We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people, lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baggies Backpackers Brighton
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely people, lovely place”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Super friendly and relaxed; staying at Baggies was great. Good value, clean rooms, shared spaces to have chats and chill out in (met some fab people, really inclusive without being too much), good facilities and an amazing location - sea is at the bottom of the road and it's a quick stomp from the station. Has the kind of comfortable atmosphere you want from a hostel, completely safe, felt well looked after and run by genuine people who went out of their way to be welcoming and made a lone traveller feel very much not alone, which was lovely. Awesome place. You have to get your picture taken in front of the wall of VHS tapes... much comedy...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    13
    10
    8
    5
See reviews for
1
7
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Baggies is the must stay hostel for most travellers to Brighton, it's location is brilliant (right by the beach) and it is a well-fitted out, clean hostel. It is good value, we paid 20 pounds per person, per night for a private double. There are lots of really nice communal spaces to hang out in, and a better equipped kitchen than I have seen in most hostels.
However, it was the amazing community spirit of this place that makes it a must go. Ron and Alex are two of the most friendly hostel owners I have met and will make you feel welcome from the moment you walk through the door. The other residents (some long-stayers, some not) are incredibly friendly and will quite quickly include you in conversation and offer to show you the sights of brighton (quite often including a few beers on the beach). If you are looking for the real experience of a hostel stay, this is the place to go.
My only regret about Baggies is that we weren't able to stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BecBec6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Private room for 2 people £20 a head was good value. Hostel is well equipped with several social areas.
Was somewhere to lock our bikes away and free tea and coffee.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great location, 2 minutes walk to beach, 10 minutes to centre. But on the whole the place just seems a bit tired and grubby (some would say part of its charm maybe) and not particularly clean.
Good value, well equipped and sociable hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamking79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The staff and guests at Baggies are so friendly, they really make you feel at home. Most people have been here for several days/weeks, some even months, so there is a real community feel about it. We had some lovely nights just sitting with everyone and laughing in the common room/kitchen, or going on midnight "wanders" with our fellow guests and baggies staff. Definitely recommend this hostel to anyone who is looking to make some unforgettable friends and have some great times.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenzabenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Bags bags bags. Everything is bagged. The service is excellent. The rooms are great. I ordered steak and it came in a bag. My sons pasta came in a bag. My wife's grilled chicken came in a bag. It was great bags bags bags. My daughter is four she wanted unicorn her imagination. And they gave her unicorn in a bag!!!! Very exotic. Otherwise now I'm bag obsessed what else can I say about baggies.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without bagged couches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rates1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night. The staff is really nice and friendly and can easily make you feel at home. The room we were allocated in was quite small, but it was acceptably clean. The shower was quite old but it was practically just for our room, the same for the toilet. The kitchen was a bit old, but had all the tools that one could need. The atmosphere was really nice, the living room was amazing and the position is quite good, as it is right on the seafront.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick_87_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My friend and I traveled to Brighton for a long weekend and loved our stay at baggies. We are both female, 21 yrs, stayed in the mixed dorm and we felt safe and comfortable for our entire stay. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the other people in our dorm respected our privacy whilst being friendly. We loved the quirkiness of the place and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. We found the communal shower room and toilet always clean, it's clear that the people who stay in baggies have respect for their environment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank hannahlouisecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,517 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#5 of 44 in Brighton
790 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kipps Backpackers Hostel
Kipps Backpackers Hostel
#3 of 25 in Brighton
186 reviews
0.7 mi away
YHA Brighton
YHA Brighton
#2 of 25 in Brighton
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baggies Backpackers Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baggies Backpackers Brighton

Property: Baggies Backpackers Brighton
Address: 33 oriental Place, Brighton BN1 2LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Baggies Backpackers Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baggies Backpackers Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing