We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tender squid on a rainy day morning...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Open House

The Open House
Ranked #552 of 1,113 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Littlehampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Tender squid on a rainy day morning...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

You could be forgiven for visiting Brighton a hundred times and not finding this super public house cum eatery. It is tucked away where you would not likely find it unless you were in the know and I have a friend who is! He took me there yesterday for a coffee – I wanted a harder drink but was driving. Large and roomy with friendly bar staff and comfortable seating. Outside, there are several small covered areas which also have soft seats and winter heating. The garden that surrounds them is almost semi tropical with its palms and yucca. Couple that with the sound of the raindrops on the coverings, you could easily imagine you were in the tropics. I fancied myself, on the next visit, in a white suit and a Panama hat. An excellent place for meeting friends and chatting as well as eating and drinking with a good assortment of draught and bottled beers on offer and an interesting lunchtime menu. On a diet so had to be careful, but sailed close to the wind with a plate of tender squid and a chilli dip sauce with usual accompanying lettuce leaf. There is an upstairs function room and, I guess, you can contact them by email at openhousedrinkinbrighton@com or by telephone to check on forthcoming gigs. A great discovery. Oh, and the gents loo was spotless and boasted one of those double hand driers that are so efficient compared with the single ‘wave your hands about in the air and then wipe them down your trousers’ type of hand dryer. Going back shortly and will travel by train…

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisAdamSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    15
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great pub! Food, average...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic pub .... Local to us within walking distance. The food used to be excellent as we used to go there after work every Friday. The food is now distinctly average...... Bring back the old chef! We don't go there as often now. But a great pub with lovely beer and super garden and superb staff. Not suitable for young children ....as no play area..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavendergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a refreshing discovery!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is one of the best kept secrets in Brighton!

The pub was amazing: a fair amount of local and imported beers.
Staff: with one word brilliant. Friendly and the bartender seems to be professional. He actually remembered our drinks so we didnt have to re-order and re-order etc.

I didnt have anything to eat but I am planning to return as the food seemed delicious and many people were for this apparently.

The garden: fantastic patio at the back with ample space for 50-60 or more! Really great get-away not very far from the city centre.

People: mostly locals, very friendly and chilled out. ages from 25-35.

Pub closes around 12 which is also a nice little extra.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tryftonas69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Btn
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK local pub with beer garden”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Average Sunday roast, we ordered two free range chicken roasts, which came with a separate plate of vegetables, peas, carrots, a parsnip and courgettes. OKish...... would probably suit locals as atmosphere quite good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great pub poor food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

A few years ago I was a regular in this pub due to their lovely basic simple pub food, lovely big burgers and thick cut chips with hearty salads. A couple of weeks ago I ordered the same dish, not pleased to be presented with Oven chips and a few bits of lettuce. For £11 pub food should be miles better than this. As a pub its still full of atmosphere, I won't be eating any time soon though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tobciocc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Open House also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Open House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing