We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best shellfish bar in Brighton....by a mile!!!!!”

The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar
Ranked #23 of 1,209 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $8
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Happy New Year. Yes we are back from our winter break. We will reopen on the 10th. February at 11am. We look forward to seeing all our old customers & also , we hope lots of new customers… Check out our website for daily opening times, as until Easter we open usually just the weekends due to the weather still being a little cold. Linda & I are delicate souls & hate getting cold...
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Amazing Place, Amazing fresh shellfish and lovely staff :) would recommend to anyone visiting Brighton!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Siobhan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrightonShellfish, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

We love our staff and our customers . Thank you for your review
Regards
Cliff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 217 of 277 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

The best oysters I've ever eaten - lovely homemade sauces (try the lime and chilli!) and very friendly owners who gave us tips about where to go in Brighton. A must-visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rosie_tabitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrightonShellfish, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

I love great reviews, thank you very much. I do hope we see you again very soon. Please let your friends know about us.
Regards Cliff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This seafood bar is in a perfect location right on the seafront. Furthermore it has a great selection of fresh seafood. When choosing our food we were greeted by a friendly lady who was on hand to answer any questions we had. After opting for the seafood salad and lobster tails we were informed about the table on the left which had a great variety if homemade dressings and vinegar which we were free to choose from and dress how we like. Both the lobster tail and seafood salad were delicious and tasted grit free. I would happily recommend this olace to anyone looking for a traditional quick snack.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LucienBonfante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrightonShellfish, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for a great review. We love them and strive continuously to maintain our very high standards.
Thanks again cliff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

sitting on the beach eating a lobster tail
meaty and lovely with a huge choice of dips and sauces wow

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trotterbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffbrighton, Manager at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Love your review . Thank you for taking the time & for your recent visit
Regards Cliff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Does what it says on the tin. Good quality, fresh seafood see ed in polystyrene pots to take away. Limited selection of white bread rolls, so best bring your own. Slightly disturbing that the fresh mayo etc are left outside to ferment in the sun rather than in a fridge but we had no adverse effects

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank scarytigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrightonShellfish, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for your review, they are always most appreciated. I will draw your attention the bread rolls. These are offered only as an addition to our overseas customers as we don't usually have bread at all, so yes you are right there is not much variety. At the same time being a shellfish bar our space is very limited.
As for the mayonnaise, you are quite right it is not displayed refrigerated & you will notice neither are the other 16 dressings we offer. However they are changed very regularly & the replacements come from a refrigerated cabinet . On a busy day we serve many 100's of customers so our dressings don't really get time to get stale or warm.
I hope this alleviates your concerns & many thanks again for your review

Regards Cliff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar also viewed

 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing