We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant and fresh B&B in the centre of everything!”
Review of Limehouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Limehouse
Ranked #31 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Limehouse is a lovely room only B&B right near the centre of Brighton.
We arrived on a Friday night and arranged to pick up our room key from Strawberry Fields which is the sister hotel across the square as we were worried about the traffic. My Mum & I stayed in Room 7 which is a spacious double room at the top of the house with only one other room on the same floor.
As you come out of the B&B St James Street is at the top of the square which has everything you need from supermarkets, restaurants (would recommend Betty La La's and the Italian), post office and cash points. That will take you right into the high street if you walk right down to the end and you can also get a bus to the Marina which takes about 5-10mins from outside the Co-op. Turn left out the front door of Limehouse and your right on the seafront. The Ferris wheel is just at the bottom as is the Sealife centre. Its just a 5minute walk to the centre and to the infamous lanes where you can lost in the shops and cafes.
We loved the decor of Limehouse - very fresh and clean. Our room had a table in the corner with a kettle, tea, coffee, sugar pots and 2 cups and mugs. The tea canister had some green tea, camomile tea as well so not just PG tips which was a nice touch. There was some little pots of UHT milk and I think the coffee pot had decaf as well as decaffeinated coffee. There were two bedside tables and also hanging rails behind the front door, as well as a mini ironing board. The shelf above this area had little boxes for: a blanket, iron and hair dryer - this was a normal sized proper hair dryer, not a stupid little one you would find in most hotels! The bathroom was perfect for us, quite small but fitted well in the room. Shower was great too, no problems with water. The bins were cleaned out each day and the bed made up which was a nice touch to come back too. The bed was comfy and big enough not to be squashed next to each other. Room 7 is at the back of the house, it has lovely shutters on the window which let in a nice breeze whilst maintaining privacy.
The other bonus for us with this hotel was the wifi - worked without a problem and was handy to explore the reviews of restaurants and get our bearings for the first few days! Overall, we had a lovely stay for 3 nights and would definitely go back. We quite liked being room only as this gave us the freedom to do what we wanted. We did consider having a takeaway one night as it was raining heavily and then realised that we wouldnt have had any cutlery or plates! Not a problem had we ordered pizza but other takeaways would have been a problem. We decided to go out in the end and braved the rain anyway. We bumped into Jay as we left on the Monday who is very nice and had been very accommodating. We were able to leave our bags at Strawberry Fields on the last day while we went for one last browse in the lanes before heading home. The only thing that would have made things easier would be to have some parking. There is pay and display parking outside if you can get a space from 9am-8pm each day, this is around £12/day and the same on the seafront. We parked at the marina for the weekend which worked well for us, its a 15-20min walk which with the good weather was no problem!
I would definitely recommend and will come back in the future :)

Room Tip: Room 7 was great - top of the house so no noise from people above, wifi worked great still. It is a...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AeJ853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Limehouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 214 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very helpfull and friendly staff, great location in Brighton close to town and beach, room was spotless and very comfortable facilities were great. staff were friendly and helpfully , both myself and my partner really enjoyed our stay and will stay there again next time we are in Brighton 10 out of 10 . Thank you for a fantastic few days.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tezza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Very nice hotel in a central part of Brighton (5 mins walk from all of the lanes and the centre of town). I was staying at the Limehouse with two friends for a girls weekend and we were in Room 4. This is a lovely large room at the front of the hotel on the 1st floor with nice views over New Steine and a sea view to the left. As there were 3 of us the sofa was converted to a bed which I was told was very comfy. The double bed was huge and comfortable too. We all loved the freshness of the decor and the facilities in the room. A slight mishap was fixed extremely quickly by Jay and his team (the door handle on the inside of the en-suite had been broken off by the previous occupants) and Jay was very helpful with providing hints and tips on where to go. With regards to the blinds, we discovered that when you closed the slats in one particular direction less light came into the room so try that out if you find there is too much light. One very small and minor point; we ended up buying milk from the local co-op because we ran out of the little cartons provided and they were not replenished when the room was serviced on the Saturday. When there are 3 of you, you can get through that type of thing very quickly. Overall, lovely. I would highly recommend the Limehouse and I will definitely be back for my next stay in Brighton. Both Cornel's and the Townhouse do great eggs benedict for breakfast....

Room Tip: If you want a sea view, ask for a room at the front. The rooms at the back are more likely to be qu...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is currently the best hotel I've had while staying in the UK. The Super King size bed was enormous and could easily three adults in with room to wiggle; furthermore it is the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The sofa bed didn't receive many marks on the comfy scale, but who needs it when you have a massive bed?

The room was beautifully decorated and was refreshing to walk into after a night out and good to wake up in the morning. The temperature outstanding was between 25 - 30, luckily there was a fan to help cool down the room, it's a shame it didn't reach all the way to other side of the room where the sofa bed was.

The hotel is within walking distance of everything. The pier is 5 minutes walk away, supermarket are just over the road and the beach is almost on the doorstep; which is fantastic to wake up to, especially combined with the amazing bed.

Only met one of the owners on Sunday, due to several (additional) hours travelling from Manchester, but they were more than helpful when organising the trip and arranged for us to be able to pick up the keys while they were out. They reply to all e-mails and even called to ask what time I would be arriving to ensure the room was ready

Overall an amazing experience and will be receiving my custom again in future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamieRDFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Overall this hotel was good.My only complaint would be that the blinds that look very nice let in too much light particularly in room 1 that has the neon sign shining straight into the window.We ended up trying to block the light with the blanket,not ideal.If you stay take an eye mask unless you are use to sleeping in daylight.
The management are very pleasant and although not on site are available.
Easy and cheap parking on the road outside.Best place for breakfast Wooden Belly on Egremont street.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane13CheshireUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limehousebrighton, Owner at Limehouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you like our shutters which we believe add to the room but this is the first time someone has mentioned the light from the sign so thank you for raisng it with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I booked Limehouse on bank holiday weekend. The place was very convenient for both sightseeing and shopping. When we arrived around 2:30pm , we were so hungry since we skipped lunch , but Jay kindly told me a very nice seafood restaurant where was absolutely amazing! We had a good sleep on a clean and cozy bed. The room was very neat and every needed items were ready. Actually , I left my T-shirt , but Jay kindly informed me and sent it to me immediately which really impressed me. We will come back again in a near future.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yoshihisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The room was fresh, clean and had an amazing view. Excellent value for money, great location, given a free upgrade ! Lovely owners . Massive bed , just perfect ! Will be back again and again. Quality feel to the place !

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salmountain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 94 in Brighton
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brightonwave
Brightonwave
#12 of 94 in Brighton
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Surf
Brighton Surf
#23 of 94 in Brighton
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Snooze
Snooze
#11 of 94 in Brighton
433 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
#18 of 94 in Brighton
875 reviews
0.0 mi away
A Room With A View
A Room With A View
#7 of 94 in Brighton
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limehouse

Address: 19 New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $90 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Limehouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to LimeHouse, your independent base to explore the best of Brighton and beyond. We’ve got a fantastic location with stunning sea views and easy access to all that our cosmopolitan and vibrant city has to offer. If you would like to make an enquiry or if you would like some further information please send us an email.Whether overlooking the sea or gardens, take time out in one of our suites with super king size beds, snug duvets and a deep relaxing bath with plenty of space to unwind. Alternatively, our newly refurbished guesthouse is just a hop and a skip to the beach and pier or a short stroll to the city centre. We have created a seaside hideaway that is full of style. Informal and relaxed, we are committed to giving you the freedom to choose how to spend your time here and we are happy to steer you in the right direction. Choose which local cafe to go to for breakfast or pre-arrange a brunch delivery to your room from our friends at Bonjour Breakfast.Your break, your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Limehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing