We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills. Cheap, fresh takeaway fresh shellfish”

The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar
Ranked #23 of 1,209 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $9
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Happy New Year. Yes we are back from our winter break. We will reopen on the 10th. February at 11am. We look forward to seeing all our old customers & also , we hope lots of new customers… Check out our website for daily opening times, as until Easter we open usually just the weekends due to the weather still being a little cold. Linda & I are delicate souls & hate getting cold...
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Does what it says on the tin. Good quality, fresh seafood see ed in polystyrene pots to take away. Limited selection of white bread rolls, so best bring your own. Slightly disturbing that the fresh mayo etc are left outside to ferment in the sun rather than in a fridge but we had no adverse effects

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank scarytigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrightonShellfish, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for your review, they are always most appreciated. I will draw your attention the bread rolls. These are offered only as an addition to our overseas customers as we don't usually have bread at all, so yes you are right there is not much variety. At the same time being a shellfish bar our space is very limited.
As for the mayonnaise, you are quite right it is not displayed refrigerated & you will notice neither are the other 16 dressings we offer. However they are changed very regularly & the replacements come from a refrigerated cabinet . On a busy day we serve many 100's of customers so our dressings don't really get time to get stale or warm.
I hope this alleviates your concerns & many thanks again for your review

Regards Cliff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 220 of 276 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

The seafood I bought here was some of the best I have ever had in the uk. Rollmops and chilli prawns were particularly good. Service was friendly with a smile. Prices were very reasonable too. Definitely recommend

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Many thank s for our review. it is nice to know we are getting it right. We will strive to continue to keep everything just right.
Thanks again
Cliff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic choice of fish available.

You can't beat it!!!!

So clean and very friendly, can't wait to go back again.

See you next year xx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Debbyb70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

I love getting reviews. it keeps us on our toes , whether is a great one like yours or a very slightly critical one. Thank fully I haven't got one of those. I am please you enjoyed your experience with us & look forward to meeting you again.
Regards
Cliff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Our only regret is not grabbing some fresh bread before the visit. We had a lobster tail (surprisingly rich) and a large homemade prawn and crab mix. We loved both but the mix definitely warranted more than the two crackers it came with. Ace location though - after purchase we ate on the beach!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GeorgeLH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thank you for your review. We like good reviews. As far as the melba toast go. Please if you want more , just ask. we will be please to accommodate you.
Hope to see you again soon
Best regards Cliff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

the seafood is fantastic we are over from perth western australia on holliday and we love our fresh seafood make sure you visit this one for the best takeaway seafood just along from brighton pier the staff are very friendly athe outlet is very clean and tidy and there is a good selection of sauces and the selection of seafood including chilli prawns are awsome well done 10/10

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank australian_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindajean1957, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Many thanks for a great review. We thrive on great reviews here on the beach. I am so pleased that you took the time to rate us . I hope you also enjoyed your time in Brighton.
Regards Cliff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar also viewed

 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing