We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful break at Hotel du vin”
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed July 31, 2014

My hubbie and I have just had a 3 day break to Hotel du vin, Brighton.
The hotel was beautiful and in a great position. i cannot believe how helpful, friendly, professional and fantastic ALL the staff were. We had a complimentary glass of champagne for David's birthday and had to change rooms due to my claustrophobia. I think it was Simon who had to deal with me having a panic attack at reception - bless him. He was so patient and kind.
We look forward to visiting you all again in the very near future.
Keep up the good work
Love from
Samantha and David White Oswaldtwistle Lancashire.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 1,393 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed for one night and chose the upgrade option at check-in. This was available and we had the only room (as far as I can tell) of the sea which is fantastic with twin tubs and a telescope to check-out.... the sea.

We ate in the restaurant - a good meal - tad expensive though but it was late and not a lot of time to go venturing...

Service variable, but generally good (reception check-in v.good)

Great location and beats the chain hotels on the front any-day. Parking in the Lanes car-park or out front if you are incredibly lucky but only until 9am.

Advice: if you have chosen the upgrade-on-check-in, did you get it - we did, but were not told as we should have been? You might think you've got lucky, until payment...

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_Avios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We chose the Hotel Du Vin for our special weekend in Brighton because we had visited the cocktail bar on a previous visit and liked it so much we thought we'd like to sample what the hotel had to offer. We knew from the start that we wouldn't have a sea view (which we always usually insist on when staying anywhere) but our instinct told us it would be worth it, and it was. Our (superior) room was a little on the small side, with a very aggressive bed-leg which kept leaping out and banging my shin (!) but the rest of the room was good. An impressive collection of tea & tea-making facilities, with fresh milk in the minibar. The room also boasted an espresso coffee maker, complete with coffee supplies. Very nice. The bathroom was good and we had a huge shower, although I do wish modern designers would remember that a grab rail is vital for any shower - at least it is in my book. We had a sweet little outside terrace with table and chairs, although I hope the potted trees which are supposed to separate and shield the occupants from adjoining occupants, grow quickly so that they can do a better job. Again, aesthetically they are great but practically? . . . not so good. The view from the terrace was not great either, but we knew we wouldn't have a view, so can't complain about that. Another time I would book the sea view suite, although I do know that Brighton sea front gets very noisy on a Saturday night with all the hen parties and stag parties out for a good time.

Having said all that, any minor gripes about modern design versus practical application are knocked into a cocked hat by the absolutely astonishing good service we received. Every staff member we encountered was helpful beyond measure and anticipated our every need and requirement. Honestly, I can't remember every being so bowled over by the level of customer car which we received and actually turned our experience from "good" to "fabulous". The food was also excellent and the Sunday brunch is to die for.

Room Tip: Choose superior or a suite -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanna061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed in the Hotel du Vin in March for my partners birthday. I booked the deal on the Sunday which allowed us to pay £25 for the room if we spent £75 minimum at dinner, which is definitely worth it!

Upon arrival, we found out our room had been upgraded which made the stay even more special. The location of the hotel is unbeatable and you can get anywhere you would like, extremely quickly.

The cleanliness of the room was great and the open bath was definitely one of my favourite parts.

The food was exceptional for quality but not so much for price. I wouldn't have paid the prices they asked for if I had stayed outside of the deal. Albeit, the food was great.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preflux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

A rather beautiful building very near to the seafront, great design touches , and a wonderfull terrace to enjoy some al fresco refreshments, but beware!!! Our particular room was right next to some rather noisy machinery which meant that we could not sleep. Great shame as the room and bathroom were very comfortable and spacious. Also some rather aggressive security guards park up in the evenings, Im sure to keep guests safe in a somewhat 'boisterous' city, but they need to be more low key as they were not really a great 'front of House' attraction. A nights stay somewhat spoiled by these points, but some great customer service afterwards will not put us off coming again, if we could have a room away from the machinery that is!!!!

Room Tip: get a room in the main building if possible.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MartinandRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Hotel du Vin in Brighton is my new favourite hotel in Brighton.
Great location in Ship Street, close to beach, lots of great shops, all the bars & restaurants & nightclubs. The Lanes are just minutes away.
The hotel du Vin is full of character - from the outside it looks very olde worlds & gothic, although in fact it's not. We arrived early & our room was ready. I had requested an online upgrade but the Hotel was fully booked so we were just as happy with our Standard room overlooking the courtyard. The hotel & bar & courtyard were buzzing. The bar is unusual & full of character. Drinks are reasonably priced. The bistro menu looked good - we didn't eat here though as we had a restaurant booked (will do next time).
The room had a big comfy bed, big bathroom & overheard rainforest shower. iPod player, mini bar, iron, tea & coffee, hair dryer, safe, nespresso machine... It had everything - oh & free wifi.
No parking but there is parking in the Lanes carpark 2 minutes away.
I loved the character & the atmosphere in the hotel.
Will definitely stay here again. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank bl0ndie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had the room at the top of the top of the stairs to the terrace. The stay started well enough with great lunch on the terrace and some superb wines. The problems started when we tried to sleep. With the air condition turned off we were confronted with the unbelievably intrusive noise of an extraction unit outside our room. It was like trying to sleep next to a tumble drier. So loud I could hear it through my ear plugs. At 1 am I gave up trying to sleep and went down to reception to ask for a room change, being full we were stuck with the room. The hotel could do nothing about the extraction unit either. Wanting some sleep that night we decided to check out of the hotel and requested our £261 one nights stay to be credited back to our Amex card. While all this was done professionally and courteously I was continuously stared at by two menacing security guards with folded arms. Really? Was this necessary? When I pointed out how aggressive this was they went outside. The very minimum a hotel should deliver is a good nights sleep. A premium priced hotel should deliver so much more. I should not have to put up with no sleep. £140 taxi ride later and I was back in London in my own bed. A truly dreadful experience compounded by the lack of a call from hotel management today to apologise.

Hotel du Vin you wrecked what was supposed to be a romantic weekend break and instead delivered us one that has left us exhausted.

Great concept but one that is let down by very poor building infrastructure.

Avoid that room!

Room Tip: Do not stay in the room at the top of the stairs to the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank IBH48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,965 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,230 reviews
1.8 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#14 of 43 in Brighton
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Address: Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Brighton
#5 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $127 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Brighton is situated in the Lanes conservation area, a pebbles' throw from the seafront. Its 49 bedrooms are housed in a collection of eccentric Gothic revival and mock Tudor buildings erected, appropriately by a wine merchant on the site of an old inn. Among many interesting features are a heavily carved staircase and bizarre gargoyles, while the original double-height hall now houses the wine bar and Laroche tasting room. The perfect venue for a picturesque wedding or party is the impressively large and airy Dome room. For the best tankered of local ale, Pub du Vin is one of Brighton city center's treasures with its classic pub dining. Out with the Brighton hotel is the wonder and inspiring town itself, with quaint streets dotted with fabulous shops, and of course the famous pier and promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Brighton
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Du Vin Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing