We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel”
Review of Red Brighton Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Brighton Blue
Ranked #2 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed March 2, 2010

I stayed here last weekend in the Alpine Room - very nicely decorated. The hotel is comfortable and the owners very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was lovely and very prompt as I was in a hurry. The noise on the street outside my room, which was at the front of the hotel, was a bit of a problem as there are quite a few b&bs on this road and obviously revellers returning late make a racket - perhaps some triple glazing might do the trick. Other than that - a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maggieobrien49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenPhill, Co owner at Red Brighton Blue, responded to this review, March 3, 2010
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. However, we are sorry that you seem to have been unaware of the Everest secondary double glazing in that room which will elimated 99% of street noise if closed correctly. It really does work - how do we know? We sleep at the front of the hotel and have the same system - we didn't hear a thing that Saturday night!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,310
    62
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
179
698
148
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

If only you could guarantee that the reality matched the product promised on the internet....

When booking Brighton Pavilions, I thought that if it was at least comfortable and quiet, It would have been good value.

It was a real pleasure to find that that was just the starting point and to find the place run with real care and warmth. The decor is well conceived and executed. The fabrics are heavy and excellent quality, the 4-poster bed was heavy and solid, not some cheap gimmick frame, the fireplace was marble, not some faux paint effect, there were fresh cut flowers in the room, the service was helpful, warm and unobtrusive and everything was immaculately clean.

In addition, the bed itself was very comfortable with lovely feather pillows and the full breakfasts we ordered were promptly delivered to the room and were very good indeed.

We are uber mega picky people and can be a pain in the rear. We are also dreadful snobs and have not stayed in a B&B for a very long time. Suffice to say, reading the above, we will definitely return here with pleasure. Well done Guys!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deano44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

We were offered a warm welcome as we arrived, or bags were carried to our rooms and we were provided with a parking permit (pre-purchased) and clear advice as to where to park.

The gentlemen running this establsihment are warm and welcoming. The B and B is absolutely immaculate and exquisitely decorated.

Rooms were cleaned and refreshments replensihed on a daily basis and breakfast was cooked to order, with offers of extra coffee juice etc.

The b and b is within walking distance of the Pvillion, many of the clubs and bars and the sea front.

We had a fantastic stay and we will definitely be returning to this b and b, it offers excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fairy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

A wonderfully well appointed hotel - very tastefully decorated.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PinkCortina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We were greeted in a very friendly and helpful manner, given guides to the city and advice of where to go to do whatever we fancied, which made us feel right at home. It was exceptionally clean and tidy which we appreciated and considering the central location and high standard of the room it seemed like good value for money.

The girlfriend was very happy with her birthday weekend, so we would definitely come back to try another themed room next time. Our only regret was not booking time off work to stay another day!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTayjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

My boyfriend and I were very happy with our stay here. From the moment we arrrived we were made to feel very welcome. Our room was gorgeous. It was themed as the titanic and had a very comfortable 4 poster bed. We both slept amazingly well. Breakfast was delicious and our hosts could be more helpful. We were given good advice about good eating places and sights to see.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shona11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Even though the hotel was full on the second night - we hardly heard anyone else. This is an ideal place to spend a quiet romantic weekend. The owners recommend some restaurants in their room information, one of which we tried and that was excellent too. We hope to come back and would recommend the Brighton Pavillions to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rascalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,034 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.0 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
0.2 mi away
No. 27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Brighton Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Brighton Blue

Property: Red Brighton Blue
Address: 7 Charlotte Street, Brighton BN2 1AG, England (Formerly Brighton Pavilions)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Brighton Blue 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Brighton Blue is a newly refurbished 11 bedroom boutique guest house, just off the sea front in Brighton. The historic property has been a guest house for over 50 years and the new owners Peter Howey and Steve Courtney, who took over in August 2014, have undergone a thorough renovation to create an ideal choice of place to stay for visitors to Brighton. • IDEAL LOCATION - set on a quiet side street leading onto the sea front in the bohemian Kemptown area of central Brighton - guests can get sea views and a peaceful night's sleep whilst are just 2 minutes walk away from bars & restaurants nightlight and less than 10 minutes walk to the Pier, Royal Pavilion and city centre. • HISTORIC, CHARACTERFUL GEORGIAN TOWNHOUSE BUILDING - set over 5 floors, with well proportioned rooms, large windows and many original features such as covings, skirtings & fireplaces, plus a large entrance hallway and elegant staircase giving more of a grand hotel feel • 11 LUXURY BEDROOMS ALL WITH ENSUITES INCLUDING KINGS, DOUBLES AND SINGLES - now all newly refurbished and maintained to the highest standards, all with luxury modern ensuite showerrooms, the latest entertainment technology including internet connected smart TVs with catchup, with screen mirroring for your own content, free access to our DVD movie library and fibre-optic broadband wifi in all rooms. Every room is tastefully decorated and luxuriously furnished throughout. • COURTYARD GARDEN - guests have 24 hour access to our small but beautiful courtyard garden, a relaxing oasis of lush green planting, flowers, cool calming water features and plenty of space to sit, chat & enjoy with friends. It's even gently illuminated at night. • BEST BED AND BEST BREAKFAST - we believe in doing the basics really well, so in addition to our luxurious beds, pillows & duvets, we aim to offer one of the best breakfasts in Brighton too. Everything is freshly cooked to order, using the very best ingredients, locally sourced where possible, imaginatively combined into a wide range of delicious breakfast dishes, and designed to complement our breakfast buffet of fresh fruit, cereals, granola, yoghurt & freshly baked pastries, all served in our elegant dining room. • A MODERN HOTEL WITH A TRULY FRIENDLY, PERSONAL SERVICE - we aim to offer everything you expect from a good, modern, professional hotel, plus the added benefit of genuinely friendly owner managers, Peter and Steve, on hand to offer any assistance, advice or personal service that may enhance your stay in Brighton. From help with parking, restaurant recommendations & reservations, ideas for things to see & do, to just having a coffee and a chat. We love living in Brighton and having guests to our home, and want guests to love being here, have a memorable stay, recommend us to their friends and to come back time & time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, HRS, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Red Brighton Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Pavilions Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing