We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An adorably elegant Hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Brighton Blue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Brighton Blue
Ranked #3 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An adorably elegant Hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

This was our first time staying at this Hotel. We were intrigued by the themed rooms and decided to try the Garbo room. It was adorable. The proprietors were very welcoming and helpful. We found the service at breakfast and the food to be of a very high standard. This is a pleasant and well presented Hotel that is very different to anywhere we have stayed before. We highly recomend that you go and stay there and find out for yourselves.

  • Liked — The themed rooms.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CherryB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    60
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
122
502
101
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2008

I like this hotel so much I've now been there four times, and it's good every time. The rooms are physically quite small but you feel as if you have lots of space because they've been designed and decorated so well. This last visit, we tried out the Mikado room; but we've had good times in the Garbo room (dressed in thirties clothes) and the Camelot room (dressed romantically), the Pompeii room (we didn't try dressing like Romans... it was winter). The owners never bat an eyelid and service is always impeccable. A fantastic place for a dirty weekend, a romantic break, or just somewhere near the beach if you want a few days in the sun.
And Brighton's lovely. If you are planning a visit, stay at the Pavilions.

  • Liked — The themed rooms are fantastic - that's what keeps making me come back
  • Disliked — A little refresh on the decor in the hallways might be good
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lumitytto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

Have just spent two nights in this beautiful hotel with family and could not recommend it more highly. Stayed in the Royal Pavilion room and the attention to detail and hospitality in general is outstanding. Will recommend to other friends and return again on our next visit to Brighton. Thank you so much!

  • Liked — Attention to detail
  • Disliked — Everything was perfect....nothing to complain about!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAR23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

Had a most enjoyable stay at the Pavilions thought it was excellent value for money .Everyone was very friendly and helpful.
the rooms were small but immaculately clean and had everything that we required.No toilet but that was a minor "inconvenience" and I booked the rooms in advance knowing that it was a shared loo. The breakfast was most enjoyable and loved the little patio at the back .Would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustjScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

After years of trawling through the internet trying to find a decent b&b in brighton, I have finally cracked it. Our hosts Ken and Phil gave us a warm welcome and showed us to our beautiful room overlooking a delightful garden area. The themed rooms add a sense of fun to your stay and are not tacky and cheap like some of the other themed hotels in this area. Brighton Pavilions is a real treasure tucked away in Charlotte Street, Kemptown and only a 5 minute walk from the shops and restaurants of St James Street and Kemptown Village. A delicious breakfast prepared by our hosts worked a treat for our mild hangovers followed by a morning stroll along the seafront. I highly recommend this hotel for your next seaside retreat. You most certainly will not be disappointed.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Seasidegirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2008

I was persuaded by reading trip advisor reviews to try this hotel. I had planned to stay at one of the 5 star establishments in Brighton but poor reviews indicating 'chain fatigue' prompted me to try a boutique hotel and I was not disappointed. I first stayed in a one bed room (the Monaco) which had everything I needed (apart from a loo) then upgraded to the Pavilion two-night special with all the trimmings (and my own loo - what joy). Everything was clean and tidy and the breakfast was superb. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. The only reason it doesn't achieve a five star rating is that it is a bit pricey. Note too that there is no lift and so if you're not too good with stairs you may want to request a room nearer the ground floor.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss_Snooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southend on sea
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night April 2007 and had a truly lovely time. The owners were very friendly and accomodating, (despite us turning up quite late) and rooms were clean, charming and cosy. Easy stroll or cab ride from the centre and I would certainly recommend it to anyone spending time in Brighton.

  • Liked — The owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexGirlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 stars 965 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 5,451 reviews
0.2 mi away
27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
A Room With A View
A Room With A View
#8 of 98 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Brighton Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Brighton Blue

Property: Red Brighton Blue
Address: 7 Charlotte Street, Brighton BN2 1AG, England (Formerly Brighton Pavilions)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Brighton Blue 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Brighton Blue is a newly refurbished 11 bedroom boutique guest house, just off the sea front in Brighton. The historic property has been a guest house for over 50 years and the new owners Peter Howey and Steve Courtney, who took over in August 2014, have undergone a thorough renovation to create an ideal choice of place to stay for visitors to Brighton. • IDEAL LOCATION - set on a quiet side street leading onto the sea front in the bohemian Kemptown area of central Brighton - guests can get sea views and a peaceful night's sleep whilst are just 2 minutes walk away from bars & restaurants nightlight and less than 10 minutes walk to the Pier, Royal Pavilion and city centre. • HISTORIC, CHARACTERFUL GEORGIAN TOWNHOUSE BUILDING - set over 5 floors, with well proportioned rooms, large windows and many original features such as covings, skirtings & fireplaces, plus a large entrance hallway and elegant staircase giving more of a grand hotel feel • 11 LUXURY BEDROOMS ALL WITH ENSUITES INCLUDING KINGS, DOUBLES AND SINGLES - now all newly refurbished and maintained to the highest standards, all with luxury modern ensuite showerrooms, the latest entertainment technology including internet connected smart TVs with catchup, with screen mirroring for your own content, free access to our DVD movie library and fibre-optic broadband wifi in all rooms. Every room is tastefully decorated and luxuriously furnished throughout. • COURTYARD GARDEN - guests have 24 hour access to our small but beautiful courtyard garden, a relaxing oasis of lush green planting, flowers, cool calming water features and plenty of space to sit, chat & enjoy with friends. It's even gently illuminated at night. • BEST BED AND BEST BREAKFAST - we believe in doing the basics really well, so in addition to our luxurious beds, pillows & duvets, we aim to offer one of the best breakfasts in Brighton too. Everything is freshly cooked to order, using the very best ingredients, locally sourced where possible, imaginatively combined into a wide range of delicious breakfast dishes, and designed to complement our breakfast buffet of fresh fruit, cereals, granola, yoghurt & freshly baked pastries, all served in our elegant dining room. • A MODERN HOTEL WITH A TRULY FRIENDLY, PERSONAL SERVICE - we aim to offer everything you expect from a good, modern, professional hotel, plus the added benefit of genuinely friendly owner managers, Peter and Steve, on hand to offer any assistance, advice or personal service that may enhance your stay in Brighton. From help with parking, restaurant recommendations & reservations, ideas for things to see & do, to just having a coffee and a chat. We love living in Brighton and having guests to our home, and want guests to love being here, have a memorable stay, recommend us to their friends and to come back time & time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Brighton Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Pavilions Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing