We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Attended a wedding here and wow this place was amazing. The room was fantastic and location perfect. Two minute walk from beach and sea front. The room I stayed in had a beachy theme and a great coffee making machine, huge shower and was spacious. The place is on the pricey side but what do you expect for Brighton and the quality. Did not have dinner as attending wedding but breakfast was good. Only downside was that the corridors to rooms very confusing and did get lost on a number of occasions.

Room Tip: Try and hunt for deals as rooms quite pricey. I got my room cheaper via another website and got it c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,105 - 1,111 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2012

Arrived and were booked into a different room to the one we were expecting. No problem really.
Second night we were booked into the Cristal room - probably one of the best rooms we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jizo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Booked on the sleep & spend minimum in bistro deal, which made the room fair value for a couple with 1 child. Room was nice size and bathroom top quality (roll-top bath and walk in shower). Some details like chipped tables, cheap wardrobes need addressing. I'm a big wine lover and have eaten at HdV since they opened up. Food is reliable if unexciting. But it's a real pity they still dont really encourage diners to order quality wine because they overprice their list like any other restaurant. In the end we stuck to the basic house brands. Would be much more likely to stay & dine with them if they changed their pricing policy. And, although not their fault, Ship Street does get noisy with late night revellers so get a room away from the street if possible. Staff enthusuastic & helpful. (also ate at Pub du Vin next door - beer good, food disapponting and overpriced)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sean l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My partner and I celebrated my 40th birthday here and had great evening meal. The staff genuinely try to to give the diners a good service.

Our only issues were being rushed to order an aperitif when we arrived and the shocking price of the wine which really is over priced.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spainagain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My wife and I visited this hotel on 1st & 2nd June 2012 and were thoroughly impressed with the standard of the hotel and the staff. The room was very comfortable and luxurious with a great bathroom and very nice bed. The food was excellent and there is great courtyard too.

The staff were very helpful and certainly added to the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flanntronix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Lovely Boutique hotel, staff are friendly and the hotel is very clean. rooms are very comfortable, the bathroom was grand with lovely fresh fluffy towels. Tea and coffee making facilities and dressing gowns in the cupboard. Only downfull was their was no onsite parking but overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: no tip all the rooms are lovely and uniquely different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanneb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Lovely relaxing hotel just off the lanes in Brighton. Lovely bar to relax in without a yob element. Stunning rooms, ours had an upstairs in which the roll top bath and huge walk in shower were located, with underfloor heating. A really lovely romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah72Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,085 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,237 reviews
1.8 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#14 of 43 in Brighton
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.5 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 43 in Brighton
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Address: Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#5 Business Hotel in Brighton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $129 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Brighton is situated in the Lanes conservation area, a pebbles' throw from the seafront. Its 49 bedrooms are housed in a collection of eccentric Gothic revival and mock Tudor buildings erected, appropriately by a wine merchant on the site of an old inn. Among many interesting features are a heavily carved staircase and bizarre gargoyles, while the original double-height hall now houses the wine bar and Laroche tasting room. The perfect venue for a picturesque wedding or party is the impressively large and airy Dome room. For the best tankered of local ale, Pub du Vin is one of Brighton city center's treasures with its classic pub dining. Out with the Brighton hotel is the wonder and inspiring town itself, with quaint streets dotted with fabulous shops, and of course the famous pier and promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Brighton
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Du Vin Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing