We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend retreat”
Review of Red Brighton Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Brighton Blue
Ranked #2 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This high end B&B easily competes with several hotels we have stayed in worldwide on location, room facilities, cleanliness and service. We were warmly welcomed and taken to the well-appointed top floor room in this charmingly decorated townhouse.

In room facilities were great and breakfast was lovely. We appreciated the DVD library to wait out the typical bank holiday downpour and our gift of chocolate eggs for easter was a thoughtful gesture by our hosts, thank you! We ate at two of the recommended restaurants nearby and both were great.

While only a short walk away from the pier fun and frolics it was nice to stay in this quieter and more authentic part of town. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,608)
There are newer reviews for Red Brighton Blue
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

990 - 996 of 1,608 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was our first visit to Brighton and we would love to come back and stay at the Brighton Pavillions! Excellent accommodation (bathroom a little small but I guess that goes with a period property with gorgeous features!), very thoughtful hosts :) and scrumptious breakfasts! Great location to explore Beautiful Brighton from. Thank you Ken and Phill, hope to see you soon! xx

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Funters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Beautiful old house, gorgeously decorated. We felt very welcomed by both owners and staff who were very helpful. The room was beautifully decorated and had everything you need, despite its bijou size (Mikado). We loved the rooftop view& the mini workout we got going up the stairs made us feel virtuous! Good breakfast too.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saracat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I had a wonderful week at this lovely place, I did sleep well, and breakfast was excellent. The hosts made it very easy for me to feel at home. Furnishing and everything hast very much style, so I could feel a little like a princess :-)
No question, I will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yv0nne124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I felt immediately at home in this lovely B and B by the sea! The owners are incredibly friendly and ensure you feel at home! The decor is very reminiscent of the Royal Pavillion and is full of beautiful pictures and paintings. I loved the themed room experience which added to the charm of this beautiful place! And the cooked breakfast was out of this world in the Titanic themed breakfast bar, what else do you need on a visit to Brighton!
Thanks for looking after me so well, and will definately return there when I go back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumatra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We were in Brighton for the marathon weekend in April '14. We needed somewhere to stay as a base for tired legs before, during and after the marathon. We initially booked Brighton Pavilions due to a combination of most other hotels being fully booked and the reviews we found online were very complimentary...we weren't disappointed!

We arrived a little later than planned due to the bad traffic heading in to Brighton. A quick call to the Brighton Pavilions and we were told it was no problem and, once we'd parked up at a friends spare parking space in town, we made our way down. It's very easy to find, Charlotte St is just off the seafront and it's a short walk from the hustle and bustle that is Brighton, close enough to walk to but far enough away to not have all the noise and disruption. Perfect.

We received a warm welcome from the owner. Being a B&B we were never under the impression that we were getting a room the size of a flat, that said, there was ample space and you have everything you need and more besides in your room. We were booked in and shown to our room in no time at all. The decor of the place is of a very high quality. The idea of themed rooms can sometimes backfire if they're not done properly but in this case it works very well, we only needed a base for somewhere to stay for the marathon but with the themed rooms and the amazing decor of the entire place we felt we were staying somewhere special rather than *just* a B&B.

One of the owners showed us to our room and explained everything we needed to know, there are also booklets in each room with this information and more besides which is very handy and gives that special touch. The TV in the room has a built-in DVD player and there is a library of DVD's in the B&B, perfect for a relaxing night before the big event, we chilled out in the room and watched a film. The owners emailed us beforehand and asked if we were taking part in the marathon and therefore could have an earlier breakfast in the room which we accepted. We had an abundance of cereal including porridge, fresh fruit, croissants, orange juice and yogurts which was exactly what we needed before the big race. Having snaffled breakfast, indulged in a hot and powerful shower, we headed out in to the streets of Brighton to soak up the marathon atmosphere...well, that was my job, the 'other-half' was running it so he had a more active day than i did...

Once finished we walked (slowly!) back to the B&B where we rested up for a bit before heading out for some food before retiring for a relatively early night considering what the day had included. The bed was comfy but the room got a little warm so we opened the window a crack, the window in the Garbo room looks out in to the courtyard, there was no noise-even the pesky seagulls kept quiet, it's as if they knew we needed rest-and we slept very well.

We got up the following morning and headed down to breakfast, the service for which was brilliant! We received another friendly welcome and were seated and within seconds were supping on some fresh orange juice with a steaming pot of coffee ready and waiting next to us. We opted for the full english which was very tasty, very good quality food, perfectly cooked and ample portion size. After breakfast we headed back to the room to get ready to leave.

We were a little sad to leave, we have friends in Brighton so visit a few times a year but this time felt different, being there for the marathon left us feeling as though we were part of something special and staying at the Brighton Pavilions was the icing on the cake. When we visit Brighton again this will be the first place we turn to for somewhere to stay. We were made to feel very welcome by the owners who can really make or break a B&B. We've stayed in places before and have been made to feel as though it's an inconvenience to be there but Ken and Phil were very friendly and very welcoming.

Great hosts, great rooms, brilliant food and perfect location. Don't look any further than Brighton Pavilions.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PedzSez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

A lovely place to stay, clean and friendly. I had a special request to allow me to have a shower after running the Marathon, which was much later than the check out time. They were very nice and allowed me to do that, .Early breakfast was also good as I need to have something to eat early enough before breakfast so they had all set for me the night before, what else I could ask for. My family also had a great time , and were impressed with my B&B choice. I fully recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,205 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,691 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,203 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,240 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Brighton Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Brighton Blue

Address: 7 Charlotte Street, Brighton BN2 1AG, England (Formerly Brighton Pavilions)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $96 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Brighton Blue 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Brighton Blue is a newly refurbished 11 bedroom boutique guest house, just off the sea front in Brighton. The historic property has been a guest house for over 50 years and the new owners Peter Howey and Steve Courtney, who took over in August 2014, have undergone a thorough renovation to create an ideal choice of place to stay for visitors to Brighton. • IDEAL LOCATION - set on a quiet side street leading onto the sea front in the bohemian Kemptown area of central Brighton - guests can get sea views and a peaceful night's sleep whilst are just 2 minutes walk away from bars & restaurants nightlight and less than 10 minutes walk to the Pier, Royal Pavilion and city centre. • HISTORIC, CHARACTERFUL GEORGIAN TOWNHOUSE BUILDING - set over 5 floors, with well proportioned rooms, large windows and many original features such as covings, skirtings & fireplaces, plus a large entrance hallway and elegant staircase giving more of a grand hotel feel • 11 LUXURY BEDROOMS ALL WITH ENSUITES INCLUDING KINGS, DOUBLES AND SINGLES - now all newly refurbished and maintained to the highest standards, all with luxury modern ensuite showerrooms, the latest entertainment technology including internet connected smart TVs with catchup, with screen mirroring for your own content, free access to our DVD movie library and fibre-optic broadband wifi in all rooms. Every room is tastefully decorated and luxuriously furnished throughout. • COURTYARD GARDEN - guests have 24 hour access to our small but beautiful courtyard garden, a relaxing oasis of lush green planting, flowers, cool calming water features and plenty of space to sit, chat & enjoy with friends. It's even gently illuminated at night. • BEST BED AND BEST BREAKFAST - we believe in doing the basics really well, so in addition to our luxurious beds, pillows & duvets, we aim to offer one of the best breakfasts in Brighton too. Everything is freshly cooked to order, using the very best ingredients, locally sourced where possible, imaginatively combined into a wide range of delicious breakfast dishes, and designed to complement our breakfast buffet of fresh fruit, cereals, granola, yoghurt & freshly baked pastries, all served in our elegant dining room. • A MODERN HOTEL WITH A TRULY FRIENDLY, PERSONAL SERVICE - we aim to offer everything you expect from a good, modern, professional hotel, plus the added benefit of genuinely friendly owner managers, Peter and Steve, on hand to offer any assistance, advice or personal service that may enhance your stay in Brighton. From help with parking, restaurant recommendations & reservations, ideas for things to see & do, to just having a coffee and a chat. We love living in Brighton and having guests to our home, and want guests to love being here, have a memorable stay, recommend us to their friends and to come back time & time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Red Brighton Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Pavilions Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing