We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff, parking a bit tight!”
Review of The Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Brighton Hotel
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“friendly staff, parking a bit tight!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

we booked online at 5am on a sunday morning, and were accommodated at 9am the same day - not only several hours before the normal check in time of 2pm, but with an unasked for upgrade to the 1st floor honeymoon suite overlooking the lovely bandstand and beach. all this because the lady on the desk was friendly and efficient.
the room was clean and tidy with a good bathroom.
we paid for a parking space in the very small and awkward hotel car park, but when we returned from an evening out at 10pm, someone had nabbed it, and the staff could not find out whose car it was. we fantasized about hiring a hyab to remove the rogue vehicle, but instead squeezed into a different slot. this meant another booked vehicle had to park in front of the hotel's doors overnight. we felt there should be a barrier system and/or more active management, perhaps with cctv?
breakfast was included and was substantial and tasty - a full english "veggie". wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, good people and excellent location.

Room Tip: check in early and get a better choice of seaview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thanks for your review and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel. It always depends on availability but we will always let people check-in early should the room be available. Upgrades are also subject to availability. Unfortunately parking is prime in the city and normally reception are good at allocating spaces and making sure no one takes peoples spaces. I apologise on this occassion this did not happen. Good to read you would choose the hotel again when in Brighton.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    418
    296
    179
    117
See reviews for
164
555
121
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its employees.
Jani and Elina were so friendly and went out of their way to help us.
We arrived at the hotel early and were initially told our room wasn't ready yet, but Jani intervened and told us she would have them clean our room immediately and to come back in half an hour, but as soon as the room was ready she called us to let us know, so thank you for the great service!
Elina at the front desk was also very friendly and very helpful. The breakfast staff were also very attentive and kept filling up our glasses for us. I have not had such superior service from a hotel in a while!
We booked this hotel at the last minute, and being a bank holiday weekend we weren't surprised at the price, which was probably a little more than we would normally pay. But the room was decent, clean and neat with a nice view of the beachfront, so no complaints really.
All in all a nice little hotel with stand out staff!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank for your review and for your kind comments regarding Jani and Elina. The staff are our biggest asset and we encourage them to go the extra mile for guests. I hope you will stay at the hotel should you be in Brighton in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Hotel has a dated interior. Elevator is small, would rather use the stairs.

Room given was on the rear part of the property. Horrible view of the escape staircase and alley. Bathroom had a window that overlooks onto the property next door. Had a sad tiny view of the beach though.

Room was slanted, it was so bad that I can feel myself leaning to one side of the room. Makes me wonder if the structure is sound. Bidet was broken, shower fixtures problematic, takes quite some time to get the right temperature.

The only good thing about the room was the wifi. Cleanliness is average but acceptable.

Value wise, not so great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Architect2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and I apologise that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. The hotel is converted from Regency town houses which as part is listed it restricts what we can change inside. The lift is small and unfortunately we cannot now change the size. Unfortunately we are city centre hotel in the middle of a residential area. We have rooms with lovely views and there is a price difference from our standard rooms at the rear of the building. I was pleased our free WIFI was of benefit as we have been upgradeing it recently to make sure that we had good coverage throughout the building. I do hope you will return and perhaps book a seaview room and experience the difference.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Everything got off to a great start from the moment I arrived. The lovely receptionist who checked me in was polite, friendly and funny - thank you kind lady (I'm sorry I didn't get your name to praise you personally).

The room itself was decorated well and was spotlessly clean and very spacious. The seaview of course is always an added bonus!

My only criticism is that the bathroom, whilst perfectly clean and functional, was showing signs of age and needed a bit more than a spruce up to bring it in line with the overall very good standard of the rest of the hotel.

Thanks to great staff, a brilliant location and clean spacious rooms, I would recommend this hotel to potential guests.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wycombe-Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and it was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly and facilities spacious and clean. I agree the views from the front rooms are spectacular. Regarding the bathroom was are looking towards the end of the year to start a bathroom refurbishment program.

I do hope you will return again in the future.

Regards

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pudsey, Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here for a friend's wedding. The wedding-related aspects were fine - good even, but the price they were charging for pokey little rooms was excessive. There was barely any room around the bed. The bed itself was a small double, so was a touch confined for myself and my partner. The bathroom facilities were also very confined, bit not much knee room when sitting down on the toilet.

Breakfast was reasonable, and the bar was OK.

We were right on the sea front, but our own room was looking out at a side street, so the excellent location didn't really count.

Room Tip: Try and get one facing the sea front if you want a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pindoctor_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you your review and I was please to read you enjoyed the wedding. The rooms unfortunately have been converted from a listed series of Edwardian town house. However I can assure you your side view standard double room has a standard sized double bed. Both sea view rooms and kings size beds are available at an additional cost. Availability at weekends is limited due to demand.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have stayed here many times, and keep coming back for the friendly service and comfortable albeit simple rooms. The hotel is old, and needs an upgrade, particulary the windows many of which offer a sea view, but sometimes let in the sea breeze... and the bathrooms of the standard rooms are very small.

However the staff cant do enough to help and offer genuinly friendly service. I reccomend breakfast (book with room for excellent value) which is waiter service with a range of choices from full English, poached fish, kipper, fruit etc. I finds the beds very comfortable and for the pices, the experience is much better than other hotels in Brighton.

The location is just near the old West pier and there are many good restuarants and pubs nearby (see my other reviews which list a few), and a frequent bus service operates along Western Road if you dont fancy the walk into town.

On street parking (Oriental Place is convenient) is free between 8pm to 9 am or there are spaces at the hotel for a premium.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scankguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and I hope you will continue to visit the hotel when requiring accommodation in the Brighton area.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Average hotel, our room was a new room, but down in the basement, and felt very dull!

Breakfast was standard but nice, hotel lobby and bar area was nice, fresh and new, but the hotel itself needs a touch of paint, new carpets etc in the hallways

But for the money, it's clean good location and friendly , so can't complain

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the location good and staff friendly. Your comments regarding the corridors has been taken on board for when we look at our capital expenditure.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
1,552 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
1.0 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#5 of 44 in Brighton
790 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton Hotel

Property: The Brighton Hotel
Address: 143-145 Kings Road | East Sussex, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brighton Hotel The Grade II listed Brighton Hotel is one of the most charming hotels in Brighton where you are guaranteed a warm and personal welcome. It is located on the seafront directly opposite the famous Brighton Bandstand and very close to the West Pier and to the site of the proposed i360 attraction. We are just a short walk to Brighton's main shopping areas, the famous Lanes with its cobbled passage ways and its myriad of little shops and boutiques, many of which are unique to Brighton. The Brighton Conference Centre is a five minute stroll away and we are literally a stone's throw from the beach. The Brighton Hotel is a privately owned independent hotel that is large enough to have all the faculties you would expect but small enough to make you feel important to us and special. The hotels elegant lounge, bar and restaurant have enviable sea views, a great place to relax and watch the world go by. The hotel has 55 well-appointed rooms, and while the hotel is right on the famous Brighton seafront it is just far enough out of the main centre's noisy bars and clubs to be significantly quieter than many other seafront Brighton hotels. High speed wireless internet access is available free of charge in all our rooms and public areas. As a 3 Star accredited hotel we offer Dinner in The Salisbury Restaurant available 7 days a week from 6.30pm till 9.30pm and our Lite Bite Bar Menu is available 7 days a week 24hrs a day. Arrival and Departure Time: Our check in time starts from 3 pm and our check out time is at 11 am. For an early check in or late check-out we charge £10 an hour. For peace of mind, our reception is manned 24 hrs. Cocktail Menu: Available Wednesday to Sunday from 5pm till 10pm. Room Service: Room Service is now available for Breakfast continental & Full English and we also offer a breakfast to go from 4am. We have limited parking in front of the hotel based on a first come, first serve policy. The guests can only book these spaces on arrival at reception. These spaces are sold for £18 per night. Therefore, if we run out of spaces, our guests can park in Regency Square Car Park which is just 3 minutes walking distance from us. Day rate for conference delegates is £9.00 And must be vacated by 17:00. Please note that Vans are not allowed to park in our car park due to size restrictions. Luxury Car Service For a little taste of luxury we can organise a private hire executive car to bring you to the hotel from your port of entry. The driver will meet you in arrivals of the appropriate terminal and deliver you straight to the hotel entrance. Prices start from around £140 from Heathrow Airport, £80 from Gatwick Airport and around £170 from St Pancras. To enquire about this service please contact the hotel directly with your arrival details (airport and terminal, arrival time and flight number or for Eurostar arrival time and your departure city along with your train number). Please note that transfers are not guaranteed until we confirm back to you and payment will be made direct to your driver and not to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing