We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place to Stay”
Review of Malmaison Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malmaison Brighton
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Place to Stay”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is about a mile from the town centre, but there are excellent bus links running, and a very safe walkway along the beach. We found the rooms to be very comfortable, nicely decorated with everything we needed. Breakfast was excellent, contrary to other reviews on here. Would absolutely come back! If you want a quieter retreat from the city centre this is the hotel for you. It is very chic in its decor, with a good mix of guests.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    515
    245
    106
    60
See reviews for
194
744
31
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Got married here 8 years ago and had a fantastic day. Now back here with the children and it hasn't changed. Having a drink in the bar and relaxing. Bar staff and kitchen staff going that extra mile to keep the children happy. (Cheesy chips and warm milk!!)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulbha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Booked this for an overnight stay in Brighton for my partners birthday. Loved the decor of the hallways, which had the feel of being on an ocean liner with portholes and the design of the room doors.
The room was nice, clean and practical. Bathroom was again nice clean and practical with some nice toiletries. We had a sea view room and there was a door that led onto a balcony shared by the rooms on this floor. Was a little concerned that the marina area was quite busy with restaurants and the like but could not hear a thing in the room itself, even with the window open.
In the morning the breakfast was very nice, we were one of the first people down for breakfast and so had the full selection and plenty of staff.
Would stop again, if we were wanting a very nice hotel in Brighton i.e. a special occasion. But would normally go for a slightly cheaper option.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have stayed in Brighton quite a few times now, but this is the first time in the Seattle Hotel. The location is lovely, overlooking the Marina. The reception staff are very helpful and friendly. We stayed for just one night, in a King size with a Marina view. The room was large, clean and comfortable. Bathroom was a nice size, but could have had more in the way of toiletries - no shower cap, or hair conditioner. Paying £200 for one night, you would expect to have at least a shower cap!
The free car parking is a massive bonus in Brighton - but the multi-story is a bit on the tight side if you have a large car.
The night staff are very helpful - we rolled back at about 2.30am - looking for a nightcap - the night staff obliged us by opening and serving us at the bar.
All very nice and wonferful views - but then breakfast. This totally lets down the hotel. Service was very slow - Upon arriving, we were shown to a table quickly - we had asked if we could sit outside, for a table of 4 - the other couple we were with were on their way down - no table was ready at that time - so we sat inside. Tea, coffee and toast was quick in arriving. Orange juice had run out - this was not replaced. My partner noticed a table for four that had become free outside - we asked to be moved to this table - not a problem for them. But then that was it. Our friends had arrived to join us - waited for them to be served tea/coffee - after about 10 mins, we had to aske for someone to come over and take their order for tea/coffee and toast. Another long wait -about half an hour - and still no waiter to take our breakfast order. Again we had to call for a waiter to take our order. One of us had the full English - looked ok - but apparently was not great. The rest of us had the Eggs Benedict - not good at all. The toast and cooked breakfasts were cold by the time we got them. We only ate it because we were all nursing hangovers. Service may have been better if there were more staff.
Beside the breakfast debarcle - Seattle Hotel is clean comfortable but overpriced. For what we paid for one night - breakfast should have been first class and bathrooms should have at least had shower caps (I compromised with a sainsbury's shopping bag). Location is good, but you do need to get a cab into the main town (or walk 25 mins).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeDeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esher
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

What a shame. We arrived to find a perfectly located hotel with clean functional rooms and extremely comfortable beds. Bathrooms again well appointed with luxurious toiletries. All looking good until the following morning...breakfast! Understaffed and generally a dirty breakfast room. Buffet running low with cereal selection running on empty pretty much. We waited for a table which was 'turned around' but remained sticky - toenail (?) and crumbs under the table and jam stuck to my chair. We waited 20 mins for tea - order was wrong when it arrived but I knew it would take another 20mins to change the order so went with it. Head waiter very stressed and sweaty - when i asked for some preserves, they were thrown onto the plate and off he bustled. Shame -the other waiters seemed very amenable but apologetic about slow service. What surprises me is that there are numerous comments on this review site about this problem but nothing seems to have changed?? Otherwise I would recommend it to others so please sort....!!

Room Tip: Rooms without marina view still have a lovely view - not disappointing at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beccaEsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Handy location with free parking, just outside of Brighton city centre, but easy to get to, either using the electric railway along the seafront, or taxi, or only about 25 minute walk.

Hotel is very clean, rooms are of a reasonable size, if you like a bigger room go for the king size , it's more expensive, but worthwhile. If you want a balcony make sure it's on the top floor and separate to anyone else, flor below anyone can just walk past who is staying on same level,.

Place could do with air con and a fridge would be nice, with a hot humid day rooms become too hot,.

Breakfast is very nice and a great selection to pick from. Sitting out on the terrace over looking the boats at Brighton Marina.

A good selection or restaurants and bars just seconds away, with a large Asda store just 2 minutes walk.

Cinema plus a nice casino to win lots of money! (Or possible not?) ten pin bowling plus Pizza Hut and if in a hurry a drive through Mc Donald's

Is. Great hotel with a nice restaurant, very helpful staff and a good selection of food on the menu. The restaurant is not expensive expect to pay about £30 for lunch and may be a bit more for evening meals.

Brighton hotels are nice but come with the added problem of parking, so the Brighton marina hotel is ideal, out shopping and lunch in town leaving the car parked, then a taxi back and a more relaxed evening over looking the sea.

Would stay more but weekends they have a minimum of two night stay policy, which is understandable, but when you are only in the area for one night it isn't much good, they should re think this and make it possible to book one night, not everyone can stay two nights as people have other commitments.

Price is about the same as with other Brighton hotels and is usually about £120 to £150 a night, depending on the room you require.

Will be back soon.

Room Tip: Book and pay in advance and save money on the room. Free parking is great seeing as it can cost ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mediawatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed wit my daughter and grandson at the Seattle hotel for 3 nights. The room was spacious and clean. The best part was the breakfasts in the morning. The traditional English breakfast was well cooked and presented and the resturant staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Marina view rooms on the the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liilal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
2.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,318 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,163 reviews
1.9 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
1,319 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Brighton

Property: Malmaison Brighton
Address: Waterfront, Brighton BN2 5WA, England (Formerly Hotel Seattle)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#9 Family Hotel in Brighton
#10 Business Hotel in Brighton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Malmaison Brighton, a contemporary hotel with a big personality on Brighton Marina waterfront. Uniquely located to offer the best views of Brighton Marina. Close enough to make the best of Brighton's vibrant life but also somewhere where you can enjoy a more relaxed environment with great hospitality, fresh & local produce menus & something a little more unique. Seattle is a hotel to explore, sit back and enjoy the day in the lounge, as the boats come and go, or perhaps it will be the retro pop art that will attract you or relax on our terrace and enjoy the buzz of our restaurant during the evening. Our team are a big part of what makes the Seattle experience so unique. You'll find them friendly, welcoming and never shy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malmaison Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Hotel Brighton
Brighton Hotel Seattle
Alias Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing