We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Started not good, improved”
Review of Anatolia Cuisine

Anatolia Cuisine
Ranked #61 of 1,124 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Started not good, improved”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

After booking a table for 2 on 'smart dining website' along with receiving email confirmation we arrived at the restaurant to be told (a) they don't take online reservations - strange... and (b) no record of my reservation. No doubt due to our perplexed faces, they tried and managed to indeed arrange a table for us. It was Friday evening and we were lucky as the place was packed which is always a good sign for any restaurant. Service was slow however they possibly weren't expecting so many covers. We waited 45 minutes for our starters. Now this is where we remembered why we'd booked - the food is unbelievable. Fresh, tasty & great value. Despite being told the fresh salad was out but we were offered other salads with similar ingredients we were a little confused and put this down to communications between front and back of house. We ordered both Pide and Lahmacun and for our second visit they were out of these again which is disappointing. Joyfully the kebabs as ever were a delight. The food for sure makes up for the stumbling block during dining. We would go back for the food alone and only hope the foibles have been resolved by then. The guy who does the kebabs is a delight and works very hard. Compliments to him.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodiemonkeyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    104
    14
    2
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice food, good value”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We are veggies, and we shared both the hot and cold Meze. This was plenty for two, and with plenty of variety. The only criticisms were that they got the order wrong and a meaty Meze arrived, (which was soon remedied) and I would rather not have the Turkish "trance" music.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy_Bickley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Went for birthday celebration. 6 people. Food all great. Cooked in view. Lovely staff. Don't go if in a rush. Just sit back have a drink and enjoy.....a great night.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank willm603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service.”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I visited this superb little restaurant whilst staying for a weekend in Brighton.This is not fine dining but a fantastic unpretentious little restaurant. Food is cooked in the room on an open charcoal grill,kebabs,kofta s and whole fish to see and enjoy with a sense of theatre.Friendly and attentive staff I suspect family look after your every need we had a mixed grill than came with a selection of three starters,it was simple but excellent,in particular the chicken which had been marinaded and cooked to perfection.
You Must dine here!!! If you visit Brighton.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SETAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton,UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Have visited many times not quite as many as I have visited Turkey”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I absolutely totally recommend this place. It is even nicer since their refit.... I cannot understand why people would say it was not authentic.

I have been going to different parts of Turkey for over 20 years and this is the first one in Brighton that has been anything near the delicious food you get in Turkey.

I understand it must be very difficult as the produce we get in the UK is no where near as fresh and tasty as you get in Turkey! But at the Anatolia the food is gorgeous I especially like the Iskender even though it is a cafe dish it is lovely the Corban salad is fresh and wonderful as are all the cold Mezes I hope they stay a very long time!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MariaBBrighton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anatolia Cuisine also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Anatolia Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing