We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Ice-cream”
Review of Scoop & Crumb

Scoop & Crumb
Ranked #6 of 33 Dessert in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We offer the largest ice cream Sundae Menu in the Uk with over 55 lipsmackingly creations.We make award winning ice creams and sorbets on the premises.We offer a the largest selection of hot dogs in the city from the Chilli Cheese dog to a Blood Hound - very big and tasty.We source as many ingredients locally as possible to support our local community. Established in 2007 Our plan was to create the coolest ice cream cafe on the South Coast, specialising in providing amazing ice creams and sorbets and the most jaw dropping ice cream sundaes. Our goal is to create a fabulous place for you to come a visit with your friends and family and get treated to something unique. We have luckily since opening featured in the national press, TV and have won national awards for our ice creams for the last three years running.A great altenative place to celebrate for the young and slightly older..
Karlshamn, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Ice-cream”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Not the usual ice-cream weather when I visited Scoop & Crumb but the taste proved me otherwise. Tried the Coffeebocker which blended the different tastes beautifully. Forget your phone/Facebook when eating, you're disconnected from the world around you... You are enjoying every spoon. Also tried their coffee and Yes, another of these moments. Wonder if they are born in a coffee factory. Being served by friendly smiling staff, wanting to make your visit as pleasant as possible, made our visit even better.
When in Brighton and you love coffee and ice-cream, this is a place you can not miss.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dahla_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Owner at Scoop & Crumb, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
We love our coffee here and love our CoffeeBockers - what a great choice probably one of my all time favourite sundaes - Thanks for such a nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    58
    14
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Refreshing”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Very hot day in brighton, nicely hidden just behind the seafront shops so its not overly busy even on a day like this. Got the knickerbocker sundae which was lovely and refreshing, priced at £6.25 its one of the more pricier single sundaes but its worth the money. Close to the pier. Decor is very brightly coloured and suits the food and atmosphere. Definitely one of the better dessert places i have gone to. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting brighton.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Owner at Scoop & Crumb, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi Ben,

Thanks for the review really appreciated and glad you found us.

We have the largest sundae menu around with a whole lot of exciting options, many of which are really old sundae creations from the US prohibition days. However I too love the classics...

Our knickerbocker selection contains 5 different types of Bockers all served in super long glasses with a long spoon to reach the best bits a the bottom. Delicious stuff.

Hope to see you again

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavenham, Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst hot dog I've ever had”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I've a lot of hot dogs; NYC style, Chicago style, German, Icelandic, etc. The menu was tempting and I went with the Scoop Doggy Dog. Like a previous reviewer, I found it odd they cut the sausage in half and stuck it on a roll. That wouldn't have been a problem if I hadn't missed the meat in several bites; it was a really thin dog. The toppings were nothing special, and I definitely didn't get th crunchy onions described. For this, I felt I'd wasted my money. All that being said, yes, the rhubarb and ginger ice cream was delicious. Do yourself a favor and stick to the dessert.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Owner at Scoop & Crumb, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi there,

thanks for giving us a review and very sorry it wasn't a good one.

As a local business we try very hard to deliver great customer service and a great product, as its very easy to be swallowed up by the chains. So if something isn't right for whatever reason please come and let us know and we will do one of three things. 1 explain why we make it in a certain way. 2 if you are still unhappy offer you an alternative 3. offer you a refund. The last thing we want is for someone not to enjoy their experience.

To be specific, I too have eaten hot dogs in New York, Germany, Sweden etc and ours are distinctly different.

1 - we use locally made sausages which are not processed frankfurters, they have a very low water/fat content compared to premium supermarket sausages. And we think they taste good.

2 - we use locally baked ciabatta bread not processed white bread. The ciabattas are 140grams which is a good size and once filled the total dog weighs close to 1/3 of a kg.

3 - we offer 13 different varieties of filling all with dog styled names, they are all also available as a vegetarian option, again from our local sausage producer. Scoop doggy dog, hound dog, Scooby doo dog, wild dog, blood hound etc. From my knowledge there are no other restaurants that offer such a variety. We also serve all our food on plates to your table with a small complimentary salad garnish.

So understand our dogs don't compare to the traditional hot dog, because they are a different style with a lot more going on than just frankfurter, white bread and some sauce. However let us know next time if you are unhappy as we don't like anyone not to enjoying themselves.

PS very pleased you like our ice cream though.

All the best

J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique and delicious ice-cream flavors”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

When you walk into Scoop and Crumb, you are greeted by the smell of hot coffee and the sight delectable ice-cream. If you venture further, you’ll encounter all their mouth-watering cakes. Scoop and Crumb claims to have the largest ice cream sundae and waffle menu in the UK. There were so many choices that I almost couldn’t decide. Did I want ice-cream? What about the cakes? But then something on their wall menu caught my eye. The store offered a set. Sold! For £5.07 (which includes a 15% student discount), Scoop and Crumb allows you to get one scoop of ice-cream, a slice of cake, and a hot drink.

In the end, I settled for a scoop of Ginger and Cinnamon Biscuit ice-cream, a slice of treacle tart, and a white hot-chocolate. The caramel-y flavor of the tart complemented the ginger and cinnamon biscuit ice-cream, which tasted exactly like a snicker doodle cookie. The white hot chocolate fell short; it tasted more like sweetened milk. A friend who had the regular hot chocolate thought her drink was bitter, and she ended up asking an employee to mix in some chocolate syrup. Drinks aside, everything else at Scoop and Crumb was amazing. Make sure that whatever you get has ice-cream because it would be a shame to visit and not try one of their unique flavors.

For pictures and a more in-depth review:
http://tworedsuitcases.wordpress.com/2012/09/16/i-sought-to-see-the-sea/

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tworedsuitcases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Owner at Scoop & Crumb, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hello there, thanks very much for your review very much appreciated.

The alternative Scoop and Crumb Cream Tea, is a great way to have your cake and ice cream plus cream and drink. In fact if you want cake with a scoop of ice cream we charge just £1.00 extra for the ice cream, pretty good deal!

15% discount for all students showing their student card, including foreign language students. We think its good to try and help a bit... glad you spotted it.

Sorry the hot chocs didn't quite hit your mark, if you aren't happy always let us know and we are more than happy to add more powder or sugar depending on how you like it.

Thanks again

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rhubarb Ice Cream!! Absolutely Delicious :D”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I love the Scoop & Crumb and try to make it there whenever I visit Brighton, the toasties are tasty and huge and the waffles with choice of ice cream and toppings are delicious. Never had rhubarb ice cream before I visited scoop & crumb, it was the best ice cream I have ever had. Can't wait for my next visit :D

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Owner at Scoop & Crumb, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi there,

Thanks very much for your great review it really helps! As a small local business giving good customer service is one of the most important things to us.

Very pleased you liked our Monster Toasties and hot waffles, both cooked to order. They are both very tasty and filling, so you can share or munch on your own depending how hungry you fell.

Rhubarb is a fantastic flavour, we stew 1.5kg of fresh Rhubarb for every 4.5ltr tub of rhubarb and custard. Super yum

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scoop & Crumb also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Scoop & Crumb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing