We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sydney standard Coffee - have coffee here if you want an actual coffee in England!!”

Small Batch Coffee Company
Ranked #20 of 65 Coffee & Tea in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
2 reviews
“Sydney standard Coffee - have coffee here if you want an actual coffee in England!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Great coffee - a coffee connoisseur's type of coffee !!
Confusing order process - felt that even the makers of the coffee were confused too!
Shame about the food - small treats only no actual food cause they are all about the coffee!! I went here pretty hungry looking for breakfasty food but failed due to small selection on treats not substantial to my appetite.
Drink coffee here if you want a decent coffee in England!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pepperpearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    84
    27
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast provided for Myhotel”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Although not a great choice for breakfast, what we ate was good. Excellent coffee and hot chocolate. Had not heard of the SBCC before but would now go to them for a coffee.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank onlyJ9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best coffee in Brighton & Hove”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Small Batch has does wonders for coffee drinkers in Brighton & Hove. I still think the Hove location at Wilbury Road is the best (best staff and service) as I always seem to end waiting a little too long in the Brighton venue on Jubilee Street (thought that's probably as I'm only there at peak times). I've not tried the Seven Dials branch but wish the team the best of luck as it's good to have a local company fuel us with caffeine rather than the big coffee chains that seem to have taken over the world.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Whilst perhaps not the best coffee in Brighton, it's pretty darn close!

I have not had a bad experience in Small Batch (either the Hove or Jubilee St branches), but can only vouch for their coffee as never had any of their delicious looking cakes, pastries and sandwiches. Then again, their a coffee bar, so if their coffee was no good it wouldn't matter!

So, all I can say is GREAT coffee, fun atmosphere, and lovely friendly staff! Keep it up!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrVilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Popular coffee stop”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have mixed feelings about Small Batch. FANTASTIC that we now have a decent cafe at Seven Dials. Service is good and cakes and pastries are delicious.
Unlike most of the other reviews I don't like the taste of the coffee - I'm not a connoiseur by any means but find the americano coffee quite bitter compared to other coffee places.
Out of 3 visits to Small Batch (twice to Seven Dials and once to Jubilee Street) I have been surprised to find that on 2 occasions the cakes have not yet been put on display, even though I haven't been there particularly early - 10.30am ish.
Seven Dials needs to sort out its seating and tables - the tables have a bar underneath them just above knee height so it is very difficult to sit with your legs under the table.
A great atmosphere at Small Batch and friendly staff, but a couple of niggles that I feel need to be sorted.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emmainbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Small_Batch_Coffee, Creative & Media at Small Batch Coffee Company, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi there

Thanks for the feedback about Small Batch and particularly about the service, atmosphere and cakes. I'll make sure to let the team know

With regards to the coffee, all our baristas taste our espresso all day every day, whilst in the roastery, we frequently cup it to ensure that it reaches our high standards. It's a real shame for us to read that you didn't like the taste as we pride ourselves on the lightness of our roast, the balance of the flavours and indeed, the sweetness of the espresso.

We have two deliveries per day from our bakers, The Flourpot, around each of our shops, freshly baked every day. The first one is our breakfast items and pastries at around 6am, followed by the cake and lunch items at around 10ish. Sometimes, when the shops are busy, there might be a slight delay in putting out all the food. Other times, traffic around Brighton might cause a hold up. I will definitely look into it though and thanks for flagging this.

Finally I've not found the same difficulties with the seating at Sevendials but will go up there myself to check it out again.

Love Small Batch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Small Batch Coffee Company also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton and Hove, East Sussex
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Small Batch Coffee Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing