We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular coffee stop”

Small Batch Coffee Company
Ranked #20 of 65 Coffee & Tea in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Brighton
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Popular coffee stop”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have mixed feelings about Small Batch. FANTASTIC that we now have a decent cafe at Seven Dials. Service is good and cakes and pastries are delicious.
Unlike most of the other reviews I don't like the taste of the coffee - I'm not a connoiseur by any means but find the americano coffee quite bitter compared to other coffee places.
Out of 3 visits to Small Batch (twice to Seven Dials and once to Jubilee Street) I have been surprised to find that on 2 occasions the cakes have not yet been put on display, even though I haven't been there particularly early - 10.30am ish.
Seven Dials needs to sort out its seating and tables - the tables have a bar underneath them just above knee height so it is very difficult to sit with your legs under the table.
A great atmosphere at Small Batch and friendly staff, but a couple of niggles that I feel need to be sorted.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emmainbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Small_Batch_Coffee, Creative & Media at Small Batch Coffee Company, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi there

Thanks for the feedback about Small Batch and particularly about the service, atmosphere and cakes. I'll make sure to let the team know

With regards to the coffee, all our baristas taste our espresso all day every day, whilst in the roastery, we frequently cup it to ensure that it reaches our high standards. It's a real shame for us to read that you didn't like the taste as we pride ourselves on the lightness of our roast, the balance of the flavours and indeed, the sweetness of the espresso.

We have two deliveries per day from our bakers, The Flourpot, around each of our shops, freshly baked every day. The first one is our breakfast items and pastries at around 6am, followed by the cake and lunch items at around 10ish. Sometimes, when the shops are busy, there might be a slight delay in putting out all the food. Other times, traffic around Brighton might cause a hold up. I will definitely look into it though and thanks for flagging this.

Finally I've not found the same difficulties with the seating at Sevendials but will go up there myself to check it out again.

Love Small Batch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    84
    27
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good coffee shop”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed in the hotel above and although this is a very good coffee shop the breakfast choice is limited for hotel guests

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelman1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Poor choice.”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had breakfast here as part of our stay ay myHotel. There were a good selection of coffees and tea although mine was luke warm when it arrived. The only food available were a few pastries and a fancy cheese roll. It was very busy and seating was poor. We had to eat our breakfast perched on some really awkward stools on a hardly adequate counter in the window. The staff were friendly but that's the only good thing I could say about this place!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Headforthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhaven
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One of the best cups of coffee in Brighton”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

A great spot to catch your breath during a shopping trip in North Laine. I really enjoy the coffee here and the cakes are rather wonderful too!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShazinDenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“new venue @ 7 dials”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

small batch love spreads out to another venue....and it's as cool as jubilee st - a different buzz, but still the same excellent service and to-die-for coffees. all ethically sourced, wonderful..... thanks to all who make it possible :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Small Batch Coffee Company also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton and Hove, East Sussex
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Small Batch Coffee Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing