We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel”
Review of The Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Brighton Hotel
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here for one night. Room was very small and the bathroom even smaller ! The room was on a fire escape, although there was a notice on the window, reading " this window does not open more than 10cm" ! so not sure how we would get out incase of a fire.

The breakfast was disappointing. There was only two choices of cereal. No fresh fruit, eg grapefruit segments,prunes etc. The full english breakfast was disappointing, although i never had it, my mate ordered it but wasn't over keen.

This hotel never offered a dinner at night.

I have stayed in a few Best Westerns and i would say that this one is the most disappointing and i would not return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HertfordshireLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,005 - 1,011 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

Me and my partner stayed here for one night for his birthday, when we got there we couldnt check in till 14:00 so had to walk around the shops, when we got in to the room was every unhappy, i paid for superior double and it was 2 single beds put together so during the night they kept moving apart....
The lamps were broken, i was ment to have a sea veiw but all i had was dirty windows could hardly see out of and looking at another hotel... The bathroom was not fit gor a midgit,, the bath was so small and the shower was so short im 5ft1 and couldnt stand up straight, it was leaking so all the wayer was running down the floor ing to the room, would never return to this hotel....

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shml2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Such an amazing, cozy and comfy place. I just loved it. Staff are very friendly, helpful and polite.
Hotel is clean, breakfast hall got an amazing sea view while having your english breakfast.
Very good location (pposite to the sea and 10 minutes walk to the shopping area)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hala228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel is very well situated if you want to go to the beach, the pier or the town , there are a small number of parking spaces at the front of the hotel but these are for cars only , the staff are very friendly with a warm smile on greeting you & are very helpful with any questions you might have about the local area , the rooms are very clean with free wi-fi throughout the hotel & the standard tv, kettle,hair dryer, etc in each room too , it was a pleasure to stay here as the staff made you feel at home there , lovely tasty breakfasts with a vegetarian option too , full marks from me .

Room Tip: all the rooms are the same but the higher the floor the less noise from the traffic you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karl043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My first time in Brighton!took a taxi from the train station.such a good beach location.The reception was happy to keep my luggage as I was early.With the free wi-fi I just stayed at the lounge!old place but still tidy.To get to my room I had to go first floor and then down two floor!abit funny.I paid for standard room which if fair enough but I don't think such rooms should exist even though its very clean.Breakfast is okay.

Room Tip: Book seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ngarua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Me and my boyfriend have spent 1 night in this hotel in October. We've booked a standard double room from lastminute.com and paid just £45 for it! The room that we've got was with a lateral sea view. Next time when we'll be in Brighton, we'll book the same hotel again, that's for sure!! :) Perfect location, good view, excellent service - that's more than good for a 3* hotel! :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viktoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic hotel great service only let down by a few minor points:
On the third floor the showers have very little pressure and the room I was in I could only make the already hot water, hotter only and not cooler.
Another upset was the fact you have to pay £15 for parking ... During winter may i suggest you park opposite on the seafront ... only £5 a day!
Finally and probabally my biggest disappointment was that, if you require an evening meal you are forced to go into town as this hotel has no evening restaurant service ... Very annoying, when after a long 12 hour day all you want to do is have a couple of pints and a hearty meal before a hot shower and bed!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essex_Man_About_Town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,639 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,276 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
1.0 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
839 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton Hotel

Address: 143 - 145 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $76 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brighton Hotel - The Grade II listed Brighton Hotel is one of the most charming hotels in Brighton where you are guaranteed a warm and personal welcome. It is located on the seafront directly opposite the famous Brighton Bandstand and very close to the West Pier and to the site of the proposed i360 attraction. We are just a short walk to Brighton's main shopping areas, the famous Lanes with its cobbled passage ways and its myriad of little shops and boutiques, many of which are unique to Brighton. The Brighton Conference Centre is a five minute stroll away and we are literally a stone's throw from the beach. The Brighton Hotel is a privately owned independent hotel that is large enough to have all the faculties you would expect but small enough to make you feel important to us and special. The hotel's elegant lounge, bar and restaurant have enviable sea views, a great place to relax and watch the world go by. The hotel has 55 well-appointed rooms, and while the hotel is right on the famous Brighton seafront it is just far enough out of the main centre's noisy bars and clubs to be significantly quieter than many other seafront Brighton hotels. High speed wireless internet access is available free of charge in all our rooms and public areas. As a 3 Star accredited hotel we offer dinner in The Salisbury Restaurant available 7 days a week from 6.30pm till 9.30pm and our Lite Bite Bar Menu is available 7 days a week 24 hrs a day. Arrival and Departure Time: Our check in time starts from 3 pm and our check out time is at 11 am. For an early check in or late check-out we charge £10 an hour. For peace of mind, our reception is manned 24 hrs. Cocktail Menu: Available Wednesday to Sunday from 5pm till 10pm. Room Service: Room Service is now available for Breakfast continental & Full English and we also offer a breakfast to go from 4am. We have limited parking in front of the hotel based on a first come, first serve policy. The guests can only book these spaces on arrival at reception. These spaces are sold for £18 per night. Therefore, if we run out of spaces, our guests can park in Regency Square Car Park which is just 3 minutes walking distance from us. Day rate for conference delegates is £9.00 And must be vacated by 17:00. Please note that Vans are not allowed to park in our car park due to size restrictions. Luxury Car Service For a little taste of luxury we can organise a private hire executive car to bring you to the hotel from your port of entry. The driver will meet you in arrivals of the appropriate terminal and deliver you straight to the hotel entrance. Prices start from around £140 from Heathrow Airport, £80 from Gatwick Airport and around £170 from St Pancras. To enquire about this service please contact the hotel directly with your arrival details (airport and terminal, arrival time and flight number or for Eurostar arrival time and your departure city along with your train number). Please note that transfers are not guaranteed until we confirm back to you and payment will be made direct to your driver and not to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing