We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend get away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royal Pavilion Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #64 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Nice quiet location and in walking distance of town and restaurants, Staff were really friendly and great to talk to! made you feel very welcomed, Nice size room, Could go in and out as much as needed, Would recommend to anyone and stay again :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danni y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 200 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

Saw this through KBG as looked good for the price, booking was very easy however on arrival the room was disgusting, dirty carpet, en-suite door was coming off the hinges, tiles in bathroom floor were cracked, extractor fan filthy and dropping debris onto the sink and the curtains/blind were dirty and did not work. Complained to the manager who took no notice stating that he tried to see us to change rooms, obviously when we walked past him in the street and said hello that didn't count!! Breakfast was spent with the cleaner hoovering (very slowly) around the tables. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AFL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Pavilion Townhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2015

We have no idea what this guest is talking about and can only think they chose to bring their own problems into the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The website advertises a very different hotel - having stayed for two nights we are highly unimpressed. The building is very dated inside and in need of repair; our bedroom and bathroom walls had several serious cracks, the bed wasn't made properly, the "jacuzzi" setting in bath didn't work and the fridge was broken. The joint reception/breakfast area felt very tired, it was messy when we arrived at half two in the afternoon. There was no customer service; the owner seemed disinterested in us and our stay. The two other members of staff spoke very little English and again were not very hospital. We are both very sceptical of the other reviews as they don't reflect our stay/impressions of the hotel at all. Was such a shame as we were hoping for a bit of luxury as advertised on the website. (Young couple, romantic break)

Room Tip: 'The Lienna' seemed best of a very bad lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sf_do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Pavilion Townhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2015

This all seems to be something and nothing and more a question of the guests expectations being wide of the mark as no concerns were articulated while in house. We imagine the source of the booking was a KGB deal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I bought a KGB deal of a two night stay at this B&B (It's not a Hotel) at half price it worked out at £49.00 per night B&B not a bad deal you might think, however the booking procedure was a little test of patience I rang to book the room and was told I had to Email them with details of the KGB deal they would then email me back to confirm, I have no idea why they were unable to do the booking while I was on the phone, I did as requested and finally received a reply confirming my booking.
I arrived at 2pm to book into my room and was met at the front door after a little wait by a very nice man who booked me into a double room on the very top floor, I am quite fit and have no problems with stairs, however no mention of five flights of stairs or my ability was made at the time of booking so if you do have a problem with stairs let them know when you call them.
I was handed the key to the bedroom and front door and was then informed that breakfast was served from 9.30 to 10.30am well to me this is way too late, I am up and out by 8am and off to see people and places, so I mentioned this to him and was very kindly offered breakfast at 8.30, so ok not as early as I would like and an extra hours parking cost but not too bad, I accepted and proceeded to my room on the top floor, the room was a good size with en suit facilities all a little tired and in desperate need of renovation, the carpet and the bedding are filthy with stains and that stale damp smell you get in rooms that are well past their best. The Shower was ok with hot water but not a lot of pressure and was fitted with too shower heads! Twice as much water used but with only one person in the shower you can only benefit from one side or the other not both so 50% of the water is wasted. The Toilet seat was broken as was the towel rail and the lock on the door was hanging off.
The window is rotten and the curtain – blind just about hanging in there.
I woke on Wednesday morning at about 2.30 – 3am ish to the sound of people dancing on a car bonnet or roof however my car was parked a mile up the road in Worthing as it’s a lot cheaper than Brighton to park a car in.
I found out on departure (6am Friday 19th October) the two houses next door are Hostel type accommodation, I noticed this due to the three down and out drunk men who were hanging round outside the building asking people for money (Yes at 6am)
Back to breakfast, I was shown into the breakfast room and there was a few items laid out for self service, tea coffee were in pressure jugs and you just help yourself, tea was ok, I had a bowl of grapefruit very nice, at this point the man arrived with a full English breakfast he had cooked for me, he didn’t ask me if I wanted a full English breakfast or give me any choice, I would have liked two poached eggs on toast to be honest that would have done me for the day, still I eat the breakfast while the chap stood right next to me for 20 minutes watching me eat it, I asked him for some toast, he said sorry we don’t do toast! Ok so why the jam butter and marmalade? I only had breakfast on the Thursday morning as I was unable to waste another two and a half hours waiting for it on Friday morning, I was about a third of the way home by the time they served breakfast.

I was also informed that the room would not be serviced due to the loss of the second key; however the key must have been found due to the bed being made and a clean (ish) towel.

Room Tip: I Had a room on the top flor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My four-night stay at the Royal Pavillion Townhouse Hotel in early October 2012 was comfortable, fun and perfect in many ways. The "Beijing" room, where I stayed, was clean, warm and extravagalantly designed. The owner, Pravin, is personable and available almost any time of the day or evening -- and can cook an incredible curry if you like Indian food. |the staff were professional and efficient. The breakfasts were large, diverse and very good. The other guests were quiet and respectful. This place is more like an exotic boutique hotel than a bed-and-breakfast or a chain hotel. You won't be disappointed, especially because it's located in the middle of all the action in Brighton -- a minute from the shore and walking distance to the Lanes.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Checked in 3.45 had everything ready with free 2 glass of wine. Very friendly clean and happy place. Had good talk with owner before we went out to eat in lanes. Will come back next year.
Had personal introduction to the room by owner. Great place to stay for romantic break.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank khalid p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

One of the best place to stay in brighton, Very friendly people on arrival free tee coffee, fruit juice and fresh fruit, with home made cake. owner is very friendly and funny just felt like meeting new friend.rooms are nice but too many stairs counted it is about 70 in total.
So carefull or try lower floor.break fast is very good and tasty.only odd thing is owner is doing everything himself so breakfast took about 10 min to come out but fresh and yummy.
We had great time in brighton.
Thankyou for looking after us. harman

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank warwicktobrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,414 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.5 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#13 of 43 in Brighton
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,249 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,383 reviews
1 mi away
Fab Guest
Fab Guest
#20 of 95 in Brighton
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Pavilion Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Pavilion Townhouse Hotel

Address: 12A Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $71 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Pavilion Townhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE ROYAL PAVILION TOWNHOUSE HOTEL is set in a fine regency square of elegant stuccoed houses built in 1828, with the square facing directly out to the sea. The Hotel has been sympathetically renovated and the unique hand-painted interiors have transformed this fine early nineteenth-century building.Brighton's world famous promenade and beach are just 200 metres away, and all the daytime and nightlife attractions the city has to offer are within easy strolling distance. Nearby are countless restaurants and bars of all descriptions to tempt you; also the hotel is close to Brighton's Gay scene. The stylish surroundings of The Royal Pavilion Townhouse Hotel provide the ultimate in comfort and elegance.Each room has a luxury bathroom, with a double shower and/or bath. Several rooms features four-poster or canopied beds. The furniture, drapes and other soft furnishings were commissioned from suppliers to echo the splendid interiors of the world famous Royal Pavilion, and to further enhance the luxurious surroundings. The Hotel provides an ideal setting for special occasions (honeymoon, birthday celebration, wedding anniversary, romantic break...), we will be only too happy to assist you if you have a special request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Pavilion Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing