We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK food, but not the cleanest”
Review of Inside Out

Inside Out
Ranked #50 of 78 Coffee & Tea in Brighton
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Breakfast Cafe
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“OK food, but not the cleanest”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The food came in good size portions and was good and had good quality ingredients but the service was mediocre and the cafe, utensils and glassware were dirty with leftover soap residue on the utensils and grime in the bottom of the glasses. Overall an ok place, but not the top of my list to revisit soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeghanNook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    30
    18
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food but very dirty cafe”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I have been coming here for years on and off and the food has been consistently good and staff have been friendly and courteous. The menu choice is exciting and different to other cafés. I would normally award a 5 star review for such an establishment, a place where you can go and know what your about to get, a safe option in today's over crowded cafe marketplace...

However, the cleanliness and general dirtiness of the cafe has seriously let it down. Yes the fly infestation has got worse and the dirty furniture, walls, corners etc all need serious attention. Indeed as others have said, it makes me also not want to come back as the kitchen also looks dirty from where you sit. Such a shame as this cafe used to be a gem!

Come on, give it clean, introduce some cleanliness standards and bring it back to life like it used to be.

Helpful?
Thank HotelTurnaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Very good brunch venue, great english breakfast with proper bacon and sausage. The scrambled egg and mushrooms on toast were also excellent. And a stand up comic serving, what more could you ask for.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimjam258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, drink and coffee”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Came here first on Friday morning, we were staying at the Ibis nearby but wanted to have breakfast somewhere with a bit more character. We noticed this cafe took Tastecard, had a delicious Brunch with a crisp fresh and interesting salad followed by a great cup of coffee. Came back the next morning even though they don't take Tastecard on Saturdays (fair enough, hardly anywhere does). We both had a very tasty kedgeree and a juice. Good service and friendly atmosphere. Chairs are a bit uncomfortable though, but we liked the Gaudi inspired decor! (Also the quirky loo!).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoanJettHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretty good but a bit overpriced”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Against my better judgement we visited Brighton last Saturday. It was absolutely heaving, as usual, and as always the experience was not improved by Brighton and Hove's very aggressive approach to parking charges - it's almost like people flock to Brighton DESPITE the best intentions of the councillors.

We came across Inside Out on our way to the lanes and the food on offer looked quite appetising. Even allowing for a busy Saturday trade the service was a little on the slow (and disorganised) side. I ordered what was essentially a ploughman's lunch and my companion had a tabuleh salad.

The salad was nice, comprising some felafel, dips and a good helping of leaves and bulgar wheat; at £7.95 this was reasonable value and nicely presented.

The ploughman's was an expensive disappointment at £8.95: for this price I expected an artisan farmhouse cheddar, instead of a premium supermarket cheddar. The smoked ham was also less than I had expected. Not bad - but not great for close to £9!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harpoflys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inside Out also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Inside Out? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing