We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short stay”
Review of Boydens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boydens
Ranked #36 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“short stay”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

good quality guest house with a very friendly welcoming host, room was very clean, our room had plenty of room to spread out with en-suite, and the new owners are making improvemnts all the time. in the heart of brighton, close to all the local attractions. the breakfast is to die for wether you chose a full english or a more healthier option. could recomend this place to anyone for a short or longer stay in brighton,

Room Tip: obviously book a double with en-suite if possible as singles have to share bathroom, but being plann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    21
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
50
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We were surprised to find there had been a change of management since we booked, months earlier, and disappointed to find that we had been allocated a room which was unacceptably small for our planned four night stay. When we outlined the problem, our hostess transferred us to a larger, airier room with a decent sized window and a small fridge, which would otherwise have remained vacant for the next three nights. So, rather than move, we made do and had a reasonably pleasant stay, notwithstanding the
claustrophobia of the final night. Compared to other B&Bs in which we stayed in other parts of the country during a five week trip, this one was somewhat lacking in its finish - everything seemed crammed and basic - and we felt it was overpriced at 86 quid a night. We were not offered any reduction in price to offset the smaller room experience. Neverthless the breakfasts were good and the location excellent for getting to know Brighton on foot and by bus.

Room Tip: Make sure you know which room you will occupy, how big it is,and what amenities it has.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Boydens is a clean, comfortable, welcoming B&B in the heart of a quiet Brighton residential area. The host, Helen, is friendly and accommodating. She personally cooks up a hearty English breakfast. There are also veg and healthy cereal options. She takes great pride in her property and offers her vast knowledge of the town and nearby tourist destinations. Location is excellent. St. James Ave is a hill just off lively St. James Street a.k.a. Kemp Town. It's an easy 10-min walk to Brighton Pier and Univ of B Grand Parade Bldg, where we were meeting. We had room 4, which is a double en suite. It was spotless, spartan, with a good bed, lavatory, and a toilet and small shower behind a sliding door. For more privacy, there's a toilet down the hall.One large window (no screens) provided plenty of light and air. Courtyard view. No air con, but probably not needed except during heat waves. Room's big enough for two people and a little luggage and not much more--typical in my experience. In-room coffee, tea. Soap, shampoo. Wi-Fi. Cleaned every morning. Nice launderette down the street. The walls are thin, but the other guests were very quiet and respectful. We could not hear the street but on a stormy night we could hear the waves crashing. Lots of sea gulls, which could be soothing or make you dream of Alfred Hitchcock. We'll happily return to Boydens.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Demeny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Stayed here back in February for two nights (Friday/Saturday) whilst visiting friends. About 5 minutes walk from the Palace Pier & Pavilion. On arrival, Helen was busy cleaning outside the front door! Gave a good first impression. My single room (no. 3) was good: small and just a view of neighbours' flat, but with a colour tv, tea/coffee facilities and wireless internet (didn't work on the 2nd night, but I usually travel without my laptop, so not an issue for me). Since there was only 1 other guest, I didn't have to share WC/bathroom. Breakfast was great, vegetarian sausages are readily available unlike many other places! It was also included in the price, contradicting the website. Helen was so cheerful and attentive, I'd have no hesitation staying here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fluce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I recently stayed at Boydens in St James Avenue Brighton - and would totally recommend it to anyone who is thinking of staying in Brighton. The rooms are very nice and comfortable, Helen and Billy who run it are very friendly and helpful - and provide you with a great breakfast to start your day, The location is not far from the seafront and the shops. I am visiting Brighton again shortly - and have already booked my next stay at Boydens.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zug
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I had a very nice time in this guesthouse with my best friend. We shared a double room with a toilet and a shower. If we liked to be ready on the same time we could use the bathroom on the second floor. Helen and Wiliam are very kind and I promise that your stay in their guesthouse will be perfect. If you want you can eat every morning fool english breakfast. You can choose of more than 5 different breakfast. Everything is very clean and you fell at home. The guesthouse is close to the college, the seafront and shops. The position can't be better. If you have any questions you can be sure, that Helen or Wiliam will have a answer.
I had a great time there and if I would go again to Brighton I really would go again to this guesthouse.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramona k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweiz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I stayed in the Boydens for 1 Month with a friend. We had a very nice double bed room. The guesthouse was always very clean and comfortable and it’s near the seaside, city center and too our College as well. I can’t imagine to have a Guesthouse with a better position in Brighton than the Boydens Guest House. Helen and William were very kind and welcoming. Our stay was absolutely homelike  Helen was so helpful and loving!! I will definitely be returning again and recomment it to all my friends! Thank you so much for the unforgettable stay in your Guesthouse!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Five Hotel
Five Hotel
#44 of 94 in Brighton
241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coward's Guesthouse
Coward's Guesthouse
#25 of 94 in Brighton
115 reviews
1.0 mi away
Whitburn Lodge
Whitburn Lodge
#23 of 94 in Brighton
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bannings at Number 14
Bannings at Number 14
#10 of 94 in Brighton
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#39 of 94 in Brighton
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kelvin
The Kelvin
#50 of 94 in Brighton
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boydens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boydens

Property: Boydens
Address: 27 St. James's Avenue | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boydens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boydens is situated in Kemp Town in a residential area. It is close to all the local attractions, good restaurants and shopping. The house has recently under gone a refurshishment. Helen looks forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Boydens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boydens Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing