We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night of relaxation”
Review of Malmaison Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malmaison Brighton
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Night of relaxation”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Seattle Hotel Brighton Marina.There is nothing bad to say about this hotel. Room Perfect, Bed Comfortable and Large. Bathroom Spotless. Sea view on a bright sunny morning to die for.
Breakfast... what a selection. Not just your normal full English..smoked salmon and scrambled eggs to say the least. A must if you are in the area........

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to over look the sea and marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rookesrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    499
    234
    104
    56
See reviews for
189
715
29
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

A very picturesque and chilled location in the heart of the marina village. Lots going on around the hotel and, even during a cool and breezy weekend in April, a good buzz around the place.

Hotel reception staff were relaxed and helpful and the room itself was large, comfortable, unfussily decorated and very clean. The bathroom was really nice - sparkly clean and new, with plenty of space for toiletries - something I really notice when space is lacking.

A big comfy bed and a balcony overlooking the boats and boardwalk. It looks good during the day and is even more pretty at night.

We were there only one night but it was a very comfortable stay - I would go back and would recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: The large doubles are lovely and a sea view is always a bit special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i_am_not_frightened
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a romantic weekend at the Seattle Hotel in Brighton.
We booked a king size room with sea view. It was in a great location and has lots of restaurants nearby.
Whilst we were helped with great weather we would definitely go again, and personally we enjoyed the 15 minute stroll into town even though we did catch the miniature train back!

Room Tip: Book the king size room with balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetpeas72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My parents booked rooms for several generations of family, plus a room and lunch for extended family. We were very impressed and pleased with the service of every member of staff at the hotel who were polite, efficient and friendly. The hotel rooms were all very clean and comfortable, and the views over the marina were super. The general decor of the hotel is very tasteful and well thought out, and there are many restaurant chains very nearby where we had large family meals. The hotel breakfast and bar were also of good quality.

We really enjoyed our weekend, and would thoroughly recommend this hotel in a lovely location overlooking the sea.

Room Tip: sea view excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel was a delight from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. The welcome from the staff meant that we instantly relaxed into the atmosphere of a delightful hotel overlooking the marina. Our room had huge sliding windows onto a fabulous deck, as had the bar and restaurant. The decor was utterly relaxing and the bed very comfortable. We felt we were in the care of professionals, so chose to eat in the hotel, which proved to be a great decision - delicious food and service. There were so many quality touches - even the toilet paper! And how marvellous not to have to pay to park in a city location. It is on our list of favourites for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Seattle Hotel is well positioned if you wish to visit the Brighton Marina. It’s right in the centre of the area and although it doesn’t have dedicated, private parking you do receive free parking at the nearby, multi-storey car park which is connected with a boardwalk.

The hotel is modern, clean lines, well lit and welcoming. Our room was not large but spacious enough to feel comfortable, with good facilities, comfortable bed, a view over the rear of the marina and a nice bathroom with powerful shower. My wife and I were only staying for three nights and so the room met all our needs – however there is very little storage space and so a longer stay with more clothes to hang would have been a problem.

Unfortunately the hotel does have a couple of important downsides …. It became clear each evening that the hotel is ‘dog-friendly’. Now, we have nothing against dogs and those of you with dogs will presumably be delighted with this. The problem was that some rather inconsiderate guests left their dogs alone in a bedroom each evening and they barked constantly until about one o’clock in the morning!!!! Occasionally we heard the idiot owner return to the room and casually tell their dogs to be quiet (because as everyone knows, dogs are very intelligent and understand the need to be quiet in a hotel!) Luckily my wife and I had a room at the other end of the corridor and so although annoying, we could get to sleep. For those nearer it must have been unbearable and we were told the following day that there had been many complaints during the night.

The second downside is that the bar area is extremely draughty and cold – so much so that we went out each evening as we felt it was too cold to enjoy a drink and meal in comfort. This of course will be less of an issue in the warmer months but was a problem in snowy February. In fact there is a lovely terrace that overlooks the boats that would be nice to relax on during a sunny summer’s day.

In general though, setting these issues aside, the hotel is good value for money, very welcoming and comfortable (do note that the hotel is a short drive from the centre of Brighton and would only really be walkable on a dry day) and provides an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Check there are no dogs staying in rooms near yours when you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caesar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton Manors, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My partner and I wanted to get married in The Seattle as it's such an awesome looking hotel. The restaurant, the lobby, the corridors - are all decorated so uniquely and the bedrooms are airy, spacious and many have balconies overlooking the marina. Unfortunately the functions rooms were too small for our wedding, so we chose to use the hotel as our backdrop for our engagement shoot.
In regards to the parking - park on the 6th level and cross the bridge. When you see the 1st mermaid, turn left - when you see the 2nd mermaid turn right. Go through the automatic glass doors and up one flight. Easy!
Parking in Brighton is a costly nightmare but it's free in The Marina. The hotel is also a lot newer, cleaner and more modern than most of the hotels in Brighton (trust me, I've looked at most of them for the wedding!)
I really recommend this hotel and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AjandMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
2.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,041 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
1.9 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#13 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Brighton

Property: Malmaison Brighton
Address: Waterfront, Brighton BN2 5WA, England (Formerly Hotel Seattle)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#9 Family Hotel in Brighton
#10 Business Hotel in Brighton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Malmaison Brighton, a contemporary hotel with a big personality on Brighton Marina waterfront. Uniquely located to offer the best views of Brighton Marina. Close enough to make the best of Brighton's vibrant life but also somewhere where you can enjoy a more relaxed environment with great hospitality, fresh & local produce menus & something a little more unique. Seattle is a hotel to explore, sit back and enjoy the day in the lounge, as the boats come and go, or perhaps it will be the retro pop art that will attract you or relax on our terrace and enjoy the buzz of our restaurant during the evening. Our team are a big part of what makes the Seattle experience so unique. You'll find them friendly, welcoming and never shy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Malmaison Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Hotel Brighton
Brighton Hotel Seattle
Alias Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing