We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going back in time...for cup of tea..”
Review of Stanmer House

Stanmer House
Ranked #285 of 1,133 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A stunning Georgian Manor House set in beautiful parkland a stones throw from Brighton. The restaurant is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner or join us in our lounge bar for a drink or coffee next to one of the roaring fires. Bookings taken for private dinners, conferences, or wedding ceremonies. Contact the events team for further details. Dogs are welcome in the bar area.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Going back in time...for cup of tea..”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

It's great place to have a nice cup of tea or a meal. Like that Stanmer house still keep it character. Still serve nice food. Love this.
Bit like going back in time..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SriLankanInUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    180
    137
    154
    167
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A place to visit just outside Brighton”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I went to Stanmer House-a beautiful renovated building in a lovely scenic park ending in a picturesque village with tea shop, pond and ancient church which was opposite Stanmer House. I went with 4 friends and we all ordered different meals and all were served in beautiful room by very efficient waiting but friendly staff. The meals were perfectly presented and the sandwich meal was huge. There was a small wait for the meals to arrive but they were all freshly cooked and extremely good. We sat and talked after meal and there was no pressure to leave at all. Menu was varied so there were choices to suit all our varied tastes with no complaints-only compliments from everyone .
Would be spectacular place for any celebratory occasions.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience, charming staff.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

After a lovely walk in the park with a friend we were delighted to find that the dog, if well behaved, was welcome in the bar. We were served by Luke who was so welcoming and attentive, when he served us , he also brought a bowl of water for Dolly the dog. Really lovely end to the evening. We didn't eat but definitely will in the future. Great lighting, decor and atmosphere, very comfy seats and excellent service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KarinHorsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We cycled out here for breakfast on a sunny Sunday morning. Lovely food - reasonable prices - good breakfast menu and friendly helpful staff. It's great to see this place up and running successfully after being empty for soloing. I would imagine a great location for a wedding and I hear the Sunday lunches are good too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bini M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
412 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Average afternoon Tea”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Wanted something special for a family 80th Birthday, chose Stanmer House as it fitted into the something different category. Lovely day, beautiful setting, did not hit the mark. More cake than sandwiches and the scones were like stones.... but by that stage everyone was full anyway. Service and staff very good. Toilets had loo roll and paper towels on the floor. However, senior citizens enjoyed it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanmer House also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Poynings, West Sussex
Lewes, East Sussex
 
Mark Cross, East Sussex
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Stanmer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing