We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Fantastic!”

The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar
Ranked #35 of 1,154 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $8
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: We are back & going strong already , with reviews flowing. Its the 2017 season & we have added a new product again this year. Come on down to try our excellent fresh filled bread rolls. Favourites, yes we have 2 already: Fresh local lobster with mayo, gherkin with a dusting of cayenne pepper, WOW. Our very own Crab mayo bread roll & a fresh prawn topping is also at the top of the charts. We have also added more tables on the beach. Come on down , grab yourself some delicious shellfish & relax overlooking the big blue sea...
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Fantastic!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My mum and I always go here every time she comes to visit. The oysters are just delicious and the owners are always so friendly. Only place I'll go to for my seafood fix!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZColeman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
A great review . Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again very soon
Regards
Cliff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    47
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must!!!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We visited here a couple of weeks ago. The oysters were amazing, as were the mussels & Old Leigh cockles. Plenty of choices of sauces too, including homemade ones.
Our only disappointment was that when we called again the next day, the amazing oysters had all sold out!. Oh well there's always the next time we visit Brighton.
Very friendly people. We will be back soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruralretreat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for a very welcome review. I am sorry we sold out and had to let you down. We only have Colchester wild oysters, so there is a constant demand for them.i am glad you enjoyed your visit to us and look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Regards
Cliff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“*****Always a pleasure to visit ******”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

The sunny weather took us to a trip along Brighton Seafront and of course we couldn't walk passed our favourite shellfish bar.
As always the whelks were fresh & tasty and my hubby had Oysters with lime & chilli that went down well.
Such friendly owners they always brighten our day we were also told that all the sauces were homemade.
Congratulations on your stylish refurb ******

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Always good to hear from the regulars when you reopen in a new year . This year we opened with a great new image and a total refit. I am glad to see it was noticed, everything is so white and clean. It will make it even better to work in.
Let's hear. From more regulars. Let's hear your views
cliff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best seafood stand in Brighton. ”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We look forward to our weekly visits to the seafood stand through the summer. Cockles are fresh and not gritty, crayfish tails and muscles big and juicy! All good value and served with a smile. The only
Thing I would suggest is a loyalty card scheme like a lot of Brighton places are starting to offer for the regulars!

Helpful?
Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindajean1957, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Many thanks for a great review. I love them. Please come & see us soon. We reopen this coming Saturday, 22 Feb, 2014. We have had a total refit & I will blow my own trumpet & say it looks fantastic. We are going to try something new this year if all goes to plan. Fresh Prawn pate. Keep visiting & please make yourself known
Regards
Cliff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great lobster but seafood in a jar a disappointment”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Visited in July good lobster and ok for value for money, the only let down was that they were selling there seafood mix our of a jar!! Which brought a bit if a downer on the place. I did have fresh cockles though and thy were average, great selection of vinegars

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lake2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
SEAFOOD IN A JAR, sorry not us. We make our seafood mix every day. Please get your facts right. WE DO NOT OFFER SEAFOOD SALAD FROM A JAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar also viewed

 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing