We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spontanious Stop Over”
Review of Red Brighton Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Brighton Blue
Ranked #2 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spontanious Stop Over”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

After a day trip to Brighton we decided to stop over night and found Brighton Pavillions through my mobile phone, and extremley glad we did, what a beautiful and charming place we found. The Service from the owners Ken and Phil was amazing, nothing was too much trouble and even arranged 24 hour parking on the street outside for us for an amazing price of just £7.50. the room was spotless and beautiful. A very good choice for breakfast also catering for vegetarians.We are so glad to have found this perfect little gem to have made our trip to Brighton complete, Thank you so much for a very pleasant stay and will definately be visiting again. If you find yourself in Brighton i would highly recommend you to stay there.

Room Tip: All rooms we saw are of the highest quality, our room (The Garbo Pavillion) located on the ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KizzyandPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,310
    62
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
179
698
148
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

wow what a service we receive very friendly nothing was to much trouble and was made to feel welcome.very clean and spotless the room was grand and nicely decorated.never stayed anywhere like this before.these guys have thought of it all.FLAUTLESS!







what un impression this has left us wow cant fault it welcome we had was outstanding.very friendly

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

From arriving until leaving, the welcome was warm and the impression left was that nothing would be too much trouble, but equally it was low profile and not in your face. I arrived slightly early but the room was already ready and spotless, as so many people have said. I stayed in the Pavilions Room which is as camp as Christmas, but absoluely lovely. I had a peek at the Titanic room which is very pretty too but the Pavilions is definitely the more fun and spaious. The only criticism I would have is that the bathroom is small, and it would have been nice to have a larger shower or bath, but this is a happy sacrifice for the high ceilings and lovely ambience. There is a large collection of DVDs available should you want to spend any time watching movies and the complimentary drinks and chocolates were a welcome bonus. Breakfast served in the room was a lovely treat. Ken was happy to keep the bags at the hotel in the morning after checkout, so that they didn't need to be hauled around Brighton. I would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: It is a quiet side street off the main seafront road so there isn't a huge amount of passing tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammyjospangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Its optimistically called Brighton Pavilions and our room, more optimistically was named The Mikado Suite. These places exist only in the far-flung reaches of someone's wild imagination. In reality the Mikado Suite is a small converted room in a Georgian townhouse down a side street. Breakfast is served from 8.15, so if you need an early start, forget it. There are many place like this in Brighton, and they are generally run by small businessmen and women, trying to earn an honest living, but, to my mind, they are not hotels, they are glorified b& b s, Some people like that, but I don't. I prefer a proper hotel. One tip, check the number of rooms. If it is less than 10, it is probably a glorified b&b.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roostabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenPhill, Co-owner at Red Brighton Blue, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
He got it! Yes we are a small business trying to earn an honest living by providing clean, comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation with excellent service, in a converted Regency townhouse. Let's get one thing straight, we are not and do not pretend to be a hotel and can easily be found in the B&B listings of the AA and TripAdvisor (oh, that's right he did!) amongst many others. If the reviewer doesn't like B&B's why did he book here? Perhaps it had something to do with the bargain room rate received or the cheap and convenient residents parking we provided for a Bedford truck? Consequently, I don’t think we deserve this unfair, sarcastic and uncharitable review fuelled by someone’s misconceptions!

At no stage was an earlier breakfast mentioned or requested and if it had we would have been happy to oblige with either an earlier opening or at least a continental breakfast in the room’s mini fridge. These guests slipped out without a word sometime during breakfast serving time so their early start wasn’t actually that early.

For the record, the reviewer appears to be confusing our name with the famous ROYAL PAVILION in Brighton and we do NOT refer to any of our rooms as Suites. Again it’s hard to receive such sarcastic criticism for someone else’s ignorance. For information, one dictionary definition of Pavilion is “a building or similar structure used for a specific purpose”, and we have suffixed all our rooms as pavilion, such as Mikado Pavilion, Pompeii Pavilion, Camelot Pavilion etc, to reflect their decorative themes. All together they make ‘Brighton Pavilions’, what's “optimistic” about that?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place is a total delight. You get a lovely warm welcom, breakfast in your bedroom no less, and so much style from the plush four poster beds,sumptuous curtains, right down to the proper china cups and saucers. These guys have put a lot of thought and work into this hotel. I have never stayed anywhere quite like it and when I am next in Brighton I will make a bee line here. I suggest that you do the same. I smile every time I think about it. Ha !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ActonDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

you are met at the door and booked in , parking advise and permits provided , all infomation clearly provided and shown to your room , keys handed over and left to feel at home ........just what you want ... come and go as you please with no restrictions ... just like being in your own home . A perfect base to explore the city only a few mins to the pier , also you wont hear any traffic .... the pavilion is so clean, tidy and friendly we will always return ... have stayed in some of the top end hotels in brighton and would rather stay in the pavillion any time .....dont overlook this gem ..................................

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 316sleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here overnight and were very impressed by the great value this B&B offers.

Located on the sea front a stone's throw from Brighton Pier, it's run by two very friendly owners. We liked the little touches, such as free soft drinks and a king-sized twix in our mini fridge, and the good collection of DVDs. Our room was small and cozy. Although we didn't book for the 'theme' (our was Mikado), it was an interesting touch. There was a nice little traditional breakfast to send our ways in the morning.

One drawback was that the breakfast time was only 45 minutes (8.15-9am) which might explain why I was the only diner. Also, one unpleasant suprise was that when I booked this B&B through trip advisor, a full non-refundable deposit for the room was taken, which was the full cost of the room. I was only made aware of this after I had booked the room and received a confirmation email.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnieOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenPhill, Co-owner at Red Brighton Blue, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and hope you got that job for which you attended an interview. I would only comment regarding your drawback that you were the only guests for breakfast that morning that’s why you were on your own in the dining room. Given that your server also spent 45 minutes preparing beforehand, then we think a total of 90 minutes devoted solely to two guests on a quiet February Thursday is quite generous. We have been serving midweek breakfasts at these time for 14 years and it seems to satisfy most guests. At busier periods breakfast times are extended.

I apologise for the error in your confirmation email which stated your deposit was ‘non-refundable’. There are so many online outlets and all of them enforce their own terms and conditions, so it can get a bit confusing sometimes. You booked through expedia which does enforce a period of free cancellation and your email should have acknowledged that (though to add to the confusion it did become non-refundable some 19 hours after the email was sent!). However, all online outlets do warn what payment will be required during the booking process and it is not unusual for the full amount to be required, especially when booking bargains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,033 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.0 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
0.2 mi away
No. 27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Brighton Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Brighton Blue

Property: Red Brighton Blue
Address: 7 Charlotte Street, Brighton BN2 1AG, England (Formerly Brighton Pavilions)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Brighton Blue 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Brighton Blue is a newly refurbished 11 bedroom boutique guest house, just off the sea front in Brighton. The historic property has been a guest house for over 50 years and the new owners Peter Howey and Steve Courtney, who took over in August 2014, have undergone a thorough renovation to create an ideal choice of place to stay for visitors to Brighton. • IDEAL LOCATION - set on a quiet side street leading onto the sea front in the bohemian Kemptown area of central Brighton - guests can get sea views and a peaceful night's sleep whilst are just 2 minutes walk away from bars & restaurants nightlight and less than 10 minutes walk to the Pier, Royal Pavilion and city centre. • HISTORIC, CHARACTERFUL GEORGIAN TOWNHOUSE BUILDING - set over 5 floors, with well proportioned rooms, large windows and many original features such as covings, skirtings & fireplaces, plus a large entrance hallway and elegant staircase giving more of a grand hotel feel • 11 LUXURY BEDROOMS ALL WITH ENSUITES INCLUDING KINGS, DOUBLES AND SINGLES - now all newly refurbished and maintained to the highest standards, all with luxury modern ensuite showerrooms, the latest entertainment technology including internet connected smart TVs with catchup, with screen mirroring for your own content, free access to our DVD movie library and fibre-optic broadband wifi in all rooms. Every room is tastefully decorated and luxuriously furnished throughout. • COURTYARD GARDEN - guests have 24 hour access to our small but beautiful courtyard garden, a relaxing oasis of lush green planting, flowers, cool calming water features and plenty of space to sit, chat & enjoy with friends. It's even gently illuminated at night. • BEST BED AND BEST BREAKFAST - we believe in doing the basics really well, so in addition to our luxurious beds, pillows & duvets, we aim to offer one of the best breakfasts in Brighton too. Everything is freshly cooked to order, using the very best ingredients, locally sourced where possible, imaginatively combined into a wide range of delicious breakfast dishes, and designed to complement our breakfast buffet of fresh fruit, cereals, granola, yoghurt & freshly baked pastries, all served in our elegant dining room. • A MODERN HOTEL WITH A TRULY FRIENDLY, PERSONAL SERVICE - we aim to offer everything you expect from a good, modern, professional hotel, plus the added benefit of genuinely friendly owner managers, Peter and Steve, on hand to offer any assistance, advice or personal service that may enhance your stay in Brighton. From help with parking, restaurant recommendations & reservations, ideas for things to see & do, to just having a coffee and a chat. We love living in Brighton and having guests to our home, and want guests to love being here, have a memorable stay, recommend us to their friends and to come back time & time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, HRS, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Red Brighton Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Pavilions Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing