We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment for our staff dinner”
Review of The Open House

The Open House
Ranked #646 of 1,133 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A disappointment for our staff dinner”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Firstly, they doubled booked our table and wanted 11 people to sit around a low coffee table to eat. It took about half an hour to sort out a proper dining table. The supervisor was unsympathetic and unable to use his initiative. We suggested a complementary bottle of wine for the inconvenience but the supervisor said he didn’t have the authority to do that even though he was in charge for that evening.
We all ordered the food together but it arrived over a 20 minute period. Considering main courses cost £10 they failed to deliver a better service

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank giulio1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    16
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Lovely people and good beer”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This isn't about food. It's about what a pub should be like. The reasons we arrived there were random, but I have never been greeted and treated in a pub so well in ages. Its quite a contemporary place in a lot of positive ways, but these peeps know how to run a good pub. Good local beer, well looked after, bar assistants (calling them bar staff would be insulting) who understand the beer but, more importantly, know how to make people welcome, is so unusual nowadays.

My client and I are going back next week....need I say more? If you haven't been to Brighton, this isn't on the trail, but worth an afternoon.

Best wishes, Mark

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great pub and great food”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I have visited this place many times. Fantastic outdoor space, great food and friendly staff. It's a bit out of the way for visitors to Brighton but for locals or people visiting Preston park it is great.

Fantastic outdoor space.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikeyinbtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet but warm welcome”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Went out for a birthday meal ( on a Monday) and ended up at the Open House. It was fairly quiet inside but had a warming fire and friendly service. We had our two Jack Russell's with us and they were made to feel welcome. The menu wasn't extensive but preferred that to a larger menu that other places offer but can't fail to give adequately. We had battered fish chips and minted peas with a bottle of wine. All delicious! Highly recommend this place for a simple, comfortable, relaxed and welcoming evening

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Freddiejake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great pub roast”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

It's often hard to find somewhere in Brighton that does a consistently good Sunday roast, but this could be it. Well cooked, good size (well maybe just one more spud required lol), tasty, well cooked meat, and the rarest of rare things to find with a roast in Brighton - veg cooked just right. This isn't a fancy la de da roast - just a good old fashioned well cooked pub roast - and all for £9.50. Well done guys. I look forward to coming again - and if it's as good as it was this time, I may have found a Sunday roast local.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Open House also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Open House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing