We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Malmaison Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Brighton
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Me and my partner stayed here over night for valentines and it was so lovely. Everything was clean and crisp, and the staff were so helpful. The hotel gave off a great atmosphere and there is no need to leave the hotel with everything just a step outside! The weather was terrible and there was no smoking area on the shared balcony but that wasn't a problem. Was such a lovely stay and great sleep, and the shower was so amazing I didn't want to get out! The whole inside was so gorgeous. I changed my booking a few days before for a marina view room, and the staff were so helpful to let us know when one was available. This £20 extra is definitely worth it. I didn't eat at the hotel with all the restaurants outside, but my partner said the breakfast was lovely (and he is the worlds fussiest eater!) Would 100% recommend.

Room Tip: go for the marina facing rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meg e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

988 - 994 of 1,597 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Brighton marina is always a bit of a contradiction. ...there are lovely parts - the boats, sea views, walks along the undercliff but then there's the ugly multistorey, asda etc. Seattle falls into the good part. Lovely huge sea facing rooms. Bright and clean. Pleasant staff. Great cocktail bar. All within reach of restaurants and other bars. Good value for money.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sammyjospangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This hotel was a perfect choice for a mini break in Brighton.
It`s tough finding things to do at the seaside, in the middle of winter. We wanted a hotel in a good location, which offered more than just sea views. Hotel Seattle is set in a complex situated by the side of the marina. Yes it has good sea views but more importantly there were plenty of amenities in the area to occupy us whilst the rain and wind thrashed around us.

The hotel itself was modern and bright,with great contemporary prints and furniture.We loved the floor to ceiling windows allowing maximum light into our bedroom.

We booked a 3 night break which included a meal on any night of our choice. The candlelit restaurant looked lovely,and the staff were very attentive .however the food choice from the set menu was pretty limited with just one meat option available as a main course!
The breakfast was good with plenty to choose from on the buffet table, and to follow a full english cooked to order.The hotel was very clean and all the staff were helpful and friendly. We felt we had a very nice experience and would gladly go back in the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The Seattle Hotel is in the relatively new marina at the end of the main promenade, there's no car park but you get to use the nearby public one for free. It's a short walk to the Hotel which is reasonably well hidden.
It's a quirky boutique style hotel with a nautical theme. The room was fairly small but clean, warm, functional and modern. The iPod docking speaker was a nice touch.
Service was good and friendly.
The restaurant was ok, the view during the day must be fairly spectacular from what I could see at dusk. The service in the restaurant was good but the food wasn't brilliant, but passable.
Over all, when I'm next in Brighton I'll probably stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Wavy281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Having booked tickets for a performance at The Dome the search was on for a hotel. It was a nightmare, mixed reviews on here for practically every thing that was close-ish meant that it got to the day before and we still hadn't decided. The Seattle had been dismissed early on as being too far away, but a second look and an instinct made me phone the hotel where the staff member was efficient, friendly and extremely helpful and we ended up with a very good package for the two nights we stayed. The reviews on here were incredibly helpful as it isn't east to locate the entrance and I had to phone reception to talk us in!!
I would suggest this.... head straight for the multistorey, there are two entrances (which I wish I had known as we missed the first one and ended up heading back out Brighton before we knew it!!) Then go to level 6 and park, there is no charge if you give the hotel your reg no. Go across the walkway towards B&Fs and carry on along that level until Coast to Coast (fab place to eat!). Turn left and then right and go throught the auto doors to the lift, reception is on floor 2. Once you know its easy! We were blown away with location, shops, restaurants, supermarket, petrol station, casino, cinema, sports centre, and the views! Ok so it was January, but everywhere was packed on the Saturday night and we didn't here a thing from our room (244).
We opted for a king marine view and apart from a disappointingly small window and tiny balcony, found the room wonderful. A little flaky paint on the bath panel was all we could criticise! Nice and open, clean, bright and light with a Kandinksy on the wall! We ate in the hotel the first night, enjoyed the wonderful bar area on the second with chocolate fondue by the Beatles wall! Breakfast was outstanding, with the hot food selection freshly cooked to order. Staff were fast, polite and very efficient.
I loved the bed, my husband didn't......but be aware....pillows and quilt were feather filled, ask at reception if you need them changed.
Constructive criticisms? Cook the croissants a little longer, have a selection of leaflets out on display in the foyer and an info sheet about the Marina and catching the bus (we took the number 7 from outside Mcdonalds) there is a ticket that can get you unlimited travel, but it was exactly the same for 2 journeys so no benefit unless you go in and out of the city centre a few times.
Highlight? Watching the yachts whilst eating breakfast on a Sunny Sunday morning, oh, and of course....that chocolate fondue!!

Room Tip: Marina view, every time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Staff very attentive, rooms clean, bright and well appointed, typical modern hotel, if that's what you like then look no further, location is good, app £10 taxi ride to the town centre. Free parking which is a bonus in brighton, unusually I slept well for the first night,
Downsides, pillows are not good, chair in our room was very difficult to relax in, without falling out
Upsides, towels thick and great quality, breakfast was included and excellent,
For us having stayed at other hotels in brighton, the modern nature of the building just felt it was lacking some 'soul'.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSwerving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We went to the Seattle Hotel over Christmas and we really enjoyed our stay and will definitely go again in Summer if we can.

Great view of the Marina, free parking, excellent breakfast, clean and large room, very nice bathroom, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
2.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,306 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,261 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 43 in Brighton
1,450 reviews
1.9 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#13 of 43 in Brighton
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Brighton

Address: Waterfront, Brighton BN2 5WA, England (Formerly Hotel Seattle)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Brighton
#7 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#10 Business Hotel in Brighton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $108 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Malmaison Brighton, a contemporary hotel with a big personality on Brighton Marina waterfront. Uniquely located to offer the best views of Brighton Marina. Close enough to make the best of Brighton's vibrant life but also somewhere where you can enjoy a more relaxed environment with great hospitality, fresh & local produce menus & something a little more unique. Seattle is a hotel to explore, sit back and enjoy the day in the lounge, as the boats come and go, or perhaps it will be the retro pop art that will attract you or relax on our terrace and enjoy the buzz of our restaurant during the evening. Our team are a big part of what makes the Seattle experience so unique. You'll find them friendly, welcoming and never shy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malmaison Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Hotel Brighton
Brighton Hotel Seattle
Alias Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing