We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Market Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brighton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Market Inn
Ranked #49 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Central and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

This inn is centrally located and right in the middle of the action. There are pros and cons to this of course. We loved the location but it is noisy until the early hours of the morning. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Unfortunately there is no parking right there, which means dragging bags from a nearby car park. On the whole, this was good value and recommended to those who want to be centrally situated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mauveen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    23
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
2
38
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I took my boyfriend to stay here back in April and we had a lovely time. The room was exactly how it looked on the website and we both thought that the breakfast that was bought to our room each morning was delicious.
Rooms were a bargain as they were central to the town and not even 10 minutes walk away from the seafront! And the lanes were fun to explore, we'd definitely stay at the market Inn again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmurphy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night cannot fault excellent location very central lovely room breakfast served in the room at a time you like. Pub food also very good would certainly return to this pub. Would certainly recommend this to anyone wanting a break in Brighton.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dill62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selsey, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days fantastic place, fantastic staff, great atmosphere, made to feel very welcome breakfast great choice, meals very enjoyable. Have had such an amazing time booked again to stay in October.
Very clean rooms everything you need for a comfortable stay so should be 4-5 stars in our eyes

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cass C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights,perfect for the Lanes and sea front,good room,nice and clean,friendly staff and a decent breakfast.For us it also meant we were close to the Dome for our Daughter's Graduation ceremony.Excellent menu during the day and a choice of real ales.Not too busy,which was nice and outside seating area.We have drank here before but not stayed.Will consider again when we next visit our favourite city by the sea :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceedeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

The Market Inn is a real find in a excellent location amongst the glorious lanes of Brighton. The rooms are bright and spacious and spotless, breakfast was served to us in our room on the lovely table in the window and was cooked to perfection. The landlord Peter is friendly and helpful and we always get service with a smile. We are booking again soon and would highly recommend it having stayed ourselves 3 times now.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We've just had another great stay with Peter & his team. The rooms are clean, have all the facilities you need & they are above a pub that does great food & drink too. Win!
The best bit about a stay here is the fantastic & hearty breakfast, that's brought straight to your room, so you can sit in the window watching the world go by as you eat.
We highly recommend this place, it's right in the heart of the Laines so close to everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tazziec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.2 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#15 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
0.2 mi away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Guest and the City
Guest and the City
#3 of 98 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Market Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Market Inn

Property: The Market Inn
Address: 1 Market Street, Brighton BN1 1HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing