We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food good pub ”
Review of The Bristol Bar

The Bristol Bar
Ranked #163 of 1,189 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $20
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Bristol is a fabulous seafront pub with panoramic sea views, great traditional food and wonderful Sunday lunches. Clearly we are not to everyone's taste but a warm welcome awaits the discerning customer who appreciates something a little bit special. Dog & friendly & children welcome for lunch. Please note, we do not allow large groups, especially hen or stag parties. Absolutely no fancy dress and we will not accommodate Proud Cabaret customers. The result of this policy is that we have to tolerate the abusive reviews as the price we pay for a nicer environment. C'est la vie.
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere and staff. The food is good quality from a chef who cares. Try Thursday over a meal with friends and listen to some good jazz.

1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrogoBrighton, Owner at The Bristol Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thanks for noticing that our kitchen really does care that the food we serve is good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 176 of 211 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

This Pub I would recommend, one of the better ones in Brighton, Food very good , consistent , great Atmosphere , good Beers and Housewines. We always go back and it's always very good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hedy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrogoBrighton, Owner at The Bristol Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Keep coming back! And thanks for the lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is my local bar and have been using it regularly for a number of years. The current owners have turned this place around into a very stylish venue (previous owners have never shown this beautiful space any love) always great food,great staff who you can tell genuinely like working there, great sea views, jazz nights the list could go on! If you haven't tried this place yet you don't know what you are missing.
Well done to the lovely Simon and Alan.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SeaSpray375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrogoBrighton, Owner at The Bristol Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thanks for all the positive feedback. Much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Scoured the Internet looking for somewhere to take my son out for a decent Sunday lunch, and so pleased I found this place!
We were welcomed on arrival and at first we were shown to a table in the bar area, but thankfully we were swiftly moved to a table with fantastic sea views, something I had requested.
Having read the comments, we werent going to have a starter, as the mains sounded generous, but once we saw the menu, we both opted for the pate, mackerel and salmon, and they were absolutely delicious! My son wanted to know more about the vegetarian tart and when he asked the gentleman serving us, not only could he say what was in it, but also, he made it! I chose the roast chicken, and neither of us were disappointed. The food was deliciously cooked, the vegetables were perfectly aldente, and whoops, I couldn't quite finish mine, but enjoyed every bit of it!
What was nice is that we were told when we arrived that the kitchen orders had backed up and someone would be with us to take our order shortly. So many places would just take the order and keep you waiting! Also, the menu clearly states the food is cooked fresh to order, no ping ping sounds from that kitchen!
This is a little gem, and though I shan't be in Brighton for a long time, my son will certainly bare this in mind if he's treated to another Sunday lunch out. Oh, they do automatically add a service charge to the bill, which would normally annoy me a little, but here, I was glad to pay it. Worth every penny!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LynnNottinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrogoBrighton, Owner at The Bristol Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

We have a great team at The Bristol and I'm really pleased your experience here was such a good one. Thanks for trying the Bristol, writing such a great review and hopefully encouraging others to give us a try! Hope we see you again on your next visit to our lovely town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Overlooking the sea, the Bristol Bar in Kempton, Brighton is highly recommended!! We had the most fabulous Sunday Roast there today. It was a glorious sunny day & The place was very busy with families & couples & large parties. We were told it would be a half hour wait for a table, but that wasn't a problem, as there were games & books to keep everyone entertained whilst we waited with our drinks.The menu looked fantastic & we all opted for Sunday roast with all the trimmings - chicken for the children, beef & the vegetarian for the grown ups. The staff were friendly & attentive, making sure we had all we needed. The portion sizes were huge, the food delicious & the atmosphere was great. It's a child & dog friendly establishment & this just added to the whole experience.
Great views over the sea. Just make sure you leave room for a fabulous desert!!
Will definitely be back.
Highly recommended!

Thank bl0ndie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrogoBrighton, Owner at The Bristol Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

How very nice to get such a glowing review. We're proud of our Sunday lunch and have worked hard to make it one of the best. I'm very pleased you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bristol Bar also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Bristol Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing