafront the ability to put car aprks for modern day traffic is not an option. As with most hotels we do cater for wedding and I am sorry your arrival clashed with theirs. Our standard double rooms have standard double beds and we have toiletries which are in dispensers as part of our green policy to save on packaging. Two sets of twoels are in every room one set in the bathroom and the second set in the wardrobe which is highlighted in the guest directory.
Once again I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay and perhaps you will return and book a Kings Size seaview room.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

904 - 910 of 1,312 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

Well 6 of us in total booked a 1 night stay at this hotel at the very last minute. 4 adults and 2 teenagers stayed just one night at this wonderful hotel. We had booked 3 double rooms. All of which were only £89.00 each (which also included breakfast). Now I think that is good value for the money. We arrived early and all the rooms were ready. We were greeted by a charming man on reception. One of the rooms was for our teenage boys and they were not too happy about sharing a double bed. But this was not a problem. As soon as I mentioned this to the lovely man on reception and he very kindly arranged for another single bed to be made up and put in their room. This was arranged immediately. Our boys were so grateful. Thank you very much.

All the rooms were really clean and comfortable. The reception area and the bar area, along with the restaurant is really welcoming and very comfortable. We sat in the bar and had some drinks before we went out in the evening. And also on our return we sat and had coffee . The staff were all really polite and friendly. In fact, they could not do enough for us. I would have to give the staff 10/10.

We had breakfast which was lovely. All very nicely cooked and delicious. Along with a variation of choice.

The hotel is in a good position. We all had a great night's sleep too. As with our previous experience of other hotels in Brighton we could not say the same.

We have stayed in Brighton on many occasions and in various hotels. Some were good and some were not so good. But this hotel to me has to be up the top of our list with one or two other hotels, where we have paid much more to stay in them.

So if you are looking for a clean, comfortable hotel, in a good position, with polite, friendly and helpful staff. Then this is the hotel to stay in.

We all are looking forward to returning back in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cat45London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank you for your review and it was great to rea how you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Brighton.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Hotel interior is nice, breakfast was enjoyable although the staff in the restaurant were a bit poncy and fake, which isn't something you want to be greeted with first thing in the morning!!
Double room was average with your usual kettle, tea, milk, towels etc but OMG the bed was horrendous!! Never have i had to sleep on the floor before and I'm still suffering the backache!!
WOuld be interesting to see what their delux rooms are like but deffo wouldn't go for the double again :(

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pokemon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

I was disappointed you had mix feelings about the hotel and thought the breakfast staff were false. They do all want you to enjoy their stay and welcome you to breakfast. You suggest you bed was on the floor which I do not understand as all room have standard beds. As reviews do not identify the guest I cannot check the room in question. I do hope you will return to the hotel in the future and if you lets us know what room you occupied we can allocate a different one.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We needed a place to stay for one night in brighton and found it very difficult to find hotels that don't insist on a minimum of 2 night stays. However the Best Western Brighton were happy for us to stay one night and we were impressed with this hotel as it was very clean, was in a great location not far from the pier. A nice little bar just inside reception and breakfast was really quite nice. Even offering a glass of sparkling wine to accompany your breakfast which I thought was brill!! We also had a lovely sea view from our family room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucyb1076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the hotel. It was great to read you enjoyed your stay, the location and the facilities at the hotel.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were booked to stay here the night of the 9th August but left and came home. The outside if the hotel is disappointing with only 10 parking spaces which have cones placed in them so they can't be used as others guests have paid 15.00 to park! Never have I come across a hotel where you have to pay to park there! There were no spaces available so we had to drive around to find a space out on the seafront leaving an expensive car right near where the drunks can damage it. I have a blue badge but that didnt matter to the hotel staff and we had to lug our backs back to the hotel and up the stairs ourselves with no offer of help.

The room was tiny and there were hair grips etc on the floor probably from the last guest so. Doubt it had been cleaned properly. The room was overheated so we opened the window which looks onto a flat roof which had rubbish all over it.

We went out for a meal and we accosted by a drunk who walked into the restaurant and started waving his arms around and harassing everyone and when we left we came across beggars everywhere. On the way back to the hotel we again came across drunks and more beggars.

After that experience, the state of the hotel room and the parking situation we decided to give up and go home.

Would I stay at this hotel again? NO would I stay in Brighton again? NO

Room Tip: If you want a good room stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriciaRitsema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

I was disappointed to read review about your stay at the hotel. All websites advertising the hotel clearly state that we have limited parking and it is allocated on a first come first serve basis. On reception we clearly display the other options for parking including a local car park. Having checked our customer comments I cannot see any comments regarding your room on departure allowing someone to view the room and discuss with the Housekeeper at the time. When booking had you said you were a blue badge holder we would have explain the parking and kept a space for your arrival as you have your blue badge. All hotels in Brighton charge for parking and it is common place in city centres. Unfortunately the incidents when you were out at a local restaurant are beyond our control and nothing to do with the hotel.
I am sorry you did not enjoy your time in Brighton and can only apologize about the circumstances you found when you were in the city.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My boyfriend booked this hotel for our short break to Brighton last week. I had previous good experience with Best Western so I expected the hotel to be clean, comfortable and to serve a good breakfast. I am happy to say that is exactly what we received. The staff couldn't do enough for us and I am a demanding guest! My requests for extra pillows, a fan, more tea bags, milk, bottled water and so on were all met quickly and with a smile.

The hotel was clearly understaffed and the breakfast service was a little chaotic but the staff that were serving couldn't have worked harder or been more polite. The breakfast room is a little small so you may have to queue for your table, I would recommend you get down as early as possible to try and avoid the rush. The breakfast is totally satisfactory, croissant, jams, toast, cereal etc and you can then choose something from the menu - a full cooked breakfast or other variations.

Our room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and there was ample storage for clothes, bags and our bits and bobs. The public areas and bar are also clean and comfortable,

The location of the hotel is good, near to a useful bus stop into town, cheap taxi ride back in the evening or about a 25 min walk from Brighton Pier. There aren't really any other facilities at the hotel but there is a good fish restaurant nearby (Regency) and it is right on the seafront. There are cafes, local shops and bars nearby too.

So all in all you do get what you would expect. Good value, clean and comfortable accommodation. This is not a particularly romantic hotel, it is not dramatic or exotic or designer and it won't leave you reeling with excitement but it is staffed by very hard working people and it is ideal for a good sleep and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samshortt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thanks for your review and I was pleased to read you had a good stay and that the staff looked after you. During August the hotel has been extremely busy and I apologize that with everyone coming for breakfast at the same time it did cause people having to wait for a table. Normally we manage to seat people for breakfast on arrival.

I look forward to welcoming you in the future.


Iain Lindsay
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed here quite some time ago now and must say water actually came through the plug socket whilst my hair straighteners were plugged in. o dear. room was alright, breakfast good as cheap, and served with proscetto :) however bad weather spoilt our stay severe rain clearly permeated the walls and found it's way to our room. (would gather not likely to happen all the time!) On a plus location good. Oh and vegetarians catered for Yay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missconway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,657 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,323 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
846 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton Hotel

Address: 143-145 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $65 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brighton Hotel - The Grade II listed Brighton Hotel is one of the most charming hotels in Brighton where you are guaranteed a warm and personal welcome. It is located on the seafront directly opposite the famous Brighton Bandstand and very close to the West Pier and to the site of the proposed i360 attraction. We are just a short walk to Brighton's main shopping areas, the famous Lanes with its cobbled passage ways and its myriad of little shops and boutiques, many of which are unique to Brighton. The Brighton Conference Centre is a five minute stroll away and we are literally a stone's throw from the beach. The Brighton Hotel is a privately owned independent hotel that is large enough to have all the faculties you would expect but small enough to make you feel important to us and special. The hotel's elegant lounge, bar and restaurant have enviable sea views, a great place to relax and watch the world go by. The hotel has 55 well-appointed rooms, and while the hotel is right on the famous Brighton seafront it is just far enough out of the main centre's noisy bars and clubs to be significantly quieter than many other seafront Brighton hotels. High speed wireless internet access is available free of charge in all our rooms and public areas. As a 3 Star accredited hotel we offer dinner in The Salisbury Restaurant available 7 days a week from 6.30pm till 9.30pm and our Lite Bite Bar Menu is available 7 days a week 24 hrs a day. Arrival and Departure Time: Our check in time starts from 3 pm and our check out time is at 11 am. For an early check in or late check-out we charge £10 an hour. For peace of mind, our reception is manned 24 hrs. Cocktail Menu: Available Wednesday to Sunday from 5pm till 10pm. Room Service: Room Service is now available for Breakfast continental & Full English and we also offer a breakfast to go from 4am. We have limited parking in front of the hotel based on a first come, first serve policy. The guests can only book these spaces on arrival at reception. These spaces are sold for £18 per night. Therefore, if we run out of spaces, our guests can park in Regency Square Car Park which is just 3 minutes walking distance from us. Day rate for conference delegates is £9.00 And must be vacated by 17:00. Please note that Vans are not allowed to park in our car park due to size restrictions. Luxury Car Service For a little taste of luxury we can organise a private hire executive car to bring you to the hotel from your port of entry. The driver will meet you in arrivals of the appropriate terminal and deliver you straight to the hotel entrance. Prices start from around £140 from Heathrow Airport, £80 from Gatwick Airport and around £170 from St Pancras. To enquire about this service please contact the hotel directly with your arrival details (airport and terminal, arrival time and flight number or for Eurostar arrival time and your departure city along with your train number). Please note that transfers are not guaranteed until we confirm back to you and payment will be made direct to your driver and not to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing