We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOO EXPENSIVE, AIRCON CRAP, BREAKFAST TOO EXPENSIVE, TV TOO SMALL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Nothing else to say realy Title says it all, not happy

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevewba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel.

At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing. Your experience was far below our usual high standards, but please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,205 - 2,211 of 2,647 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

I have always been a bit snobbish about chains like Travelodge and Premier Inn - despite Lenny Henry! but I was so nicely surprised by my recent experience at the Premier Inn in Brighton I can't rest until I have expressed my pleasant surprise when I stayed there recently. The room was light, clean and quite spacious. The staff were friendly and helpful and they were very understanding when I explained that all I wanted in the morning was a cappucino and an orange juice. They showed the sort of flexibility we could do with more often!

We have not enjoyed good experiences staying in Brighton hotels in the past but if I ever have the need to stay again I shall definitely go back the PI. Such good value!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FAE357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy W, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

It's great to hear that we've changed your mind about Premier Inn - I'm glad we've lived up to Lenny's word.
We do try to be flexible to meet all of our guests needs, and I'm glad we could help with your breakfast request!
I'm glad you would choose to stay with us again, see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night, booking 6 rooms for a hen weekend.
Rooms were immaculate, staff very helpful and pleasant, especially the barman who kindly served us until 2a.m!
Parking at the nearby NCP Theatre Car Park was discounted by the hotel and very good value at £23 for over 24 hours.
We even had a sea view!!
Ideal stay for reasonable price in Brighton as close to all shops, bars & clubs but still quiet inside.

Room Tip: lift only up to 6th floor so don't accept 7th floor if you will struggle to carry up your luggag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happydays29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy W, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

I'm glad you and your party enjoyed your stay with us. Our location makes us a great place to stay for hen/stag parties, birthdays, and any other reason to celebrate!
I hope you choose us again for the next party!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a weekend as a reasonable break from day to day life. It is smack bang in the middle of Brighton near the shops and seafront. The room was spacious, modern and very clean. The bed linen is really good quality and snuggly. The staff are absolutely delightful. They respond rapidly to any questions you have. The breakfast is really good value. It is ideal for families as there are no things to concern you if your children are wandering around. It has good security for the family room section in that you need your key to access the corridor as well as your room. We have decided that we would go there whenever we need to get away.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank basketSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy W, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Thanks for your nice review!
I'm glad you've decided you would stay with us next time you visit Brighton.
Look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We chose Premier Inn because of the excellent location in the centre of Brighton, the reasonable price, and because we had stayed at the flag-ship Premier at Heathrow and found it to be very good indeed. We stayed four nights in Brighton but unfortunately we were not nearly so happy with the Brighton hotel for the following reasons: The mattress on our bed was horrendously uncomfortable with a large, sagging dip at the head end. We had a very bad night's sleep! The next morning we discussed this problem with one of the staff at the front desk who told us that he would speak with Housekeeping and that either the mattress would be changed that day for a new one (apparently our room still had one of the "old" ones) or that it would, at least, be turned. However, when we returned that evening it soon became clear that neither of these things had happened and we spent a second very uncomfortable night. The consequence of this was that during the first two days I suffered from back pain. The next morning we returned to the front desk immediately to report the problem again and this time we believe the mattress was turned that day as it had improved, though it still wasn't perfect, and we slept better for the remaining two nights of our stay. The other really irritating and inconvenient aspect of our stay was that our room key cards became faulty every day, and sometimes twice a day, meaning that as we couldn't get into our rooms we had to return to the front desk each time to get this resolved. We were always given the excuse that this was to do with "keeping them next to mobile phones or credit cards" which really annoyed us as this was plainly absolute rubbish. Firstly, two members of our group have no mobiles and no credit cards and they had the same problem with their key cards. We have stayed in many, many hotels worldwide, often for a week or more, and have never experienced this problem before, no matter where we kept the key cards or how long we stayed. It was a ridiculous excuse to give. We suspect that Premier re-use the key cards many times whereas most hotels we have stayed in provide new ones for each guest. Other lesser niggles were that on some days our rooms were not serviced until late in the afternoon and the lifts are not nearly adequate for the number of guests. There were some good points however. The location is unbeatable - easy walking to the station, the Lanes, the North Laines, Kemp Town, the pier. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the rooms were spotless and, apart from the dreadful mattress, comfortable and of a good size. I emailed the day before arrival (as I couldn't get through by phone) to ask for quiet rooms, and got a swift email back and we did indeed get quiet rooms. I didn't eat at the hotel but some of our group did have breakfast there and gave it an average of 3.5 out of 5. (Not a lot of choice, cooked food a little greasy, but good value). We have another booking at a different Premier Inn next month and hope that our experience will be better. I do think Premier are good in many ways but this particularly stay was a disappointment. I'm giving it a 2 out of 5 because of our problems.

Room Tip: ask for one of their "quiet rooms"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank has2bperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Thank you for your review.

It really matters to us that our guest have a comfortable nights sleep, and we do guarantee this. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high level of service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Your comments will be duly followed up and investigated by Premier Inn regarding the incorrect room descriptions on booking.com.

Once again thank you for your review; we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Having been part of a party of 12 whose rooms were booked in January 12 I was upset to find we had all 6 rooms in separate parts of the hotel. 2 rooms on the 2nd floor, 2 rooms of the 4th floor & 2 on the 5th floor. When I arrived at 12.30 with 3 other member of my party we were advised at the desk by Ace all our rooms had been allocated and we were unable to take our luggage to these rooms as some were still being cleaned. We were advised to come back no earlier than 2.30pm. On our return Ace was no longer on duty and we were advised by the female duty officer where all our rooms were allocated. Having complained we were offered for our rooms to be cancelled and shocked to be told we could find a hotel elsewhere! As your hotel was fully booked where could we find another hotel for 12 adults on a bank holiday weekend at short notice? We were also only given 1 key card. Our room had one double bed and one singe when all the rooms were booked at twin rooms only. 2 of our guests had they adjoining room left open leaving them concerned with sleeping. Another room was next to the main corridor and it felt as if someone was trying to open their door throughout the night. We understand from asking other parties they were all put together however we were misinformed when we first arrived. Surely our rooms should have been put together as Ace informed us they were?

Room Tip: Sleep opposite the rooms facing Barclays bank
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 58clover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed here for one night in May. Good location. Room was spotless. Although we were in a room overlooking the high street it was very quiet and I got a peaceful nights sleep. The toiletries in the bathroom were a bit basic and amounted to wall mounted dispensers but considering the price it was good value for money. I included breakfast in the package and this was also plentyfull with very good service from all the dining staff. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy W, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

I'm really glad you had a good night's sleep and found the room to be spotless. I'm glad you would stay with us again and hope you do soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,096 reviews
0.4 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
853 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel

Address: 144 North Street, Brighton BN1 1RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brighton
#2 Business Hotel in Brighton
#3 Best Value Hotel in Brighton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $67 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're rarely more than 10 minutes from the action when you stay at the Premier Inn Hotel Brighton City Centre. From the lavish Royal Pavilion and buzzing Pier, to the lively lanes and brilliant boutiques, discover this seaside city's many surprises right on your doorstep. And there's plenty more to see if you've got a little extra time. People-watch on the legendary beach, dive into the Sea Life Centre or try your luck at the races. Then when it's time to wind down, enjoy our tasty Thyme restaurant, spacious rooms and comfy beds. Important info Bedrooms are insulated to minimise possible noise disturbance in this major city centre location. Car parking is available a short distance from this Premier Inn - for which an additional fee will be charged. Please note, the disabled rooms at this hotel have baths only. No wet rooms available. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. Directions: Directions to hotel front - From A23, follow signs to City Centre. Turn right (filter lane) at lights before The Royal Pavilion onto Church St. Take 1st available left onto Portland St. Continue to end of the road then turn left again. Hotel entrance will be on your left. (sat nav BN1 1RE) Directions to RCP Car Park - From A23, turn right onto North Rd. Continue along North Rd until you reach RCP Parking on your left. Discounted rate of 10 GBP per 24 hours is available to hotel guests - please validate your token at reception. This car park is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. (max height 6ft). Car park sat nav BN1 1YR Transport and local information: Brighton Centre Concerts & Conferences The Lanes Shopping Royal Brighton Pavilion Historic Site Brighton Train Station 0.25 mile ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel Brighton
Brighton Premier Inn
Brighton Inn Premier Travel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing