We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely time had...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Malmaison Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malmaison Brighton
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool
1 review
“A lovely time had...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

My Husband and I visited Brighton for the Zachary Walsh art exhibition (fabulous) and enjoyed a wonderful weekend break at the Seattle Hotel in the Brighton marina. Our room was south facing so we were able to take our breakfast on the balcony and enjoy one of the most beautiful views I have ever seen – a panoramic view of the Marina Yachts and the English Channel – simply wow! The sea gulls are just so giddy!
Our room was clean and very modern, with a big screen television and an en suite. There was also free internet access though we don’t have a portable computer, but one of the reception chaps was extremely helpful in finding and printing off the all information we requested (directions to the exhibition).
Prices were very reasonable given the location, and the breakfast on both days delightful.
A very pleasant weekend which we shall most certainly recommend to friends and family alike.
Beautiful town, beautiful hotel. Thank you Seattle.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seagull1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    492
    230
    101
    56
See reviews for
188
702
29
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

We were travelling for a day in brighton Marina, luckily bamped into the hotel as were looking for a restaurant. Actually was unplanned stay in the hotel. As we got to the reception we were greeted by this two ladies, asked if by any chance they had any rooms available. Luckily there was one that someone had cancelled so without any hestitation we booked in and lucky enough there was even another cancellation for the next day. So all in all we had two different rooms in those two days. They were overpriced for the sort of service we got.

Beginning of adventures started after dropping our luggages in the room. We made our way to the bar for adrink. Got served by this serious looking girl. The bar area was nicely arranged, neat and clean. After the drinks, signed against our rooms, made our way to the toilets as we did head to the Marina. While in the toilet the girl who served us in the bar, came in the toilet, got me outside from the toilet said to me we had signed our bill against a non existing room number, she went further asked if i had the room key, unfortunately the key was with my other half, so i suggested we go outside if he was somewhere around to give us the key, lucky enough he was waiting outside. The girl grabbed the key and murmured some words and left.Anyway at that point i was feeling so embarrased. There was no apology or anything.

We had sleepless night, as there is a very loud noisy club next to the hotel.

Anyway the next morning i felt so uncomfortable going for the breakfast, but anyway we did. That was another worst thing, i sat waiting for my breakfast for forty minutes. No tea, no coffee no nothing, anyway this guy in the restaurant came took an order and breakfast came after half an hour at this point i was just ready to leave. The breakfast was cold, i didnt have sugar on my table neither a tea spoon, waited for about three minutes to ask for one from one of the busy waiters, she brought sugar but no tea spoon, at this point i just wanted to make my way out.

Anyway the second night we got swapped to a different room which was small for the money we had paid, and never ate our breakfast in the hotel even if it was already included in the prices. We instead ate at Cafe Rague which admittedly the breakfast, the staff were quite friendly.

That is our adventure in Hotel Seattle in Brighton Marina.

Wont recommend anyone there, unless if you got no option.

Good luck!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebonygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

I booked this at the very minute and was very pleased when we arrived. Yes its on an estate with shock horror an Asda but its also surrounded with amazing resturants and bars, a casino, cinema, and not forgetting amazing views of the marina. If its a quick getaway u want and not fussed with the surroundings this hotel has then its a great place to stay!! Its very easy to find with a sat nav but would of had trouble otherwise. You can see the main Pier from the hotel which dosent look that far but it is quite a walk and would take a while, theres a little train on the sea front which doesnt cost much, theres also taxis and buses. The actual hotel has its own car park (level 6) which is free when alot of all the others I found in Brighton were charging £25 per day or didnt have one at all. We booked a double with a marina view and we could not of been happier with what we got. Its definately worth paying that little bit extra for the view. I only noticed the room to get a little warm in the evening and did have the fan going but it wasnt anything to complain about. The room was a great size with an ipod docking system, tv etc. The shower.....amazing!! The only down side I felt was the breakfast...we had room service and I thought for what they charge and what you get was appaling. Very disappointed. We didnt get the choice of a cooked breakfast. Also we had two lemonades which cost £10!!! So I was more than happy for Asda to be across the road!! We will be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanna82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

Stayed in the Seattle Hotel Brighton Late Aug 09 with a family of four in a Large King Bedroom. The Bedroom (no. 250) was large enough for a king bed and sofa bed with still plenty of space to move around. The room was marina facing with a private balcony and had air con, which I believe only a handful of rooms have. The TV was 32" LCD with freeview channels and the bathroom would not have looked out of place in a 5* hotel! Very impressive for a 3*.
Breakfast was included which was buffet style continental and cooked to order. The hotel is about 2km from Brighton pier and centre, but a great walk if it's a nice day. There is a no.7 bus which runs every 7mins or the mini railway which takes you most of the way to the pier. yes, the hotel is situated in an outlet village, with an Asda store, but we found this very useful. A multitude of restaurants are nearby includung the usual fast food joints and Italian, Chinese, Indian restaurants. The car parking is free within the nearby multi storey and free internet via wifi in the room.
All in all a great hotel and value for money and better than the in town hotels like the Hilton or holiday Inn. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvd_henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

Stayed at the Seattle mid August 2009 and is definitely the best hotel in Brighton I have stayed in (I have previously stayed at the Hilton and Hotel Umi). The hotel is situated in the Marina part of Brighton which is just stunning and a world away from the busy pier. I paid £99 for one night for a double with inland view (the carpark was free which was fantastic as usually have to pay £25, so really hotel only cost £75). The view was of the white cliffs and a pretty port area to the back of the hotel, much better than the inland views of Hilton and Umi and I was not planning in staying in the room all day anyway. The Seattle is located on top of some of the dock restaurants, but when your in the hotel you don't notice and feel like your in a world of your own. Yes there is an Asda nearby and a cinema but cant complain as it is a residential city and you don't have to walk around that way. Very VERY clean hotel and helpful staff. Comfortable room, a bit hot but it was during a mid August heatwave, and they had provided a large fan. Breakfast was free (continental and hot), overlooking the marina. During the day walked to the pier and back which was a lovely walk along the sea front (about 45 minutes). At night, taxi into the city centre (1 mile walk away) was £5. Had a drink on the bar terrace overlooking the marina before bed. It was just breathtaking. I would DEFINATELY stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CreaseyBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

We were expecting a pretty upmarket marina and found ourselves in an outlet village complete with Asda, Wetherspoons and a Casino. The hotel is stylishly decorated but all the rooms are hot (we tried three during a two night stay!). The first room we had was a tiny claustrophobic double which was advertised as having a 'cliff view'. What they don't mention is the the view of the main road on top of the cliff and and the corrogated metal roof that the room looks on to. This room reminded me of a Travel Lodge (only a lot more expensive). We stayed in that room for about 10 minutes and then upgraded. Room number two ok, but the communal terrace is rather alarming security-wise. Another hot room with no air-conditioning and obviously we didn't feel safe sleeping with the windows open. A fan was provided but the noise of it kept us awake. I spent most of the night switching it on and off (hot or noisy which would you prefer?). That room was only available for one night so we we're moved the next day (to a better room we were told). Aren't you supposed to be able to sleep in a hotel room? This time we we're kept awake until 4am by drinkers on the hotel bar's terrace - the hotel had cleverly put this bedroom (one of the most expensive) right by the bar terrace and then decided it was ok to serve drinks until the early hours. Noise is obviously a regular problem as they didn't seem surprised when we complained. We we're booked in for three night and left after two. It was supposed to be a relaxing break but was exhausting!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GardenerCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

Stayed at this hotel in August 2009 ABSOLUTELY AWFUL , would NEVER stay in this hotel again.
Turned up and the hotel was extremely extremely hot with no air con. In the middle of a retail park with asda and petrol station hardly the view we were lokking for despite all this we did have a reltively good first night. It all changed on the second day/evening. Got up and made our way down to for breakfast had to wait 45 minutes to even be acknowledged and breakfast turned up freezing cold. whilst enjoying a drink at the bar in the evening we were greeted by a transvestite convention!!! and a wedding. No reserved signs on tables so we sat down only to be asked to move as it should have been reserved. Very far a way from central brighton. Went to bed and was greeted with VERY loud music from adjoining room. management didnt really seem to care so we checked out at 12am!! finding it impossible to sleep. Had to go and find another hotel but anything was better than staying in this hell hole!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loops22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
2.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,873 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
1.9 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Brighton

Property: Malmaison Brighton
Address: Waterfront, Brighton BN2 5WA, England (Formerly Hotel Seattle)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#9 Family Hotel in Brighton
#10 Business Hotel in Brighton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Malmaison Brighton, a contemporary hotel with a big personality on Brighton Marina waterfront. Uniquely located to offer the best views of Brighton Marina. Close enough to make the best of Brighton's vibrant life but also somewhere where you can enjoy a more relaxed environment with great hospitality, fresh & local produce menus & something a little more unique. Seattle is a hotel to explore, sit back and enjoy the day in the lounge, as the boats come and go, or perhaps it will be the retro pop art that will attract you or relax on our terrace and enjoy the buzz of our restaurant during the evening. Our team are a big part of what makes the Seattle experience so unique. You'll find them friendly, welcoming and never shy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Hotel Brighton
Brighton Hotel Seattle
Alias Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing