We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good pub nosh”
Review of The Lion & Lobster

The Lion & Lobster
Ranked #62 of 1,139 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good pub nosh”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Excellent servise, well cooked food, place was well deservedly bursting at the seams, but orders served promptly

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank malcr63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    260
    60
    36
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terrible service and we will never go back”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Used to be a good pub but now the bar service and security staff are grumpy, sullen and you wait ages to get served. I asked two different bar staff for a Cuba libre and when they looked at me like I was stupid I explained it was a rum and coke with like and they still couldn't get that right. Left us waiting ages so we left and went to the downstairs bar to try again. Later to be thrown out of the pub for apparently not paying for drinks. Spoke to the manager who was the most ignorant and stroppy of all and he wasn't interested and threw us out. Very frustrating to be thrown out because of his staffs and his own stupidity. Avoid this pub at all costs if you want a good night out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Danbuoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenacres,Fl
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Wonderful recommendation for pub lunch...”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My friend & I were in Brighton to see the mighty Status Quo at the Brighton Centre. We wanted a lunch nearby in an old, traditional pub. We were staying at the Holiday Inn and the Guest Services gal there suggested The Lion & Lobster. It's an old, but popular pub about a 6-7 minute walk from King's Road along the seafront. Friend Nick had the burger & fries & I had the Shepherd's Pie and both were excellent...atmosphere was busy, but in the back, it was nice & cozy. Very cool pub, Service was fine. Thumbs up!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank statusone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Hit and miss gastropub”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Atmospheric and busy (on a Tuesday night) pub on the border of Brighton and Hove, tucked away down a side street. Inside a warren of small bars, with a series of restaurant rooms upstairs.
Food was variable - good goats cheese starter, stodgy veggie wellington main course and very good chocolate torte dessert. A touch expensive and service was variable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Sunday Lunch booked in advance for 4 pm - arrived to be told that table was ready but only had until 6 pm then they "wanted the table back"? great way to start off Sunday lunch and to be made to feel really valued as customers (not). Order was wrong so off the waiter went - 1 hour later no food. All the staff chatting in the hallway - managed to eventually send one poor young girl to our table who asked to take our order?? told her we already had ordered. She went off - was sent back to apologise and take our order which turned up in 10 minutes; this was around 5.15 informed waitress we would not be rushed and if we took longer than 6 o'clock that was not our fault - manageress sent over - who insisted on having the table back (while we were eating) at 6 pm - offered us a round of drinks as apology. The food was cold, the vegetables were all mixed together and looked like baby food, the Yorkshire puddings were burnt the whole meal was disgusting. When I approached the manager? he really did not want to hear what I had to say because he seemed full of his own self importance; actually had to ask him to let me finish twice after which he said "well I was going to come over and offer you a free meal next time anyway and would not charge for the Sunday lunch" (which I had no intention of paying for anyway - even a dog would have turned its nose up).

So it seems that this place rides on its popularity and does not really care if they do not get the ordering right (proved by the waiter wandering around with another wrong order after ours!) being greedy and overstretching themselves at the expense of customers enjoyment and thinking that throwing (which they might as well do) a freebie at you makes it OK!??

We were in Brighton staying for the weekend and had chosen this place for a pre-Christmas lunch with family - that was ruined - and the day after - yes you guessed it - we all had stomach upsets thank you so much Lobster and Lion you ruined our weekend away and wasted our hard earned money.

My advice - there are much better places in Brighton to eat that don't have the reputation of this place - that are better decorated and cleaner and serve much better food with a warm and receptive manner - go there and don't waste your hard earned cash just because it is owned by an actor.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KentArchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lion & Lobster also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Lion & Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing