We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed!”
Review of Cafe Delice

Cafe Delice
Ranked #801 of 1,133 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Französisch angehauchtes kleines Cafe/Restaurant
Exeter, Devon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not Impressed!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

On looking at the cafe it is busy and has good atmosphere when you walk through the door. We were politely greeted and seated! It was lovely and warm an comfortable (it was freezing outside!!) Unfortuntely that was as good as it got... My other half had an 'Irish coffee', now if a small glass tumbler with what taste like half whiskey and half coffe with a bit of squirts cream ontop is what you call a coffee then we won't agree! It was vile! The chocolate brownie was nice I have to say, crunchy outside an chewy inside, but overpriced in my opinion.
My peppermint tea arrived in a large mug (very good) however my string and tab for pulling the teabag out was submersed.. I ten notice coffee 'tide marks' around the top of the inside of the mug, I thought it was stained so I rubbed at it with my stirrer stick... Nope it came off with a rub! Yuk! I then closer inspected my mug an found more coffee dried drips on the handle and all over the mug. I called a waiter and informed him he took it away and bought me a new mug. Unfortuntely the first thing I did was check this and found it, not quite as filthy as the first but still not clean!!! How hard is it to wash a mug?!!! The waiter did come back and ask me 'is that ok now! in a patronising tone, i just couldnt bring myself to say no, shut up and drank it ( it was at least clean inside the mug this time)
The menu appears very 'up market' well if they can't wash a mug properly I couldn't bring myself to eat a meal there, sorry! Would not go back I'm afraid!!

Helpful?
Thank pcminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    10
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Just my kind of cafe. Recommended.”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I love this style of cafe: lots of wood, small tables and some comfy sofas as well (upstairs). My coffee was good and the cakes looked great. I can't comment on the food. The staff were pretty good although one of them wasn't great at understanding what I was asking for.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ncw73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Confolens, France
Level Contributor
240 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Average breakfast indeed”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

So many places in the North Laines to have breakfast so decided on this one, but it was very average indeed.

The bacon sandwich was disappointing, no extra frills VERY very thin white bread which tasted stale and not even buttered, and only two sausages for nearly £5. I could have done better at home, but that's why we eat out for the convenience and to get better than home cooking! And a sausage or bacon butty not with very fresh bread is a crime.

The Full English was also average with the egg over cooked, and he bacon was only warm and tasted bland and as if it had been cooked a little while ago, and again that very strange thin bread (economy measure, more slices to the loaf?)

Never once were we asked how was our food?

And I let the chef pass on the stairs whilst he was on his way to the loo, to which he totally ignored me and without a thank you. Most rude.

Will not go back, better elsewhere

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Onestewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Upped its game”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

First visited cafe delice several years ago when I moved to Brighton and thought it was fine. In the last year or so they've expanded their opening times and their menu and wow!

The lunches are great and in the evening it's a lovely intimate space. Beautiful burger (tastefully done and not a chunky behemoth) and the calamari has a very delicate batter.

Good coffee and friendly (if exceptionally busy) staff. Great spot for people watching too. Will be back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank worthyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good quick food in North Laines”
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Been here a few times and the service is good and food very good. Had a ham hock salad which was very good. They got my wife's order wrong but were really apologetic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Delice also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton and Hove, East Sussex
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Cafe Delice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing