We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, reasonable prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brighton Hotel
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean room, reasonable prices”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My stay was largely unremarkable. Clean room, late night bar service, good breakfast. The service overall was good, at reception, breakfast and at the bar. In the last day I asked to borrow an iron and ironing board in the morning and I made it clear that I was in a hurry. This only came 40 minutes later after I chased reception. I don't think that it was the receptionist fault, I got the feeling at times that they were a bit short staffed. The receptionist was both the concierge and barman etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view, and definitely for a room which is not in the dungeons of the hotel...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Xen0ph0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for your review and I was disappointed you had to wait for an iron board. Our staff are multi skilled which is to ensure that if they are not busy in one department they can help in another. Housekeeping would be responsilble in a morning to deliver the iron and ironing board and I will discuss your incident with the houekeeper in person. I do hope you will return in the future when visiting Brighton.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    412
    284
    174
    109
See reviews for
158
541
118
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The outside did not do the hotel justice; reception area, bar and dining room really nice and modern. Rooms were simple and functional - well decorated and clean however shower room and toilet were tiny and claustrophobic. The staff were really helpful and went out of their way to ensure that we had a good stay. Breakfast was lovely and choice was good. Location wise its a little way from the main nightlife centre (15 mins walk) which for us was good as no late noise. Double room including breakfast, advance payment was £175 /singles £115 which I think was fair given the location and time of year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and I was please to read your positives about the hotel. Unfortunately the building is listed so we cannot change the layout of the hotel to increase bathroom sizes however we are going to refurbish the bathroom and as we look at each bathroom individually we may be able to change the layout in some cases.

Iain Lindsay
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Excellent staff ,very helpful.Handy location in bracing Brighton.Appears to have been refurbished at some stage.The only adverse comment I can find is the lack of parking space and the high parking costs in Brighton but that is hardly the fault of the hotel.Have also stayed @ Boyne Valley Hotel (Best Western) Drogheda Ireland which was comparable

Room Tip: Sea view available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernard o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I agree with an earlier review that this hotel is shabby and overpriced. Our room was tired and dated and the bathroom was ridiculously small. Only one large towel and one small towel for the two of us. Can't fault the staff, they were all helpful, polite and friendly. Last time in Brighton we stayed at the Thistle, might be a bit more expensive but definitely worth it, for comfort and location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
175 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here on business. Room small but adequate. Staff friendly. Breakfast is traditional English rather than Continental, so not great. Conveniently located at seafront directly down from train station ex Gatwick.
Best to buy train ticket online to avid queues at Gatwick.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BinDereDoneDat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
I was pleased to read on your review that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel. I hope we will see you again on a future visit to Brighton

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our bedroom was fine but the bathroom - oh dear. The loo was placed that one could not sit sraight on it as the side wall angled across your knees. Thoughtless design. At the basin the liquid soap dispenser was high on the right - a most inconvenient angle and no nearby towel rail.

As a disabled traveller the staff could not have been more helpful. They even dressed my elbow after a nasty fall.

The breakfast menu was extensive including kippers - yippee.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for your review. I was pleased you enjoyed your stay and the staff were both friendly and helpful. Your comment shave been taken on board regarding the bathroom as we are starting a refurbishment of bathrooms and maybe to change the layout. Within this change we are going to add the facility of an adapted bathroom for disable guests.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

The sea view room is the compensation. Room was so small I asked to be moved. Bathroom ? Could not classify it as one. Best service was from a member of staff who is a local. This hotel was renovated in 2011 , not. Over priced and shabby.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
6,859 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
1,501 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton Hotel

Property: The Brighton Hotel
Address: 143-145 Kings Road | East Sussex, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brighton Hotel The Grade II listed Brighton Hotel is one of the most charming hotels in Brighton where you are guaranteed a warm and personal welcome. It is located on the seafront directly opposite the famous Brighton Bandstand and very close to the West Pier and to the site of the proposed i360 attraction. We are just a short walk to Brighton's main shopping areas, the famous Lanes with its cobbled passage ways and its myriad of little shops and boutiques, many of which are unique to Brighton. The Brighton Conference Centre is a five minute stroll away and we are literally a stone's throw from the beach. The Brighton Hotel is a privately owned independent hotel that is large enough to have all the faculties you would expect but small enough to make you feel important to us and special. The hotels elegant lounge, bar and restaurant have enviable sea views, a great place to relax and watch the world go by. The hotel has 55 well-appointed rooms, and while the hotel is right on the famous Brighton seafront it is just far enough out of the main centre's noisy bars and clubs to be significantly quieter than many other seafront Brighton hotels. High speed wireless internet access is available free of charge in all our rooms and public areas. As a 3 Star accredited hotel we offer Dinner in The Salisbury Restaurant available 7 days a week from 6.30pm till 9.30pm and our Lite Bite Bar Menu is available 7 days a week 24hrs a day. Arrival and Departure Time: Our check in time starts from 3 pm and our check out time is at 11 am. For an early check in or late check-out we charge £10 an hour. For peace of mind, our reception is manned 24 hrs. Cocktail Menu: Available Wednesday to Sunday from 5pm till 10pm. Room Service: Room Service is now available for Breakfast continental & Full English and we also offer a breakfast to go from 4am. We have limited parking in front of the hotel based on a first come, first serve policy. The guests can only book these spaces on arrival at reception. These spaces are sold for £18 per night. Therefore, if we run out of spaces, our guests can park in Regency Square Car Park which is just 3 minutes walking distance from us. Day rate for conference delegates is £9.00 And must be vacated by 17:00. Please note that Vans are not allowed to park in our car park due to size restrictions. Luxury Car Service For a little taste of luxury we can organise a private hire executive car to bring you to the hotel from your port of entry. The driver will meet you in arrivals of the appropriate terminal and deliver you straight to the hotel entrance. Prices start from around £140 from Heathrow Airport, £80 from Gatwick Airport and around £170 from St Pancras. To enquire about this service please contact the hotel directly with your arrival details (airport and terminal, arrival time and flight number or for Eurostar arrival time and your departure city along with your train number). Please note that transfers are not guaranteed until we confirm back to you and payment will be made direct to your driver and not to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing