We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who Are You??”
Review of Malmaison Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Brighton
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Hotel Seattle tries very hard to be hip and edgy, much like a Hotel W - they do not succeed.

The facilities need to be spruced up, a lick or two of paint would not hurt at all.

The room was on the small side with no wardrobe, just a bar for hanging clothes from. If this bar is used, then one finds the TV screen covered with hanging clothes. Not really the most intelligent layout and design. The bed was very comfortable and there was an iPod dock in the room.

The location at the Marina is about a 10 minute taxi ride to the Pier. It might be a nice walk on a pleasant day, but not so much if it is chilly and not sunny. To be fair, it was noted on the website that it is about 2.5 miles from the centre of Brighton.

Front desk staff were very good. The staff in the restaurant at breakfast were outstanding as was the food.

One of the bar staff needs to learn not to be annoyed if customers interrupt personal phone calls. Bad move young lady, it cost you a tip and left a bad taste in my mouth.

My recommendation depends on what one is lookng for ... there are other places in Brighton that represent better value for money IMO, but if the location is what is important and you want to be at the Marina, go for it.

Room Tip: Ask for a Marina View room ...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CT_Salop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,462)
There are newer reviews for Malmaison Brighton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,129 - 1,135 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is the first time we stayed in the hotel and we were very pleased with our room,which was clean and spacious. The bed was huge & bedding clean & fresh.We booked a large kingsize with a balcony overlooking the marina which would of been lovely if the great British weather wasn't so bad ! The bathroom had double sinks which came in handy for putting wine into chill,a fridge would've been good. The shower was amazing,with constant hot water. The TV volume switch was set to a max so NO turning up the sounds while getting ready to go out !
The art-work in the hotel was quirky & the staff helpful & friendly.
A great location for bars,restaurants,cinema & shops if your into the normal chain stores ! Although a 20 min walk,No 7 bus or a taxi gets you into the hustle & bustle of Brighton ......beach,lanes,gay scene etc

Room Tip: If your staying here as a couple a room with a balcony is a must for a marina view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We booked for a couple of nights in July 2012, and only stayed for one night due to the fact that when offered a sea/marina view room with a balcony, one does not expect this to be a view of the marina offices, the harbour wall and a balcony shared, quite literally, with thirteen other rooms. The windows and blinds had to be kept shut at all times as anybody passing-by or just wandering on the expansive communal balcony, has a very clear and close-up view into your room. Not good at all - One to miss !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with it's own balcony, not one shared with half of the hotel !!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We liked the location and although the Marina district does feel a little bit like it was a great idea that ran out of steam it has a nice atmosphere along the boardwalk. It is about a 30 minute walk into the city but on a nice day it's a pleasant stroll along the seafront but it does take you through some of the more run down areas of Brighton along the way which made us feel uneasy as it got dark, so we mainly caught the number 7 bus which picks up right outside and runs every 10 minutes or so into the city. We had a room with a large balcony over looking the Marina and the views of the boats bobbing up and down were worth the out of town location. The room was spacious and clean with a TV, Ipod docking station and Tea making facilities, but very warm and without air conditioning which made it uncomfortable at night even with all the windows thrown open on a cold wet July weekend. For those who hold a decent shower close to your heart the Seattle has Waterfall showers which are pretty wonderful though if you are much over 6ft tall you may have to watch your head as they are over bath and not free standing. The breakfast is amazing and the staff are superb and very polite. The free parking is a bonus and drop off outside the hotel is easy. There are some negatives we stayed 3 days over a weekend and each day there was a wedding which meant there was no access to the bar. We didn't mind too much as we had a balcony but if you don't it takes away the best view of the Mariana. Also although the maid service is daily they didn't replenish the tea/coffee facilities and we had to ask for loo roll not really what you expect with a room rate of £150 per night.

Room Tip: A Marina view is well worth the extra with those on the first floor having a large communal balcony...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sally190762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had a clean, spacious room. Comfortable bed. But the room was ridiculously hot (on a cold, wet July weekend). No aircon, only a small electric fan. The breakfast was very nice. The main downside is the marina complex. It's full of chain restaurants and totally lacks charm. It's very dreary and unlike the rest of Brighton. I wouldn't stay again, because of the location.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a sea view
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is second time we have stayed at this hotel, principally because parking anywhere in Brighton is a nightmare and this hotel has huge free car park adjacent to it. Rooms are pretty standard modern style but are functional/clean and staff are very helpful/friendly. Only drawback is that you need to get a bus/taxi into town centre as walking would take about 30 mins. Excellent breakfast included.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sadie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Seattle for one night on business and found it a very refreshing change from the characterless hotels I usually stay in.
Free and ample car parking is a benefit and the location is great, I had a room overlooking the marina.
There's plenty of restaurants nearby but I opted for room service which was very good.
The hotel is decorated white. It's all white and it gives the feeling of being fresh and clean.
A great feature was the iPod speaker in the room which gave me the option to listen to and charge my iPhone without the need to plug in my charger.
Staff are lovely too and very helpful.
I'd definately stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jojubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
2.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,702 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,206 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.9 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#12 of 43 in Brighton
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Brighton

Address: Waterfront, Brighton BN2 5WA, England (Formerly Hotel Seattle)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#9 Family Hotel in Brighton
#10 Business Hotel in Brighton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $118 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Malmaison Brighton, a contemporary hotel with a big personality on Brighton Marina waterfront. Uniquely located to offer the best views of Brighton Marina. Close enough to make the best of Brighton's vibrant life but also somewhere where you can enjoy a more relaxed environment with great hospitality, fresh & local produce menus & something a little more unique. Seattle is a hotel to explore, sit back and enjoy the day in the lounge, as the boats come and go, or perhaps it will be the retro pop art that will attract you or relax on our terrace and enjoy the buzz of our restaurant during the evening. Our team are a big part of what makes the Seattle experience so unique. You'll find them friendly, welcoming and never shy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malmaison Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Hotel Brighton
Brighton Hotel Seattle
Alias Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing