We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!”

Blackbird Tea Rooms
Ranked #6 of 78 Coffee & Tea in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Recently awarded the accolade of "Best Tea & Cakes in Brighton" (Brighton Source Magazine), Blackbird Tea Rooms with its quintessentially English traditional style, has become the favourite retreat of lovers of good old fashioned quality and service. In addition to our traditional tea and cakes we also have a wide selection great breakfast and lunch dishes (see website for menu). We are very busy all day both Saturday & Sunday and therefore are unable to take reservations for the weekends (sorry).
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I visited Blackbird Tearooms for breakfasst, and couldn't believe how gorgeous it was. Truly vintage in style, with lots of original vintage furniture, china and photographs on the walls. The staff were very friendly, and the eggs benedict that I had to eat was divine (and huge). An excellent find that I would recommend trying if you're near The Lanes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmsJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    113
    42
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danemark
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“British teamroom at its best!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Afternoon tea at the "Blackbird" is maybe the cosiest place to be on a grey day in Brigthon. This beautifully decorated little tearoom with old pictures of Brighton on several floors brings you back in time several decades. Small assorted tables with white tableclothes, tea pots, cups and saucers from antique markets, a large variety of home made cakes, scones and tea cakes all contribute to an unforgettable experience.

PS: Please vote for my recommendation if you found the comments relevant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick2300dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“what a find!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have waited a long time to find a tea shop in Brighton as good as this. Stepping inside is like stepping back in time when afternoon tea was done properly and you feel as though you have escaped from the rest of the world. You half expect Miss Marple to be sitting at one of the tables. The staff are extremely welcoming and make you feel at home. I love their 1940's look which just adds to the charm of the place. I had cucumber sandwiches which were perfect, just how they should be and I also had a slice of their take on Victoria sponge. It was not dry at all and again delicious. Though on the pricey side it's definitely worth it. I shall be returning as soon as I can and bringing all my friends!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fluffypushkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely place with real character”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We dropped into Blackbird Tea Rooms whilst wandering the streets of Brighton on a weekend away and thought it was a fantastic place. Lovely atmosphere with vintage furniture, crockery and decoration; home-made cakes; and a selection of hot and cold drinks. I'd definitely recommend it to others

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkAWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cozy Place, Great Tea, Lovely Service”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This place is as close as it can get to what I was expecting from an English tea house. The place with its clean white table cloths and cozy decoration makes you want to sit for hours. The staff provide excellent service and lovely smiles as well. Both savouries and cakes are delicious, though cakes are a bit dry, the English style do not cream up their cakes that much, so it fits the tradition as well. A two person teapot is more like for four persons and it is for 4,9 pounds. The savouries and cakes are around 3 to 5 pounds. I believe it is a place to visit at least once in Brighton.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Birce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackbird Tea Rooms also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Blackbird Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing