We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality food”
Review of The Bristol Bar

The Bristol Bar
Ranked #144 of 1,209 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $21
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Bristol is a fabulous seafront pub with panoramic sea views, great traditional food and wonderful Sunday lunches. Clearly we are not to everyone's taste but a warm welcome awaits the discerning customer who appreciates something a little bit special. Dog friendly & children welcome for lunch. Please note, we do not allow large groups, especially hen or stag parties. Sorry, no fancy dress. The result of these policies is that we have to tolerate some abusive reviews as the price we pay for a nicer environment. C'est la vie.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Popped in here for lunch on a Saturday. The staff couldn't be more helpful, the bar lady even did her best to make up a lie about why the pub is called the Bristol even though she clearly had no idea, it was very funny. Food was of an excellent standard restaurant quality.

Highly recommend a visit.

Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrogoBrighton, Owner at The Bristol Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thanks for the great review and I'm looking forward to finding out the Bristol tale! The Bristol was in fact so named in recognition of the contribution of the first Marquess of Bristol in the development of Kemp town. Hope the lie was a little more interesting and that we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 179 of 218 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Went here today 7/7/14 with my wife after my friends who have there own cafe recommended this to me.
Starters trio of pâté lovely main me lamb and beef burger lovely. My wife fish pie this was lovely too.
Now I'm full but went for deserts too and these were very nice.
The guys serving and the owner and chef very polite and welcoming.
We will be coming back for more sometime. Thank you.

1  Thank Coastline99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrogoBrighton, Owner at The Bristol Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thanks for such a nice review and taking the time to encourage others to try The Bristol. The support is very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Visited the Bristol Bar for the first time today for lunch. It was a great all round experience, the food was excellent as was the service, friendly and relaxed. We also loved the building and decor of the place. Myself and my partner sat at a table by the window with lovely sea views, enjoying the music. We had the trio of pate's for starters, (mackerel, salmon & chestnut mushroom with walnuts), all 3 were superb. For our mains I had the burger, with excellent saute potatoes and my partner had the fish pie. Again, both dishes were cooked to a very high standard and were extremely tasty. We are looking forward to visiting again perhaps for Sunday lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pomegranateseaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrogoBrighton, Owner at The Bristol Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

The trio of pates is a new addition to our menu and I'm delighted it is so well received. Thanks for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The Bristol Bar is situated on Brighton's seafront, about a half mile east of Brighton Pier.
For the past couple of years it has featured regular jazz sessions on Thursday evenings. These are organized by jazz trumpet supremo Jack Kendon and feature the very best jazz talent from Brighton and farther afield. Simon, the owner, has ensured that guests can order really good meals from his tasty menu and these are served by attentive staff while jazz livens the ambience. Beginning at 8.00 PM, jazz is played, with a couple of breaks, to 11.00 PM and beyond. The bar is well stocked with wines and spirits. For a really good night out this venue has to be a must.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrogoBrighton, Owner at The Bristol Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Jack always does a great job with the jazz and the Bristol is pleased to host the Thursday night sessions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere and staff. The food is good quality from a chef who cares. Try Thursday over a meal with friends and listen to some good jazz.

1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrogoBrighton, Owner at The Bristol Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thanks for noticing that our kitchen really does care that the food we serve is good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bristol Bar also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Bristol Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing