We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing to feel cared about!”
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Have just returned from a night at this hotel, together with my son and his wife. My husband was unwell on arrival at noon, (check-in is from 3pm) and just wanted to sit down and watch the TV while we went looking around The Lanes. A young lady on reception went out of her way to find a public room which wasn't being used and where he could sit quietly and watch TV. When we returned at 2pm and asked if either room would possibly be ready the same lady checked and found out that ours was, a young man then said he would go and find my husband and take him and the bags to the room. By the time I got to my husband the young man had appeared and was true to his word. Everything has been said before about how nice the rooms are (although a mirror to do your make-up/shave in our room, Swiss Wine, would be appreciated!) - and they do vary in size - ours was generous and had a side sea view if you looked, but my son's, Torres, was smaller with a view over roof tops, dinner was good, breakfast excellent - the best breakfast we have had anywhere. In fact we have stayed previously at another hotel in Brighton and came here specially for the fantastic breakfast, so we knew it was good. My son could not decide what to have and the waitress kindly agreed to allow him to have a piece of French toast as well as his Eggs Benedict - I realised afterwards I had been charged £16.95, the cost of a cooked breakfast, for this - however it was refunded when I pointed out that had I been made aware of this he would not have had it! It was nice to feel cared about by the front of house staff who are exemplary and also by the lady who dealt with my email about the breakfast charge when I got home. Thank you to those involved, you are a credit to Hotel du Vin.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warmheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

919 - 925 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Checked in on Sunday with my boyfriend and dog. Greeted very warmly by the chap on reception he explained in detail where we could park and showed us to our room 'Hammerpot'. I loved the fact that the rooms are named not numbered and we were given a key not some silly card which never works! Room was clean, bathroom impressive and catered for our spaniel with a bowl and bed- bonus!
We set off for a wander round Brighton, the hotel is in such a fab location so we could find the 'Laines' and sea at ease. After a few drinks on the beach and a potter around the beautiful shops we headed back to the hotel and ate in nearby 'Pub du Vin' which was fab!
I'm really surprised that some reviews are so negative particularly about the staff. Every member of staff were so pleasant and welcoming.
Recommend this hotel for the location, staff, room and food, also the way they treated our little cocker spaniel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twig_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

About 15 minutes walk from the train station, easy to find and right next to the beach and the lanes (shopping), this hotel is perfectly located for a tourist visit. The Pavillion is only a 5mins walk away. However, the hotel feels a little dated, the Superior room on the small side, and if you book bed and breakfast, it only includes continental without this being made clear (we only found out at check out when we noticed a £5 charge for a cooked dish).

Staff were friendly, but having stayed in many hotels, big and small, this place did not quite live up to our expectations (this is our first HDV stay) and we feel it is slightly overpriced for what you get (probably paying for the brand rather than the actual amenities).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arracka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have stayed in Hotel du Vin's multiple times, but our experience this time was awful. The short version is the staff were all very young, laid back, and seemed not to care. The property is nice and the rooms although on the small side are very well appointed.

We were staying at the hotel for a wedding on a Saturday. We arrived on the Friday afternoon and found it very hard to park outside due to the limited drop off area (the hotel has no carpark). Once we got inside the hotel we were made to wait to check in as they only had one member of staff on reception. After getting to our room we went down-stairs to the bar for some food. The service was pretty poor from a generally disinterested guy who was more interested in chatting to other members of staff than from taking our order. The next meal we ate in the hotel was breakfast - once I managed to order it took over 30 mins for the meal to come and again the general level of service was poor. The wedding was well organised and the staff working the event were brilliant, however the next day over 8 guests had food poisoning (including the bride). I told the lady on reception that I had been sick throughout the night and she said that she had heard of 6 other rooms checking out that also had been sick. The manager turned up and told me I HAD TO FILL IN A 12 PAGE FORM! I told him I did not have to fill in anything, but would be writing to their head office the next day. He brought me the form anyway, which turned out to be 3 pages and only about 6 questions and I have yet to hear back from them. Not once did I receive an apology or an offer of a refund. It also turns out that I overpaid for my room as all the wedding guests had been given a group rate which had not been applied to my room. It is no wonder that the company that owns Hotel du Vin have gone into administration.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomTom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have stayed in Hotel du Vin, Brighton several times now and it is always a joy.
We were well looked after by the staff, professional, respectful, friendly and efficient especially Yukari who sorted out my on line booking problem (totally my fault) without any issues at all. Many thanks for that.
Rooms are beautifully appointed and very well decorated. Bar is brilliant and the refurbishment of this old building has been done really well
Go and enjoy this place as we do. Will never stay in another hotel in Brighton again: has to be Hotel du Vin every time

Room Tip: All good but if you have the suites which are alot more money you will love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

On a sweltering hot July day and after a long train journey I was very happy to arrive at the hotel and be shown to my lovely room. The air conditioning had been put on before my arrival which was most welcome. Fantastic bathroom - free standing bath, rainforest shower. Coffee machine. Helpful staff. I'm going to move in when I"m old! Even had peanut butter at breakfast. Great nights sleep unlike my poor colleagues who sweltered in the Ship Hotel next door. Oh and dinner was good as well.

I've found it quite difficult to get good 'business travel' hotels in Brighton. Not any more

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank NorfolkDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A very good example of the du vins, I have also stayed at Newcastle, Winchester and Birmingham and visited others in the chain- this was the best for service.
All of the staff were friendly, helpful and seemed pleased to serve their customers.
Hotel is in a great location, moments from the seafront and town.
The 'pub' du vin is a good choice for a casual relaxing meal and the waitress we had (im afraid I didnt catch her name but she was from Latvia) was superb. Food is simple but tasty and good value.
Room comfortable and modern, decor simple and tasteful.
No parking but there is an NCP 5 minutes away that is secure and you get a discount card when you check out of the hotel.
I would stay here again if visiting Brighton.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HonestMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,244 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,250 reviews
1.8 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#14 of 43 in Brighton
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.4 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Address: Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#5 Business Hotel in Brighton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $132 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Brighton is situated in the Lanes conservation area, a pebbles' throw from the seafront. Its 49 bedrooms are housed in a collection of eccentric Gothic revival and mock Tudor buildings erected, appropriately by a wine merchant on the site of an old inn. Among many interesting features are a heavily carved staircase and bizarre gargoyles, while the original double-height hall now houses the wine bar and Laroche tasting room. The perfect venue for a picturesque wedding or party is the impressively large and airy Dome room. For the best tankered of local ale, Pub du Vin is one of Brighton city center's treasures with its classic pub dining. Out with the Brighton hotel is the wonder and inspiring town itself, with quaint streets dotted with fabulous shops, and of course the famous pier and promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Brighton
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Du Vin Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing