We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lovely food”
Review of The Cuthbert - CLOSED

The Cuthbert
Price range: $16 - $48
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely lovely food”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Its kinda of a vintage gastro pub, if that makes any sense to you, bunting and old stuff hanging all over the place. Quite charming really. We went at lunch time for a romantic birthday lunch with a one year old tagging along… Place was pretty empty so as a result lacked atmosphere, but it was a Tuesday, so fair enough..

More importantly the food…. bloody lovely, my one year old polished off bangers and mash, I had an amazing steak and wife had some vegetarian thing which she raved about. The service was friendly and professional without being obtrusive. Slightly exxy for lunch, but the quality of the ingredients and meal warrants it, so you don't mind.

Have been reluctant to mention to others as its so good, we want to quite selfishly keep it to ourselves!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gil5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    5
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have driven past this restaurant and been told by friends to visit and eventually we made it! Really friendly low key service. A simple room but quite comfortable. Limited wine list but good value. Food really very good. Overall pretty good and a great addition to the Brighton scene for quality dining at a reasonable price.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LCH857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“My new favourite”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We discovered the Cuthbert a couple of months ago and haven't left it since! The menu is always very interesting and the produce is always of an excellent standard. I have had some lovely evenings here and the staff are very friendly. They serve very nice wines and the deserts are superb.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cathalkearnill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happy to cater for different diets”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Okay, this is not ostensibly a pub catering for vegans. But, today, for the second time this year, they prepared me a special and absolutely delicious meal. The starter today was adapted from their main menu (Spiced Fruit & Chick Pea Pastilla, Pomegranate Dressing, Coriander) and tickled my jaded palate nicely. The main course was specially made for me - a butternut squash Thai-style curry with rice. Exquisite. Then vegan sorbet for afters. I chose a ball of cherry and one of mango. Delightfully refreshing. My meat-eating friend also loved his food and the bill, for three courses plus coffee, came to £36 for both of us combined. Well done Cuthbert's - an imaginative response for a special diet.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HazelReeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Robin thank you so much for a truly amazing meal my daughter and I had with you on Tuesday night. The food is made with such love and attention to detail. It was all faultless and the fish was so fresh you could taste the sea . I feel that we have found a gem of a pub and if I could give this pub more than 5 stars I would. Every mouthful was pure heaven. Thank you Robin you are a star. We will be back on Boxing Day !!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 52LizzieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cuthbert also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing