We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jackie & Paul”
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Vin
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Jackie & Paul”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Love this chain have stayed at many, Brighton, Edinburgh, York, Cheltenham and every hotel is great the only thing is the beds are very uncomfortable my self and my husband both wake up with very bad back ache and the pillows are absolutely rubbish they need to address these problems, invest in better thicker pillows please.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    376
    194
    94
    46
See reviews for
151
725
33
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Lovely relaxed bar. Drink and food prices are a little pricey but the staff are great and very knowledgable about the drinks etc.

Hotel room we stayed in was fab but wasn't spotlessly clean like you'd expect.

Great place for special occasions or as a treat!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Having checked previous reviews I asked for a quiet room when booking. This appears to be a must with this hotel as the road can be noisy at night and we found the hotel bar to be rather lively one night.

You are unable to park outside as on the edge of the Lanes although there is a bay for a few cars to drop off bags etc outside. We therefore dropped luggage and parked in the nearby NCP car park. This is costly but the hotel does give you a discount voucher for it. This was straightforward and not a problem.

We stayed in the Torres room which is on the 3rd floor away from the front of the hotel and was quiet. It is accessed by lots of stairs and corridors. We did not see a lift at all within the hotel.

Our room was clean and nicely appointed. Breakfast was lovely

It was hard to fault this hotel. The staff were very professional and attentive. This is our new favourite hotel in Brighton and we will be back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend and we bought our dog (pet friendly). The staff were very friendly and helpful from the outset. The hotel is clean and modern and very comfortable. We had a deluxe room which had a lovely bath and huge walk in shower. If there is a drawback it would be that the heating/air conditioning didn't seem to work but this doesn't take away from the way we were treated and made to feel welcome by the staff. The hotel being pet friendly also added to the experience as it was clear that the dog was more than welcome at the hotel too!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Had to change first room as bed v badly made (duvet didn't cover bed), small bed and cramped room. For 170 pounds with no breakfast I expected better. They changed us to a junior suite - how does a room become a suite with not even an arm chair? Flies on windows sill, hairs on bed cushions, black scuff marks round bed. Milk for tea was off. Double shower which we tried for a laugh only worked on one side. Bar didn't serve any wine we wanted by the glass and no prosecco- was told rather condescendingly that a number of champagnes were available. "Madam" was asked if I had a preference for gin. When I asked for Gordons I was again told they didn't have it. Not sure who was more bored by now, us or the bar person so we went elsewhere plus felt very patronised and uncomfortable. Such a shame as our last stay had been much better. Not recommended.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JEBPDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I have stayed at several Hotel du Vin hotels before and despite them being relatively expensive, I have been very happy.

Consequently, having booked the best suite in Hotel du Vin Brighton for a couple of nights I had high but realistic expectations. The room was very nice, and the two baths in the room was a unique feature, however whilst described as 'sea view' it is in a side street and therefore the scope is very limited. Although they do (literally) provide you with a telescope. So, you need to be aware of that before you book expecting to enjoy sights of the rolling sea....

.....However, what 'really got my goat' was their failure to address the finer issues for a hotel charging around £330 a night for their suite and advertising itself as a 4* plus. I was astounded that I had to call the reception to ask for a refreshment of the room's toiletries on day two and also there were limited towels and no slippers etc (I actually don't really go for slippers - but if you are going to have a selling feature of bath tubs in the middle of the suite then it might be wise).

Parking is a pain and a hike - something I hate about hotels as a rule - as it is rarely advertised and often a significant additional expense. Expect to pay around £25 a day to the those robbers 'NCP' who are known for peddling the most expensive parking in the world...

Expectation may have been high, but in reality, whilst still a nice hotel, I was very disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James_4_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Had a very pleasant stay at the Hotel du Vin in Brighton. We opted for a Deluxe room which was light and airy, positioned at the front of the hotel with a partial sea view. The bathroom was huge with a large roll top bath and large walk in shower room .
Breakfast was a good mix of cereals, home made breads and pastries with delicious homemade granola, fresh juices etc. There was also a good choice of cooked items to choose from a menu.
We drank in the bar both nights we were there and were treated to good service with an excellent wine and drinks list as you would expect from the name of the hotel.
My only gripe was that the room was very noisy. We were in Rioja which shared a door with another room, this meant we were woken at 2:30am when our neighbour fumbled at the door. We were woken again at 4am when a row broke outside the fish and chip shop just under our window.
We will go back though but will ask for a room at the rear and forget the ‘partial sea view’.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.0 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
2,103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Property: Hotel du Vin
Address: Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Brighton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#5 Business Hotel in Brighton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Brighton is situated in the Lanes conservation area, a pebbles' throw from the seafront. Its 49 bedrooms are housed in a collection of eccentric Gothic revival and mock Tudor buildings erected, appropriately by a wine merchant on the site of an old inn. Among many interesting features are a heavily carved staircase and bizarre gargoyles, while the original double-height hall now houses the wine bar and Laroche tasting room. The perfect venue for a picturesque wedding or party is the impressively large and airy Dome room. For the best tankered of local ale, Pub du Vin is one of Brighton city center's treasures with its classic pub dining. Out with the Brighton hotel is the wonder and inspiring town itself, with quaint streets dotted with fabulous shops, and of course the famous pier and promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Brighton
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Du Vin Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing