We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and helpful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boydens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boydens
Ranked #38 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Helen couldn't be a more open and very friendly, helpful proprietor. Doesn't crowd you tho', but you feel if anything went wrong (nothing did) there would be no problem fixing it swiftly. My room was very clean, comfortable, warm, airy, hot shower, tea making facilities, soaps and stuff.

I can be a bit of an insomniac, but had a good nights sleep. The location is a few streets up from the sea along the Marine parade (no more than a 5 minute walk away) and so is away from the noise and activity down there. 10 minutes and you're in central Brighton. Maybe 20/25 minutes walk from the station? I drove down - there is parking in the street available with a visitors permit purchased from the hotel (£10) for zone C (I think) but be aware in Brighton its often hunt the parking spot, and you may not find parking right outside the B&B.

Wasn't that hungry the next morning, so just had a bacon/tomato/mushroom sandwich - v. nice.

Would definitely go back, and would recommend for friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachaelov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    21
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
44
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

What a great place! Location was perfect, the room was spot on with all the facilities, freeview, hairdrier, etc. Helen & her other half were absolutely great hosts & simply lovely people, it felt like home from home. I cannot speak highly enough of how hospitable Helen was as soon as I arrived, greeting me with a map of the area, together with where to visit & top tips of the sites at breakfast each morning. I am gutted I left it so late & really wish I'd booked sooner in order to have stayed in one of the 'Lush' rooms with an en suite. Breakfast was lovely & always loads of it. The communal shower & Loo was spotless & will definitely be using Boydens again & recommending it to Family & Friends if they're ever visiting. Kat

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank londanar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This was my second stay at this lovely guesthouse and both times have been an absolute pleasure, was never up in time for breakfast but I am sure it would be first class, Helen is most helpful and polite and does everything possible to make your stay a pleasant one.

Room Tip: All the rooms look perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelCleary_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havant
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just wanted to say what a lovely stay my husband and I have just had at Boydens. We had a 2 night stay there to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. Helen is so friendly & helpful and makes you feel really welcome. Our room was lovely & clean. Breakfast was scrummy both mornings and was really filling. As for location Boydens is spot on close to all Brighton has to offer. Hoping to return to Brighton next year and will stay at Boydens again :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kirstykirstywain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Arrived at the guest house and initially had a bit of hassle finding somewhere to park as it was busy for the weekend bike extravaganza and most roads near to the seafront are permit only. When we got parked, Helen the landlady sold a permit for 24hrs parking at a cost of £10.00.

Our room was clean, tidy and functional for the short stay we had planned. Shower room was very clean and soaps, shampoos etc were supplied. Tv with free view was in the room, as was the tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast in the morning was typical guest house full English or cereals or toast if preffered.

The seafront was a simple five minute walk away.

All in all, a very good stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

There were 4 of us that stayed at Boydens and we all had a lovely break in Brighton. We were made to feel very welcome by the owners and they remembered all of our names which was a nice personal touch. The b&b was spotless and homely and the breakfast was cooked to order and tasty. The location was great, nice and quiet but near to all Brighton has to offer. We all said we would stay here anytime we visit Brighton and would like to thank Helen and William for making us so comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zoe_nash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

good quality guest house with a very friendly welcoming host, room was very clean, our room had plenty of room to spread out with en-suite, and the new owners are making improvemnts all the time. in the heart of brighton, close to all the local attractions. the breakfast is to die for wether you chose a full english or a more healthier option. could recomend this place to anyone for a short or longer stay in brighton,

Room Tip: obviously book a double with en-suite if possible as singles have to share bathroom, but being plann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Waynes Place
Waynes Place
#55 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gullivers Hotel
Gullivers Hotel
#73 of 98 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kemp Townhouse
Kemp Townhouse
#29 of 98 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grey's Hotel
Grey's Hotel
#15 of 98 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.0 mi away
27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boydens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boydens

Property: Boydens
Address: 27 St. James's Avenue | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boydens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boydens is situated in Kemp Town in a residential area. It is close to all the local attractions, good restaurants and shopping. The house has recently under gone a refurshishment. Helen looks forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Boydens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boydens Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing